We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a great time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dade City's WIld Things

Dade City's WIld Things
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Dade City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dade City's WIld Things is a non-profit sanctuary zoo and natural botanical gardens. Stop by and visit our Dade City Gift Shop, featuring a zoo animal theme, While waiting for our authentic trolley to take you on a short ride to the zoo to experience a once in a lifetime, walking tour of over 150 animal exhibits. Hours of Operation: Tues - Sat. Gift Shop & Ticket Sales: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM 'Sunken Jungle Trek' Tours: 9:30 AM and 2:00 PM. Also offer 'Jungle Safari riding Tour: 9:00 AM - 10:30 AM - 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM Visit our website for more info.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We had a great time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Beautiful animal park in a natural setting. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable ans the are so many wonderful exotic animals to see!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    42
    26
    19
    21
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Wales, Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A presonalized tour that caters to your interest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

You have so many choices of what experience you want there from a walk through with a tour guide, a tram ride through other parts and you can even feed a zebra or swim with a tiger cub. The animals cages were very clean and they were active not hiding, We will be back as there is so much to do and see. A great day had by all. You even get an old fashion trolly ride to the zoo from parking office :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dade City Wild Things”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was our second visit, both with the once in a life time experience of petting and seeing up close a White Tiger. Remington was only 6 weeks old on our first visit, weighting 10pounds. Now, wow, he grew up....I must say I know they grow fast, but this was fast. Our guest from Miami were so pleased to also be part of this excitement meeting Remington.

Yes , the other tigers were in small areas as their new home is being built with plenty of area to climb and walk around and a nature spring as well. We will be back to see those tigers as well in their new homes. We were very pleased at the customer service we experienced with all of the employees from the ticket sale to the Tiger Whisper, as we called him. This is truly a place to see. We plan to be back soon again.
Lyn and Vic from
Winter Haven

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lyn33881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Park, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Swimming with tiger cub”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My 21- year old daughter said the only thing she wanted to do when she came to visit was swim with the tiger cub at Dade City Zoo. The $200 price tag gave me pause, but I told her we could go. (I paid an additional $10 to observe.) Also the $200 did not cover any other zoo attractions which would have cost extra. There were two other people in her half-hour session. Each had a turn throwing a rope toy for the cub, sitting behind it as it took its bottle and swimming along side it (keeping several feet away from the cub as they swam). They were able to touch the cub while it took its bottle but there was very little actual physical contact, which was disappointing.
My daughter said it was worth it (of course I was the one paying), but she wished she hadn't had to share her half hour with other people. Included in the price were pictures, which elicited many comments on my daughter's Facebook page. Had the $200 included being able to walk through the zoo to look at the other animals it would have been a better value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sad but not horrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The animals were almost all very well fed and healthy (one exception - a black jaguar with an oak allergy, crusty eyes etc). But there is a reason no photos or videos were allowed. In nearly every case, the enclosures were just too small for the animals (especially the cats and bear exhibits), and the water was troughs and pools, not flowing. This was extremely disturbing especially for the river otters, who were lively enough but wouldn't get in the water even on a very hot July afternoon, just took sips to drink. The "encounters" that could be paid for were with the young of various species - you can pay $12-$20 to swim with a gator or tiger, pet a fawn, etc. Again, for me and friends it was somewhere between OK and horrible.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dade City's WIld Things also viewed

 

Been to Dade City's WIld Things? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing