We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see, very informative”

Pioneer Florida Museum & Village
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Dade City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Weeki Wachee, Florida
Level Contributor
287 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Lots to see, very informative”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We pass by the Museum often and finally decided to stop and found out the next day they were having a train show so we went back. Glad we did! The Museum has a lot to see but in addition to visiting the museum and different houses they were making sugar cane syrup and showed the whole process.There were 2 girls walking around with Llamas and encouraging people to pet them.(which the children loved) The train show was also good but more for the train enthusiasts as it was more of a sale than a display. They have different events during the year but the museum itself is definitely worth the money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetotravel0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    24
    6
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“WE FOUND YOU AND WAS TOLD TO GET LOST!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

A bit disappointed. We drove from New Port Richey to see the museum. It was raining at the time, I checked the website and it said they were opened. When we got there the girl behind the counter basically said she hadn't opened up any of the buildings because it was raining. We told her we drove a good distance to see it but she didn't seem to want to do anything. We were hoping even to be offered to look at the building we were in, but no such invitation. One question: are you open or not? Why not just close and put it on the website so we don't waste a trip. Don't know if we'll be back or not, would have loved to see it or even a portion of it. BTW, the rain cleared out in about an hour....

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank catladysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“THOROUGHLY ENJOYED - Great value”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. It was 8 dollars for adults 4 dollars for children and 6 dollars for seniors (over 55's) unbelievably cheap and we think under priced. Even had on-site free parking. We went on a cold January day and there were only six other visitors there. There's loads of things to see from bygone days and you can wander round the different buildings at your leisure. It's not like modern museums - things are not behind glass and there aren't loads of information boards to read. It was half the price, had many more artefacts and was ten times more interesting than the modern Tampa museum which we also visited. There is an exhibition hall, an actual old school room, church, house, general store, station, etc. There's even a Pa's shed, and a Ma's shed as well as the old outside toilet. We think it offers a very nice way to spend a morning or afternoon and lose yourself in the past.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank raka53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
286 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Small and Limited”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Easy to do see this place in a short amount of time. Not very big at all and exhibits are small and limited. Would not go out of my way to return.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank foodieme26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to bring back old times”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wonderful history about our town and state. Good place to take the family. They also have wonderful events throughout the year.
You can also book a wedding there.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaknous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Florida Museum & Village also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Florida Museum & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing