We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical Experience!!! Must do!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Giraffe Ranch

Giraffe Ranch
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Dade City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Go on a high-quality, guided safari on a working exotic game ranch in Tampa Bay, Florida.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magical Experience!!! Must do!!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

This is such a beautiful and fun sanctuary. Kids of any age will love learning about these animals and feeding them. We loved every minute of it! Amazing place ;)

Helpful?
1 Thank Happytravelssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Manager at Giraffe Ranch, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for the kind words, and what an awesome photo! Priceless! Hope to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    19
    1
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
orlando florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“wonderful team building experience!!!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a must do. We did the camel tour but even the jeep tour looked great as well. We payed extra to feed the lemurs and it was well worth it. Happened to have a pig in labor when we were there and we got to experience this new born. He was adorable. This was a great team building experience. It was very educational, fun and it is beautiful at this private ranch/zoo/safari. The two guys leading the camel tour were very helpful and informational. This place is great and I have been telling everyone about it. I will definitely take other friends and family when they are visiting to this fantastic place. Sure they may be some rules with the groupon but I had no problem with talking with anyone as they always called me back when I left a message and they were accomodating when I called for a reservation. They are not just sitting there waiting for the phone to ring, this isnt Disney World but a real working farm or ranch run by a family. Sad to see some complaining about it on here. Ignore them and you will have an awesome time. They even suggested a great lunch place in Dade City that was outstanding and a throw back in time called lunch on Limoge, make a day of the two incredible small business, you will be glad you did.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank drdanieldc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Manager at Giraffe Ranch, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
It was great having you out! We are glad you chose us for your team building experience—no better a way to do it than by camelback! : )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
“Super Animal Education!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time enjoying a hidden gem of a zoo park in Dade City. The grounds were well kept and sanitary, the animals all in excellent condition, and we learned SO MUCH on the tour that my head was aching from trying to remember everything. These people really love and know animals. They point out things on them that I never noticed before and they really know the personalities and traits of each species. A recommended half-day experience. Oh, and sign up for the optional lemur feeding tour. The little monkeys gently take fruit from your hand, then continue to hold your hand like a tiny creature hoping for more! Don't even compare this to Disney's animal park............ Giraffe Ranch is much better.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Manager at Giraffe Ranch, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're glad you learned a lot. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Of My Most Memorable Experiences”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A little over one week ago my husband and I took our two grandchildren, and our son and daughter-in-law to Giraffe Ranch. What a treat it was! The facility is friendly, clean, exciting, educational and just plain fun! We had an up close and personal tour that was extremely informative for all ages. There is a delightful gift shop, with drinks and snacks available, and for those of you interested in objects of original art, the wife of the director has an incredible talent working with glass, and you might beable to request a private showing as we did. My husband is a zoologist, and has taken clients to Africa on photographic safaris for over 40 years, and he thought this experience was superior.
D. Quinn

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Manager at Giraffe Ranch, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are extremely pleased to hear that even your zoologist husband was impressed!

That's also very kind of you to mention Elena Sheppa's glass art. I will relay your kind words along to the artist herself!

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CLEARWATER
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“DOWNTOWN DADE CITY”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

What a fantastic place to visit. Made the trip for the Kumquat Festival which is held - one day a year - the 4th Saturday in January. The festivities were plentiful, the food was awesome and I have never witnessed so many vendors set up in such a well organized event. NOW THE SURPRISE!!! We parked in a lot set up about 2 miles from downtown. The parking was FREE, the Shuttle bus service to the event was FREE and as you entered the bus - you were given a FREE bottle of water. We walked right up to the busses lined up for the trip and were greeted with a map of the event and welcomed to the festival. So many booths of food, crafts and ideas for things to do and enjoyed the FREE music by live bands. We walked around for about 3 1/2 hours and had a great time. The busses were staged and ran about every ten minutes -or- sooner if the bus was full. As we arrived back at the parking lot- there was a line of about 300 people - but the loading of the busses moved pretty quick. The only downer - for the people arriving late in the afternoon - was a three mile traffic backup to get in the parking area. We are going back to visit the downtown in a couple of weeks to experience shopping in the many antique and specialty shops and enjoy a leasurely walk. We are looking forward to the visit and the fine restaurants offerings. The ultimate goal the next visit is to swing by the Giraffe Ranch . The recommendation for visitint is to arrive early.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JIM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex S, Manager at Giraffe Ranch, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hello, did you mean to post this on our page or on Dade City's TripAdvisor page?

Anyway thank you—we look forward to having you out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giraffe Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Giraffe Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing