We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok break”
Review of Hancock Groves

Hancock Groves
Ranked #5 of 14 things to do in Dade City
Attraction details
St. Louis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ok break”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stopped to get a break from driving. Employee was delightful to visit with and their products were few but varied. Citrus was not quite ripe and ready so I can't comment on that.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PhotoFrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“pick your own”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Small pick your own oranges stop. Fruit not so visually appealing and a bit tart when we were there. Still, worth a stop.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankieWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gorgeous countryside fifth generation farmers”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

excellent citrus very generous, hard working family run operation. an absolute must see destination. farm to table experience

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'll go out of my way to buy oranges from these guys!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have been buying oranges and grapefruit each year to take back North with me each time I go back to Jersey. The first few years I bought fruit from a variety of places. Never again. I will buy only from Hancocks. The family that runs the place is remarkably helpful. Just when you thought you couldn't get any more into the bag, they seem to get another half dozen in. Quality is outstanding, prices are more than fair. It's only a few minutes off of 75. Well worth it. They don't disappoint. Don't think that those citrus centers at each roadside exit are comparable. Hancocks is the best that I've found and well worth the stop!

Helpful?
1 Thank 14winne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“even after 5 years.....”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

i still have the bag waiting to fill it up again on another trip down, which will be this year! I still remember the citrus being super sweet, and like the other reviewer, when the guy there thought my bag was not full enough, added some more to get it up to snuff. I remember these kindnesses, and will be back!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ly1jk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hancock Groves also viewed

 

Been to Hancock Groves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing