We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a horrible place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dade City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sawmill Camping Resort
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Dirty rooms most things here are run down. The bar is full of flys that get on the food and in the drinks. The people are not friendly. I would advise you not to waste your money on this place

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank markallen1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 85 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2010

i had a blast! i thought camping was going to be hard but it wasn't. people were willing to help with a smile. the staff is friendly and helpful. i know my standards for camping are very high now. so, i will be camping at sawmill because i know it's fabulous!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrbonq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

this place is so awesome.....i love it....and would love to go back every chance i could...if you want to get away for a weekend for a great time this is the place to go.....i never had so much fun...

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank batty8769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We had a great time. What a fun, welcoming atmosphere. Best Christmas show I have ever seen. Can't wait to see more!!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank massie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

great weekend, lots to do there, the bars, the shows, fireworks show, the heated pool, the food, everything was really really awesome. i will be going again

Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank jaxsjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2008

I only stayed one night, but just in that one night they had so many events going on. It was great! But just so everyone knows this Camping Resort you must be at least 21 to enter. The cabin I stayed in was very clean. For a camping resort they had a small refig, a micawave in the room. Lots of really nice guest were there, everyone was so great.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tomren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Just returned from a week at Sawmill and can't wait to return.

I originally was going to stay from Friday - Thursday but was having such a great time that I decided to stay for a second weekend. There is something to do every night of the week with a different theme event every weekend.

The staff is extremely friendly and went out of their way to make me feel at home. The cabin I rented had everything I needed and was clean & comfortable. This was my first time in a clothing optional pool and I loved it!

Splash Cafe had delicious eat in and take out food (especially the Friday night fish dinner) so I never left Sawmill except for visiting Disney World one day with a nice guy I met at Woody's Bar.

I've visited many gay campgrounds and resorts, but nothing compared to Sawmill. I definitely will be returning as often as I can.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jeff32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sawmill Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Camping Resort

Address: 21710 US Highway 98, Dade City, FL 33523-6600
Location: United States > Florida > Dade City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Dade City
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier gay and lesbian Camping Resort in the Southeast. Rent a cabin, RV or tent site for a night, long weekend or fabulous vacation. Day & Evening passes also avail. Clothing Optional Pool, activities 365 days/yr. Weekends: theme events, contests, high energy music/DJ in Woody's nightclub, country music in courtyard, T-Dances; Splash Pool Bar & Grille w/delicious food; Wi-Fi, spacious grounds and lake. Nearby: Disney World, Universal, Busch Gardens, Honeymoon Beach, Caladesi, Raymond James Stadium, Homassassa Springs, trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sawmill Camping Hotel Dade City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing