We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If they were this friendly in S Florida...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dade City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sawmill Camping Resort
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If they were this friendly in S Florida...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we encountered a beautifully clean cabin, friendly staff, meticulously clean bathrooms and a weekend party atmosphere that I have never found anywhere else I have traveled.

The food is just OK at Splash but there are plenty of choices nearby and all in the community are welcoming the folks from Sawmill.

We have discovered some excellent restaurants nearby including Pearl in the Grove and Kappeli both in Dade city. Its nice to be a few hours from home with such a different atmosphere

Room Tip: The delux cabins have ensuite showers but I think they are too small- Just use the clean shared sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MauriceRMizrahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    12
    9
    9
    16
See reviews for
3
33
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My First time 4 days( my b-day Present to myself) Sept 6-sept 9th , Amazing time , Staff was Friendly and Helpfull all weekend - My Car Broke day to go home, THANX FROGGIE FOR THE CARING AND HELP - The Members there were Friendly, courtious and alot of good looking guys my age! . Was never bored , Tenting was awesome, something i hadnt done in a long time but all the comforts of home - WALTER Long time camper made me feel like i had been there forever and very welcome . those not having a good time ( your doing it wrong) , Always something to do weather lating out at the pool, hanging out at splash or woody's .meeting new people camping , new people everyday . . Well I jUst cant say Enough , I Cany wait to go Back for Halloween !!. i hear its amazing . See ya there i Hope . Wayne

Room Tip: Stay in a Tent , its a great price and you make it as cozy as you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waynel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FloridaGardener
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

They keep advertising Sawmill, as the "Americas first Gay Community". I have yet to see any sense of community! Since it became a co-op they have a board of homeowners running the place. They obviously have no idea how to run a campground. They are literally running it into the ground. First they raised the yearly pass rate from $75 to $200. Then they raised the rates for camping, and instituted mandatory three day stays, on holiday weekends. They closed the courtyard to only bar patrons. I could go on and on.
It used to be a fun place to go to. Now it's a place run by a bunch of old farts who think everyone likes to watch fat drag queens trying to be movie stars. They brag about how many new members they have, but I can't believe it. When I'm there even on holiday weekends, the crowd is smaller than what it was five years ago, on a normal weekend! While raising the rates, the quality of the place has gone totally down hill.

Room Tip: Cabins do not come with bathrooms. You must use those by the pool, and they are always crowded. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank FloridaGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

as a long time member of sawmill resort (over 6 years now) i have come to the conclusion after several weekends since the first of this year turned into flops. the place is just not worth wasting time and money one anymore. they advertise certain forms of entertainment. and it doesnt happen. not to mention raising prices on almost everything and a reservation policy that literally screwed you if for some reason you could not make it( even with several weeks notice). after several months of poor business they relaxed some things. but all in all i have decided to quit spending my money there. and i used to be there every weekend. i will say that most of the employees do try to make your visit as enjoyable as they can.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank jayw373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

All the staff were very welcoming and friendly, the food at Splash was standard coffee shop fare but surprisingly good, and the BBQ steak at Woody's with all the fixins was awesome! I danced on Blade's black lit dance floor with werewolf body paint to great music, sang Karaoke, swam and sunbathed with lots of friendly no-attitude guys my age, and walked on very nice trails by Ricky Lake. I am 52 but this week I just switched the numbers and turned 25 again, what the hell!
This is my first trip to Florida and I will definitely be back at Sawmill next year!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank furryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I visited The Saqwmill on Memorial Day weekend on Sat & Sunday to fine the staff extremely outgoing and accomodating. Only did day passes but found everyone I came in contact with very friendly and doing their best to heop out any aqnd every camper there. Check in was amazing and very friendly and absolutely had a great time there. Pool was crowded but very "friendly" for both men AND women alike!
Have been to other gay campgrounds and found THIS to be one of the friendlieset and most outgoing I have been to yet. In fact liked it so much I will be applying for employment ther eto be part of the excitement. Have read teh negative reviews, and my response to that is....... Guys, they just took the place over, give them a chance!!!!!!!!
Be part of the fun and excitement not the negativity. It takes time and money to make things better. From what I have seen they have come a long ways. Yes, still a ways to go, but Rome wasn't built in a day! Patience my dear!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittanning, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2011

Spent 10-days, March 18th. thru the 27th. at Sawmill. Had a great time for Country weekend and Bear weekend. Could not have had any better weather, beautiful sunny upper 80's the total 10-days. All the campers were so friendly and so was all the permenent residents as well as all of Sawmills hired staff. The campground is always so friendly which this is why I keep coming back (my 5th. year). I have always got the same cabin every year.
Thanks Sawmill for a great time !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank easyout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dade City
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Dade City-Zephyrhills
4.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Brooksville
14.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Zephyrhills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Zephyrhills
Magnuson Hotel Zephyrhills
#3 of 9 in Zephyrhills
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Brooksville
Days Inn Brooksville
#3 of 6 in Brooksville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Brooksville / Dade City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sawmill Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Camping Resort

Property: Sawmill Camping Resort
Address: 21710 US Highway 98, Dade City, FL 33523-6600
Location: United States > Florida > Dade City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Dade City
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The premier gay and lesbian Camping Resort in the Southeast. Rent a cabin, RV or tent site for a night, long weekend or fabulous vacation. Day & Evening passes also avail. Clothing Optional Pool, activities 365 days/yr. Weekends: theme events, contests, high energy music/DJ in Woody's nightclub, country music in courtyard, T-Dances; Splash Pool Bar & Grille w/delicious food; Wi-Fi, spacious grounds and lake. Nearby: Disney World, Universal, Busch Gardens, Honeymoon Beach, Caladesi, Raymond James Stadium, Homassassa Springs, trails. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sawmill Camping Hotel Dade City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing