We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Square Grouper

Square Grouper
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Cudjoe Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Innovative fresh local seafood. House Smoked Fish Dip is phenomenal, a definite "must try"!! Our Conch Chowder and our Key Lime Pie are also something you should not miss. We also have a great Square Grouper Fish Sandwich, 16 oz Grilled Ribeye (Certified Angus Beef!), Salads and lots of small plates to share...Flash Fried Conch with ponzu and wasabi. We are open on Mondays from the last week in December thru April! We close every September from the Sunday AFTER Labor Day and reopen on the Thursday BEFORE Columbus Day Weekend.
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A friend from Big Pine told us about this so off we went with her for lunch. I felt everything was pretty fresh and even though I had the small plate portions were reasonable. I had the sweet potato fries, portabello mushroom en croute and brownie dessert (dessert shared by three!) were all excellent. Husband had the Carribean chicken and he thought it was good as well.

Would I go there again? Yes, hot on my list to try more things! There are fish things and there is chicken and beef as well. And for me veggie items.

We got there around 2pm and be aware they stop serving around 2:15 for lunch and they may close to regroup for dinner.?? I would recommend lunch with no wait. Yet, at 2 pm, it was pretty full.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dcason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    177
    33
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ringoes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“I wish the portion size was smaller, so I can try more menu items”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Interesting mix of cuisine with Caribbean and Asian flavors. We initially wanted to try more items, but upon seeing the more than generous portion size, only ordered one appetizer (flash fried conch with ponzu sauce) and two entrees (seafood stew and almond crusted grouper) and a kid's menu item (pizza). The fried conch was a bit too sweet. However, the seafood stew was expertly done. The seafood was cocked very tenderly, to perfection, in a spicy cream stew. The grouper was in a pineapple sauce and matched with mashed sweet potatoe. The fish was again cooked to perfection, but the combination was too sweet. Overall, I would say that the cooking of the seafood was excellent, but the flavors tended to the sweet side on all three items that we tried. A mistake was the kid's menu item. Seemed like reheated frozen pizza. Should have done our usual thing of getting our son to share our meal, which was more than enough and would have left us room for dessert.
There is a very good selection of draft and bottled beer, which went well, and better than wine, with the Asian and Caribbean flavors. The service was efficient, and the wait was 30 minutes, which passed quickly when spent studying the interesting menu. The atmosphere was fun, not too loud, great for any occasion or groups.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CannotEatPrestige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Mountain, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The menu has something for everyone. We had fish and rib eye and they were both excellent, including the vegetables. The wait staff are attentive. Great restaurant!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whitemountains_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This restaurant is on a par with the best when it comes to food. The atomosphere is pleasant enough, but the wait for a seat can be lengthy. Parking can be tough on a busy night as well.
My advice is to get there early for a great meal without sitting in the cocktail area for an hour.
It is out of the way but worth the trip from Key West or Big Pine keys

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It's crowded, for a good reason!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We waited for 50 minutes, but it was well worth the wait. This is a popular restaurant, with excellent food and good service. Yes, some of the entrees are pricey, but the size of the menu allows you to find some very good choices at reasonable prices. If you're in the area, this would be good choice. If you're staying in Key West, you wouldn't need to drive 22 miles, as many Key West restaurants are equal to this one.

Helpful?
1 Thank Onedukeof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Grouper also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Square Grouper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing