We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Square Grouper

Square Grouper
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Cudjoe Key
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Innovative fresh local seafood. House Smoked Fish Dip is phenomenal, a definite "must try"!! Our Conch Chowder and our Key Lime Pie are also something you should not miss. We also have a great Square Grouper Fish Sandwich, 16 oz Grilled Ribeye (Certified Angus Beef!), Salads and lots of small plates to share...Flash Fried Conch with ponzu and wasabi. We are open on Mondays from the last week in December thru April! We close every September from the Sunday AFTER Labor Day and reopen on the Thursday BEFORE Columbus Day Weekend.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food was excellent. The price is moderate to high. It is a very pleasant casual classy environment for a nice meal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Encyclia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    875
    199
    34
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Low key, upscale dining in the Keys.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I always enjoy dining at the Square Grouper. They have a varied menu- and great specials that change frequently. The atmosphere is upscale bistro but not stuffy or fancy. We love the waiting area- comfy couches in a cool atmosphere. They also offer a kids menu!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Llamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best lunch we have had in a long time!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We went for lunch and can't wait to go back. The menu had such a variety of options. I had the meatloaf sandwich. It was very good. It came topped with onion rings that were so good, my hubby kept taking them from me :) He had Panko & chive crusted yellowtail with a champagne & chive sauce served over rice. It was so delicious!! There were several specials in addition to the regular menu. It was hard to choose what to have. We sat at the bar and our server was Lenore. She was very friendly & efficient. We highly recommend this place and plan on taking family & friends there when they come to visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amynlarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Stopped on our drive to Key West as recommended by a friend, delicious lunch, clean restaurant. Samantha was a friendly and efficient waitress. Dinner selections looked good.

Helpful?
Thank LouMC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Key to a treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our first visit to the Keys from England and we went to the restaurant with our US relatives who'd recommended it. What a wonderful evening - the food was absolutely delicious and the rumour about large American portions was certainly true in this establishment. Huge, beautifully cooked and presented portions and a wide choice of unusual dishes on the menu. Highly recommended and the best Key Lime Pie I'd tasted ('forced' myself to try the dessert despite being full!)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank heybridge7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square Grouper also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Cudjoe Key, Florida Keys
 

Been to Square Grouper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing