We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Clean, Quiet and reasonable”
Review of Venture Out Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cudjoe Key
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Venture Out Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cudjoe Key
Port Clinton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, Clean, Quiet and reasonable”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed here in early Feb for the last five years. A lot of what makes up your experience has to do with your unit and its location to the water. The most desirous units are hard to book due to the obvious. In our case we rented UNIT #191 and liked its being a stilt home, on a channel with an awesome view of the open water. The downside was the soiled carpet, the blown speaker on the tubeTV in the living room, the webbing broken on the couch and chair on the deck, lots of useless junk in cabinets and drawers as the owner uses it a lot themselves. The owners keep a lot of their personal possessions in the closets etc.and you get the feeling you are visiting others that live there at the same time as you are staying. There was no hose and the gas grill was so filthy and in bad condition they had no choice but to replace it from our request. There is no table on the deck to set your drink or snacks and our yearly request for one fell on the owners deaf ears. The windows were always dirty from year to year and we cleaned them to enhance the great view. All the problems were conveyed to the owner by the realtor and the owner stood hard on a take or leave it attitude. Too bad such a nice home is not kept up. We finally decided to move on within Venture out for a properly maintained unit. The park itself is very clean, quiet and near many things to see and do.

Room Tip: Be specific with owner/rental agent about what you expect and if they personally can vouch for the i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    17
    10
    13
See reviews for
49
38
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor Township, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Venture Out since the early 90's and we absolutely love it. There's plenty to do right in the park (pools, hot tub, tennis, basketball, and more), plus it's just 7 miles by boat out to Looe Key National Marine Sanctuary. The key to enjoying yourself is remembering that you are renting a manufactured home or a mobile home in a waterfront park in the Florida Keys. There are good units and bad ones - do your homework, figure out what you want, and give it a try. We enjoy being close to Key West (23 miles), Marathon (about the same), and not too far from the major airports in southern Florida (about 140-160 miles).

Room Tip: Waterfront units will give you the feel of having plenty of space, even if they aren't on the op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cindyryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked this place , Init 98, through Waterfront Realty. It was a really nice place. We were right on the water, 3 spots from the end of the canal. The unit was clean, comfortable and well maintained. It had everything we needed, plenty of towels, extra bed linens and a fully equipped kitchen. The pool was great! It was nice to have our boat parked right outside. We did have trouble with our boat so the marina recommended Larry Carter's mobile marine repair and he came out to us and fixed it. (Great guy) The weather was not great but the resort if you want to call it that was great. The grand kids were able to fish right in front of the place and we caught some fish there. I would highly recommend this place and I would return. It was quiet because we went at a time when they were not all that busy. They have 24 hour security so we never had to worry about anything. Security road around a lot checking on things but they really did not bother anyone. Everyone was real friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Unit 66 and on first sight we were really disappointed in the "resort" due to the closeness of the units, the lack of shade and the large number of units. Our unit was very clean and comfortable with all the amenities as promised and we eventually got used to the close proximity of our neighbors. We arrived in the shoulder season so a lot of the units were empty which kept the road directly in front of our unit relatively quiet. We used the facilities including the pool, hot tub and beach area and all were very clean and well maintained. We grew to really enjoy our time there. This is not a place for those looking for a lot of night activity or a party atmosphere but if you're looking to just relax it may work for you. The majority of residents are over 55 and we found them to be friendly as we did all of those working there. I would suggest double checking the unit in any way you can before committing as we saw a lot of units that looked rather old, in need of repair or out in the hot Florida sun with no sheltering palms. The beach is a typical Florida Keys beach-manmade with coral spread over a hard surface but nothing any different from the majority of any beach down there. Bahia Honda State Park is about 15 minutes from there and it offers a large sandy ocean beach. All in all, not everyone would like Venture Out but perhaps worth a look.

Room Tip: Check out the unit very carefully before you book it and I would suggest staying away from those uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janetlnorton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

They really think they are something.....in my book....not so much! It is a Trailor park with a few RVs and park units mixed in...not a resort! Not a resort! The "owners" do not seem to have manners, class nor the entitlement they presume. Between the gate keepers, condo association and the reality office...you.d think they were miles apart instead of less then 10 feet....they do not work well together....they probably do not even know each others names! And rules! No water at the pool...don.t walk your dog inside the gate...walk them in the neighborhood instead? For goodness sake...don.t ask for ice, park your car or...just Isn.t worth it.
Strangest, weirdest UNFRiendLiest pla d I have ever seen! Maybe they do deserve the nick name...DENTURE OuT, don't waste your money here...you'll be glad you didn.t!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kristal W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cudjoe Key hotels

Belmar, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed one month in a private rental. My husband and I loved it and so did our 30 yr old visiting teacher daughter from NYC. It's relaxing ,Clean, clean, clean, I was at ease in the hot tub which I usually don't like soak due to less than sanitary conditions...venture out is older well maintained units. I will agree about most beds are awful ( all our new friends who rented complained also...

I am looking forward to owing a unit shortly, and replacing beds with memory foam beds which I love especially after 3 spinal surgeries.. We are pre retirement age and had a blast there, dancing at looe key bar, motorcycling riding with a club at vo, boating scuba diving right off the dock, swimming laps in the roped off area of the ocean . We had several outdoor dinner parties with lots of laughing, no one complained.. I love it there...we may be older, but not dead! Ps. The realtors there are lazy.... Ask lots of questions and get answers! I can judge because iam a working realtor for over 25 years in one of the toughest markets in the country. New Jersey shore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ask3times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are over 55 this might be an ok place for you. We didn't see anyone staying there under that age. I understand that cleanliness and condition will be different with each unit - the one we stayed in was r in need of repairs, cleaning people should be doing a much better job and it had sugar ants. The beds were older than the residents and uncomfortable (again will vary unit to unit).
The walls in these mobile homes are paper thin and you can hear everything. They are also right on top of one another. Zero lot lines.

Yes they are on the water and the Keys are beautiful - a lot of these units are on canals or the open water. I was there for a job and am going back in 3 weeks and bringing the family. After a lot of searching and phone calls we finally found a house to rent (you have to find one being rented by owner. Monroe Co. has a law against renting for less than 28 days). We found a real house 3/2 on the open water for the same price as a 2/2 in VO.

Room Tip: You can find better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank SoLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cudjoe Key
23.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Marathon Florida Keys
5.6 mi away
Parmer's Resort
Parmer's Resort
#2 of 2 in Little Torch Key
915 reviews
5.6 mi away
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa, A Noble House Resort
Little Palm Island Resort & Spa,...
#1 of 2 in Little Torch Key
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Sugarloaf Lodge
Sugarloaf Lodge
#1 of 1 in Sugarloaf Key
278 reviews
4.3 mi away
Looe Key Reef Resort
Looe Key Reef Resort
#1 of 1 in Ramrod Key
178 reviews
23.9 mi away
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venture Out Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venture Out Resort

Property: Venture Out Resort
Address: 701 Spanish Main Dr, Cudjoe Key, FL 33042-4333
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Cudjoe Key
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cudjoe Key
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Venture Out Hotel Cudjoe Key

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing