We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We ALWAYS stay here”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Rooms are always clean, staff super friendly. We stay about 1x a month during season. It is an older hotel, no frills, but for the money you can do any better in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayde323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 140 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2009

I stayed at this motel while doing consulting work at the nearby power plant. The location was ideal, as I expected to start working early and get back late. Otherwise, this motel is a little far away from town.

The place is a dated, but not overly so. The rooms were pretty basic, but clean. There was some sign of mold and mildew in the bathroom, but I've come to expect this in many of the older Florida motels. The AC worked well, although I only used it at night for some relief after working all day outside.

The previously mentioned problems with wireless access do exist. I had some problems with reception, but it seemed to work better if I kept the laptop on the table instead of on the bed.

The breakfast was a spartan affair: some dishwater coffee, a few muffins or doughnuts, and some pieces of fruit.

This isn't a place to spend a week with the family, but if you're just passing through or working in the area, and don't need a lot of frills, this will do just fine.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamoutofwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

This was the worst place we have ever stayed! They simply lied about havi ng breakfast or wireless. The room did not even have a phone or an alarm clock. Our "non smoking" room smelled like smoke and mold was all over the bathroom ceiling! The microwave was nice until it started sparking and then broke completely. The front desk people were not at all helpful and rude. They said we could just checked out if we did not like the room. I would not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank love2travelArk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I am a stickler for truth in advertising. There is a huge sign just before you get to the Econo Lodge saying " Free Wireless Internet". There is nothing. I was given a story a that it is very hard to get wireless or internet. Give me a break. I stayed there awaiting taking a house we have rented. I am writing this review on wireless connections about a block away. They also advertise breakfast.......the night manager was overheard saying " just coffee and juice" as the owner doesn't want to serve breakfast. I will be contacting the Econo Lodge corporation with a complaint. Shame on you!

Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CatMa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2009

I know it is the busy season , but our stay at the Econolodger was not acceptable. The room was clean, spartan , and inexpensive. But, we had a confirmed reservation for a non smoking room, with small pet. We had the smelliest, smokers room I have ever been in! The dog slept up against door hoping to get a breath of fresh air. We showed the hotel clerk our confirmed reservation for a non-smoking room,when we checked in and her response was sorry ... you have to take what you got!

Staff was unhelpful and unapologetic even for their mistake, and not very friendly at all. Stay elsewhere if you can,

Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank testdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

For £30 a night you really can only hope for somewhere clean to lay your head for the night. This is what you get with a proffessional welcome and nice pool to cool off in too.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Andyfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2007

On arrival we asked to look at the room and that was enough, luckily we arrived early and was able to cancel ,but nothing would have made us stay in such a run down filthy DUMP.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bigbillLincolnshieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
657 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
841 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 2575 North US 19, Crystal River, FL 34428-2970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range: $58 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Crystal River
Crystal River Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing