We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truth in Advertising”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
North Bay Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truth in Advertising”
Reviewed March 2, 2009

I am a stickler for truth in advertising. There is a huge sign just before you get to the Econo Lodge saying " Free Wireless Internet". There is nothing. I was given a story a that it is very hard to get wireless or internet. Give me a break. I stayed there awaiting taking a house we have rented. I am writing this review on wireless connections about a block away. They also advertise breakfast.......the night manager was overheard saying " just coffee and juice" as the owner doesn't want to serve breakfast. I will be contacting the Econo Lodge corporation with a complaint. Shame on you!

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CatMa26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    54
    19
    30
See reviews for
36
62
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tallahassee, fl
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2009

I know it is the busy season , but our stay at the Econolodger was not acceptable. The room was clean, spartan , and inexpensive. But, we had a confirmed reservation for a non smoking room, with small pet. We had the smelliest, smokers room I have ever been in! The dog slept up against door hoping to get a breath of fresh air. We showed the hotel clerk our confirmed reservation for a non-smoking room,when we checked in and her response was sorry ... you have to take what you got!

Staff was unhelpful and unapologetic even for their mistake, and not very friendly at all. Stay elsewhere if you can,

Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank testdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crystal River hotels

Stony Stratford, Bucks, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

For £30 a night you really can only hope for somewhere clean to lay your head for the night. This is what you get with a proffessional welcome and nice pool to cool off in too.

  • Liked — Free Wi Fi
  • Disliked — No coffee or tea in room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Andyfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshie UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2007

On arrival we asked to look at the room and that was enough, luckily we arrived early and was able to cancel ,but nothing would have made us stay in such a run down filthy DUMP.

  • Liked — Noithing
  • Disliked — Filthy
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbillLincolnshieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2004

I stay here quite often, and really like how I am treated by the staff. The rooms are clean and kept in pretty good repair. I recommend it to those that are on a budget and need clean, inexpensive accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, MI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2004

We swam with the Manatees in April 2002 in Crystal River. "Birds Underwater" was a great guide. We stayed at the Econolodge and would rather have stayed elsewhere. Our socks were BLACK after walking across the carpeting once......the pool was FREEZING cold. Thankfully, we had such a great time with the swim tour, that we basically just slept there and after two nights, were gone.

Helpful?
21 Thank arcticgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
639 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
799 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
343 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 2575 NW US Highway 19, Crystal River, FL 34428-2970
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Crystal River
Crystal River Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing