We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still great after all these years”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plantation on Crystal River
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

its been 20 years since our first visit to the plantation and its gotten better. they put in a new larger pool which was great! they also have a nice outdoor bar by the pool with food. this place is right on the river. they have a dive shop where you can rent a boat for the day. we arrived on september 19th and spent the whole day out on the river. saw lots of manatee, a dolphen, an american eagle lots of fish. bring a snorkel or they have rentals. best day on the river!! back to the pool at 4:00 for a few cocktails and something to eat. all good. front dest was great! clean rooms. they have a golf course there too. will be back, my only complaint would be that when you spend $150 for a boat for the day, the boat should be in good condition. ripped seats that were dirty, sloppy steering. yes it floated and moved but was in really bad shape.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canman78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,621)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

999 - 1,005 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

the plantation in is a fun weekend retreat with classy spa amenities, Golf, and the manatee eco-tours. their banquet facilities group serves
a quality meal for the weekly Rotary Club and quarterly Chamber of Commerce luncheons. a
fun stay for any
occasion.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landplan414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We looked into this hotel on their web site and found a special..."Pay for 2 nights get 3"...We arrived on a Monday at around 2pm and the resort was very quiet. We were told that the original room that was given to us was "not ready" and so they gave us room 202, at the end of the resort next to the dive shop. The room was terrible. All the furniture was different, It was all "thrift store" quality. None of it matched. IE. the desk, bed end tables, chest of drawers, chair, head board were all different and old looking. None of the Décor matched. I do have to say that the bed was very comfortable and the room was "clean". The carpet was musty old and ragged. With that said, we were not in the room that much so we stayed in the end unit without complaints. However, when we checked out, I mentioned my disappointment to "Deseree" and she was such a little disrespectful snot and told me that all the rooms looked like that!!! REALY? If all the rooms looked like that, I will never stay there again. I think because we paid 2 for 3, we got "what we paid for?"...however they advertised that rate and we took advantage of it...again, the resort was extremely quiet and this would have been a good opportunity to impress us...oh, well Plantation, your loss. We loved Freddie and AnnaMarie...

Room Tip: Don't buy 2 for 3 nights as you will be placed in the "lower rent area"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaplesRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was there this weekend for a kayaking trip with my girlfriends. The property is perfectly located on the water and is very beautiful. We easily kayaked to many springs and a couple of pull up restaurants. The buildings are old and you can tell this by the smell of the rooms. While visiting be sure to lock your car and don't leave anything in the bed of your truck or in your boat... While reporting my break-in to the police officer, two others were with me reporting the same thing. There are no security cameras on the property.
When I arrived at the property I followed the maintenance person who showed me where to park and as he walked away he said... 'I will keep an eye on it for you.' We had Kayaks on a trailer as well so we were not in a normal parking space. The next morning when we came out, the entire car had been rummaged through and items were missing. There was also a note on my windshield that said 'you are an as.. for parking here'.
I got an apology from hotel management... and that was it.

Room Tip: Garden view is a view of the parking lot. Best to get the water view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I spent one night here prior to our manatee swim toy the following morning. After a 4+ hour drive, we arrived at The Plantation. I have traveled pretty extensively, and I can't recall a property where EVERY employee we had contact with was as genuinely friendly and polite as they were here.
The grounds were quite attractive, but due to our limited time, we never really had a chance to explore them. We actually had our best look at them from the river after we checked out. :-)
Our first floor room was quiet and cozy. Since we were tired from our drive, we decided to eat at the hotel dining room. The prices were a little high, but not outrageously so, and the food was delicious!
We will definitely stay here again if we return to the area!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MLPdiverRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We booked this room through priceline and got a fantastic rate. I was aware of previous comments regarding the smelly rooms, but thought it couldn't be that bad...
When we opened the door, we were knocked over by a musty, icky and wet odor. Having prepaid for 3 nights with our priceline deal, we had to make do. By leaving the window open and keeping the A/C on, we found the smell lessened and we stayed cool.
It is too bad they haven't found a solution to this problem. It is such a great location. The staff were wonderful and the restaurant had well prepared dishes (we ate 1 dinner there).


  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wowkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The manatee package was as amazing deal. The package deal included a nice newly remolded room, breakfast buffet, manatee snorkeling tour, and a complementary gift bag containing a stuffed manatee wearing a hoodie.

All of the snorkeling gear (full wet 4-5 mil wetsuit, goggles, snorkel, and fins) was included in the deal.

The buffet contained plain scrambled eggs, eggs with assorted diced bell peppers and onions, sausage patties, bacon, grits, oatmeal w/ all the fixings, biscuits & gravy, fresh fruit, assorted muffins, apple cinnamon Danishes, assorted dry cereals, and beverages.

On our snorkel tour we saw and interacted with a baby male manatee and his momma. We also visited several clear water springs and other amazing spots. At the end of our snorkeling adventure we were served hot cocoa and coffee to warm us up.

Over all our whole stay was amazing and we will go back!

J Fox

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
853 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#9 of 9 in Crystal River
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
359 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Address: 9301 W Fort Island Trl, Crystal River, FL 34429-5376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range: $113 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our crystal river hotel is a beautiful 50-year-old, 232 acre eco-friendly resort offering comfortable accommodations, a full service spa, and is surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay in Crystal River is one of the largest aquifers in the state and home to more than 400 West Indian manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. Our onsite activities range from golf to boating and fishing with so much in-between and we offer several specials and packages to help sculpt your perfect vacation! There's always something fun to do at Plantation on Crystal River! The services and activities included in your resort fee are meant to give you, your family and friends multiple ways to enjoy your time with us. The following is a list of all activities and services covered by the resort fee of $17 per night. WiFi Beach chairs, umbrellas, towels Free play on our 9 hole golf course Driving range Outdoor heated lagoon pool Hot tub Fitness Center Tennis ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing