We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snorkeling with the Mantees - Great Time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plantation on Crystal River
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were looking for a clean place to stay after flying into Crystal River airport (to see the manatees). We were able to borrow a car from the airport, & then someone from Plaintation staff graciously shuttled us back to the airport the next day.
The manatee tour was even better than I had hoped. :) (We were end of season & I knew they may or not still be in the river, to be seen.) It depends on the temperature. Our guide, Jeff, was professional, yet still fun, and very informed. (The dive shop was very busy yet obviously followed a system that allowed them to run smoothly). We went to 2 locations - the 1st place we could actually touch the manatees, within limits; and at the 2nd location, the manatees were sleeping so that was more "look but don't touch". The 2nd location had better visibility, so great for photos! Wetsuits available for rental and highly recommended. Snorkeling with the manatees was on my "bucket list" and it sounds like water access to them may become much more limited in the future - they are endangered. We had a wonderful time!!! (Our room was one of the remodeled ones so no prpblems there. It was roomy & clean).

Room Tip: I would read other reviewers. We were in one of the remodeled rooms and had no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyK121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our primary reason for visiting was the Manatee Tour and we were not disappointed. Captain Ross made the experience one of the best! The boat ride to the manatee spot was very helpful and provided a lot of need-to-know info; his sense of humor added to the trip. Swimming with the Manatee of a wonderful experience!! The Plantation was a nice relaxing resort; we enjoyed having a couple of drinks by the pool while watching the ducks swim around in the bay. Loved this place!

Room Tip: If location of the room is important, it might be best to call to confirm where the room is located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our trip to the Plantation Inn was fabulous! The manatee tour was wonderful. Our boat captain Jeff made the trip educational and lots of fun. I dont think it could have been any better. We saw lots of manatees and were very informed about their behavior and how to interact with them. A very memorable time and affordable. First class all the way!

Room Tip: water view was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have stayed at this "resort" several times. It is a convenient spot for our family to gather although our inside joke is that the service is so unhelpful we call it the Hotel of NO. This is ok if you want to be primarily left alone. And typically we stay at small hotels or b&bs so we do not expect to be pampered. We do expect clean. This last visit will most likely be out last. We arrived only to learn our room was located in the wing we know as Mildew Alley. Attempts to change became difficult as apparently the hotel was full. Finally we were offered a golf villa. A substantial upgrade we were told. Only at The Plantation could this be true. The room was dirty. Moldy. Fixtures about 30 years old and in poor health. AC sounded like a prop plane in trouble. So much for sleep unless you have ear plugs and Tylenol pm. The "villas" are small connected two level units across a very busy road from the resort. You are completely disconnected from the hotel. We essentially used it as a room and tried to be gone most of the day. If we had paid anything near the listed rack rate we wold have left immediately. The bedroom had two full beds - so much for the king we had booked. In all honesty they should be deeply discounted if made available at all. Gut reno's are required. Steer clear. The whole resort is an odd place. It succeeds because there is nothing else. The only rooms worth staying in are in the rose building on the canal side. Anything else is a nightmare. Crystal river is a gorgeous place of natural beauty. It deserves better.

Room Tip: If you don't get a room in the rose building on the canal side with a tiny patio run as fast as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heartlander_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We spent 2 days at Plantation, coming from France with our 3 children. Some Miami-based friends had recommended us to come to Crystal River to discover the manatees and I have picked up Plantation when I picked a hotel nearby. The only nice and pristine resort in Crystal River. And special mention to the Diving area : a wonderful snorkeling tour with "Captain" Ross to discover the manatees. A unique experience with a team taking care of us and bringing us to the right spots, with a real care for the animals. Rooms were very nice and quiet, and the pool is perfect. We will no doubt recommend that resort. We did not try the golf course but it looked superb.

Room Tip: Although we were facing the parking lot and not the pool, our bedrooms were really quiet. Large room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at the plantation for 2 nights to go on a manatee trip. Pleasantly surprised by what a great hotel it was. Stayed in a room facing the canal in the Rose building. It was so quiet and peaceful sitting outside in the evening it made the trip. The room was a great size and had a fridge for our cocktails.
The only criticism was we were told to show up at 7.20 for the boat trip to see the manatees but we waited around for an hour. I would have preferred an extra hour in bed

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greenfrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent three days at he Plantation Inn. The guide that they provided with the fishing package (Don Chancey) was absolutely the best. He extended to fishing trip to make sure that we had caught enough fish. We brought several fillets home for dinner with the family.

The chickee bar near the beautiful swimming pool was a lot of fun. The burgers there were very good. Do not miss their specialty drink= The Plantation Punch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
818 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
348 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
265 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Address: 9301 W Fort Island Trl, Crystal River, FL 34429-5376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range: $110 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing