We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation on Crystal River

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Plantation on Crystal River
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
DeLand, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a deal from Living Social for $79 a night with a $25 resort credit for each day, so we definately got a great deal. The first day we played golf at the Plantation course and it was nice but pretty damp, even at three in the afternoon. The second day, we rented a kayak and went to Three Sister's Springs. This is a must see! As far as the room, we stayed in the rose wing and the room was very nice and clean. A lot of reviewers mentioned the moldy smell and I also noticed it in every wing except the rose wing. The beds were really comfortable and I slept well, which isn't normally the case in hotels. The pool is really nice, especially at night, when no one esle is out there. The jacuzzi needs to be hotter though, it was just warm. The grounds are really nice, but they really need to put benches around the lawn. At night we would stand out there and see manatees come right up to the seawall, but it would have been nice to be able to sit out there. All in all, it was a really nice place and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in the Rose Wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meagan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    536
    196
    75
    49
See reviews for
455
589
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

the staff was excellent to work with. the rooms are ok but smell of mold. had a meal at the pro shop......just fair at best. the meeting room was very well attended to but dinner was not very good. steaks did not have good flavor....grouper was the best entree along with the mac and cheese

Room Tip: it is the best place in crystal river for a business meeting
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry34448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had ’an offer we couldn’t refuse’ via one of the many hotel sites, and went to Plantation Inn and Golf Resort with no knowledge of this hotel what so ever apart from the pictures.
And they did not lie and it was a good offer.
The hotel itself is a bit bigger than anticipated but well kept.
The main building is quite like an old antebellum house with a large hall and adjacent restaurant and bar, and a southern courtesy that boded well for the stay.
The check in was fast and professional and even though our room was situated the farthest away from the main building parking is right outside the annex.

The room was spacious and clean and - contrary to comments in other reviews - no smell/odor what so ever. A door lead to a small patio where we could walk out and sit and watch the river – and the manatees that was passing by no more than60 feet away – awesome!
One thing regarding the room: The walls are VERY thin and everything that happened in the room next door could be heard – yes EVERYTHING ;o)

The Tiki bar at the pool is great to visit when you’re relaxing at the pool, because of their nice drinks/food but especially because of their very good service.
The bar is also open to the public, and thereby also the pool, which can lead to some noise and commotion and therefore the quiet you expect to find at the resort sometimes is non-existing.

The bar at the hotel is great for a drink ( and snack ) especially when there’s a game on, and the prices are, from my point of view, not that high – we paid 19 bucks for two beers and two large drinks – I find that cheap for a night at the ’town’.
The manatee tours must be experienced – we went for a great boat ride where we had so much super information about the manatees, the environment, the surroundings etc. from the captain – a really great tour – don’t miss out on that one.

All in all, a very nice, clean and spacious resort which we can and will recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bastian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I had an amazing time with my sister it was her birthday weekend and we needed time to relax. We had the most fun I have had in a long time. Our room was nice and clean the staff was amazing everytime we walked by the hotel desk Misty was so pleasant.
The weather was beautiful, we snokeled at 3 sister which was so much fun and then cruised the waters on a nice pontoon.That we rented from the Marina on the property and let me tell you Captin Paul is very knowlegeable and the funnest guy there. The amazing part of our weekend was playing with the baby dolphins they came up to the boat and swam around us for about 20 min. So cool!!!
Drinks at the tiki hut around the pool was also so much fun. The gounds are beautiful the pool & hot tub are clean and they have new furniture around the pool that is beautiful!
The food at the Grill 82 was awsome and so was their waitress Cheryl! We did eat at a couple of places in town but everyting is deep fried (Yuck) so if you want excellent food eat at the hotel.
We meet Kelly she was so sweet and wonderful with suggesting drinks. We meet chef Eric and chef Patrick They are both so cute what wonderful cooks. Presentation and taste amazing they realy know their stuff.(Gordon Ramsey don't know crap! That's why he does T.V.)
I cant wait to come back this is the most perfect get away!!!
Kudos to the great staff! Ilove you all and thank you for making my weekend so memerable!



I can't wait to come back for another weekend get away

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lkelly1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I had a fabulous time at "The Plantation"!!! The service was awesome, the activities were plentiful, andthe ambiance of the whole expieinence was more than expected!!! I couldn't think of a better place too celebrate! This is a beautiful place and a great respite from the fast pace life style! Surely a place to escape and enjoy!!! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aminadolsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this resort and we loved it. The room was clean, large and very comfortable (only downside was the view). All the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and and willing to do anything they could to make our stay enjoyable. There is a very nice restuarant within the resort which has lovely food (although being really picky, I didn't like the floor, they should have carried the wood on through from the bar area) but the food itself was a delight. The reception staff booked the Manatee trip for us (if you come here you should do this) and they also organised a golf game - we just had to turn up to everything and enjoy. The resort has a golf course attached and a dive shop also which is where you leave for the Manatee trips and any dive trips you want to do. Our guide for the Manatee trip was Gregg and he was brilliant and spotting Manatees and very knowledgeable about these creatures and their habitat. Although it wasn't really the right time of the year to see them we had a great trip with a juvenile manatee coming up for a cuddle - absolutely amazing. We enjoyed our time so much at Crystal River that we are already organising to go again later in the year when there will be even more manatees around!!

Room Tip: The resort has been refurbished fairly recently so all the rooms are nice but a room facing the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellybean7788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked 5 rooms to celebrate my Sister-in-laws 50th birthday celebration. The staff was extremely accomadating, they made sure that our rooms met our expections. We had our 84 yr old Mom in the handicap room, which was prefect for her. We brought our boats and they were just outside of our rooms. The pool was prefect for my grandchildren and for the adults as well. We went scalloping and had the chef cook them for us, this was the "icing on top of the cake" for us. Darlene was very nice, professional and made sure we had all of our needs met. Kelly, was absolutley the best, she helped us with the booking of the extra dining room for our birthday party, the room was set up for us and the food was excellent. This was a holiday weekend and we enjoyed our stay so much, we will go back and hopefully stay a little longer the next time.

Room Tip: ask for a waterview room if you have a boat. stay on first floor, some buildings do not have elavat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reba1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Property: Plantation on Crystal River
Address: 9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing