We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stately old hotel immaculately preserved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plantation on Crystal River
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stately old hotel immaculately preserved”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We we we stayed at the Plantation before a swim with manatees trip. The hotel and grounds were beautiful and impecably maintai ned. The food was wonderful and I highly recommend the bisque! I would recommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacall2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    570
    211
    83
    54
See reviews for
498
620
37
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We booked a 3-night Memorial Day weekend stay in a junior suite, being told it was a "very quiet" wing of the hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by hillbillies with screaming children and country music blasting out of their rooms. The initial young female desk clerk quickly responded to our (and other couples') complaints but her supervisor followed up with a very nasty phone call, explaining that her hands "were tied". Despite my telling her that her young desk clerk handled the situation professionally and satisfactorily, this unpleasant woman was determined to repeat that it was Memorial Day weekend several times, as if we couldn't discern the calendar date for ourselves. Apparently if it is a holiday honoring fallen soldiers, some hotel guests are encouraged to infringe upon everyone else's peaceful time.

Although the food was average, the restaurant staff was inattentive and disappeared occasionally, with the exception of "Chris". Of all the staff besides Chris, "Dave" at the Dive Shop made our trip enjoyable and worth the money. If it weren't for Dave, we would have checked out the first night, as our A/C wasn't working and the best the night manager could do was give us a portable fan and $20 off the room rate. The A/C maintenance staff we encountered were either clueless or obnoxious (the supervisor). However, Dave loaned us tools, helped fix our boat and personally helped us park our trailer. Dave and Chris need to be paid an extra stipend to teach the rest of the hotel's staff basic customer service.

Calling this place a "resort" is a stretch. Only one tennis court had a net, the court drinking fountains were broken, the male bar staff refused to fill coolers with ice (even with a broken lobby ice machine) and the hotel did not provide daily towel service. Someone moved our boat during the night (so much for the nighttime security) and luggage carts were non-existent.

I would not recommend this as a place for couples seeking relaxation, people wanting a first class hotel in the Crystal River area or anyone with prior experience of high service levels. For the pick-up truck crowd with coolers full of all their meals, yelling children, barking dogs and no sense of manners, this is YOUR "plantation".

Room Tip: I would not recommend this place to anyone else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank onholidayflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heythuysen, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Most people will come here for Manatee tours. This hotel has one of the oldest/original shops offering Manatee tours, although they are a bit pricey. We used the company located at the Best Western hotel, which was way cheaper and excellent.

The hotel is OK. The location is nice at the waterfront, but not very central. The hotel entails multiple buildings which are in good shape. The rooms are spacy, general facilities are good. We did not use the bar or restaurant, but they looked very nice.

The pool area is excellent. Perhaps we enjoyed it so much because it was very quiet and we could spend some time reading a book in the hot jacuzzi.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MelangeHeythuysen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Boat rentals, cool pool area, OK rooms, good local food, good golf course, and very reasonable price. The manatee tours and dolphin excursions are the bomb. They take dogs too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajcatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Located in beautiful nature on the river. Nice pool with towels, chairs and tiki bar. Adventure Center next door with boat rental and Manetee Tours. The boats are very nice and exelent service.

The tree sisters spring is the closest you ever get to paradise. Enjoy !

Room Tip: river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kloevstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The grounds around this hotel are immaculate which includes the pool area. The hotel is in a great setting, surrounded by water to the rear. We used the bar by the pool, clean, efficient, great staff.. The room was large with access directly to the gardens. The communal areas of the hotel appeared well cared for and maintained to a high standard. The staff at the dive shop are great and the snorkelling with manatees experience was one that I'll never forget - great guide, very informative and caring. We stayed midweek and the place seemed quite quiet which was pleasant and relaxing. This place would make an ideal wedding or other special event location.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view to the gardens / water (as opposed to the car lot)! Ground floor rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjellis99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We booked the manatee package and were pleased beyond expectations. The hotel is lovely and the pool has a nice setting on the water. Dinner was extra but the food was great! We had a full breakfast included the next morning. Then we headed over to get our wet suits and tour. Even though it was the end of the season for manatees we still spotted many. Our guide was an ecologist and very knowledgeable. Booking things seperately would have cost more. Some of the tours out on the river were not run so nicely. A definite stop on the Gulf for nature lovers!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikerchik59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
786 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
1.4 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
342 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
259 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Property: Plantation on Crystal River
Address: 9301 W Fort Island Trl, Crystal River, FL 34429-5376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing