We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still love the Plantation...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Plantation on Crystal River
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Still love the Plantation...”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

WE stayed for four nights over Thanksgiving.. the property is under new ownership again.. this was our 6th trip in 5 years. Love the old school charm. Love the golf course on the property.. staff is friendly.. they have a great Fitness center in one of the buildings. They don't promote it enough. It is awesome. The food here is great... a little expensive but dinners and lunches are really good. We just can't find the charm anywhere else as we do at the Plantation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golfsunnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    557
    207
    81
    54
See reviews for
484
607
37
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Evans, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My wife and I stayed here this summer back in July as we were traveling through Florida on our way to Gulf Shores Alabama to spend a week with my family. We had some time between our stay with friends down in Orlando, and spending the week in Gulf Shores. I had never heard of this place, but my wife found it on the internet. I wanted to play some Florida golf, and this was one of three places I got to play there. Upon arriving we found the resort to be very nice. I loved the retro feel of the place. Check in was easy. Our room was clean and comfortable. This resort would be great for our family reunions, if we could just get some of the members to drive down there to it! :) We had a delicious lunch, and the waitress was very nice and told us some of the history of the resort. I could just imagine this place had a million stories to tell. The next morning I had a tee time at the golf course there. My wife and I had breakfast there. Everything was delcious. The golf course was in great shape. On the first hole, there was a pond behind the green. When I got to the green I looked over into the pond and there was an alligator. Don't see many of those where we live in Georgia. Had a nice round of golf. Afterwards we checked out and continued on our journey. We did use the pool while we were there. It was refreshing and cool. We hope to return next summer.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deepiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

The room was fine, fitness center fine. Breakfast every morning was fine. Staff was very helpful letting our group of four print from their printer at the desk when the printer in the business center didn't work. I would have to say that the manatee swim was the highlight. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made the experience very exciting. The only advice I would have is that they take the group to 3 sisters first to get used to being around the manatees before the very interactive experience at king river. I wouldn't have been so fearful, had we went to 3 sisters first. The DVD of the swim was very good and well worth the money as I had something to share with my family. I am planning another trip next November and plan to stay there again. Nobody in my group had trouble with bed bugs. But I would definitely check next time.

Room Tip: We stayed in the building where the fitness center is. There is no ice machine in that building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtaylorAlma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I selected this hotel with some trepidation given the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor, but am glad I did.

Pros:
- Our room was clean and very nicely furnished/decorated with an "old Florida" feel.
- The beds were extremely comfortable; we slept well!
- The fitness center, which was thankfully in our building, had 2 treadmills, 2 ellipticals, 2 bikes, a weight machine and barbells. It was spacious and the equipment was well maintained; exactly what we look for in a hotel fitness center.
- The grounds were manicured, and the drive up to the main building gave the inn a true old plantation vibe.
- Parking was right outside our building so we didn't have to walk far.
- The temperature control in our room was great! Our desired temperature was consistently maintained without loud noises each time the system engaged or disengaged.

Cons:
- We were told the pool was heated, but it was too cold for me. I never saw anyone else in it, either.
- The business center was sparse with only one computer. It was two buildings away from ours, I had to wait to use it, and there were people waiting to use it when I left.
- Some of the inn's advertising suggests you can swim with the manatees from their pier. (The woman at the front desk also told me this when we checked in.) This is not true. You can take a boat from the pier to go to the spot where you can swim with the manatees but you can't swim with the manatees from the inn's pier.
- During the afternoon, we heard an entire conversation from the room next door. Thankfully, we didn't hear anything later that evening when we were going to bed.
- We had nine pillows in our room, and not a single one of them was firm.
- The air conditioning in the hall was blasting when the temperature outside was in the 50's. Quite a shock when you rush inside to get warm.

We didn't use the dive shop, restaurant, or golf course. There were a lot of other guests at the inn during our stay due to a wedding and a conference. Some were using the rocking chairs on the front porch. They seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Red_Sox_Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We spent a night here over the weekend - The resort was very disappointing to us,as we were looking forward to a luxury weekend away. The setting on the river and the Plantation home is very pretty but needs to be updated indoors - perhaps some new fresh carpets in the rooms and hall ways. The rooms were clean and neat but an odor was off putting to me - possibly from the carpets as everything seemed clean. The staff all round were most pleasant and helpful and the boat rentals were a must to make the most of this area - the manatee sightings were truly great. The gazebo looked beautiful - perfect for a wedding.
Our dining experience also needed improvement - again great staff but the food was just so so but the prices high. Desserts were good. Possibly the best accommodation in the area but think some improvements are definitely in order.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmetto, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This is a great little get away reasonably priced depending on what you want to do good to excellent. Resort is dated but clean right on river golf is across the street nice courses 1, 18 and 1, 9 Course was in good shape greens were in very good shape. there is a marina on the resort very friendly excellent trip for interaction with manatees good equipment they also rent kayaks. The Manatee experience was awesome!!!!
great idea for a two or three night trip. We will definitely be back to visit with the manatees again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crittergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This was the most wonderful experince! Well trained staff educated you in how to interact with the manatee so both they and us enjoyed the experience to the fullest. Wet suits, and snorkels are provided for a minimal fee...and well worth it! The manatees approched the boat as soon as we anchored, and when we got in the water, we were greeted by these gentle giants with flipper hugs, and nuzzeling of those whiskered smiling faces. An hour spent playing with these amazing creatures then we were off to Three Sisters Springs and more manatees,.
Crystal clear waters, 72 degree water temperatures, lots of fish swimming by, made for an underwater adventure not soon to be forgotten. Hot coffe, tea or cocoa made the ride back to the Plantation very comfy and pleasurable. Directions were given on how to remove our wet suits, and where to watch the video that was just filmed. At NO time was any pressure applied to purchase a DVD from them. This company was friendly, professional, and fun all at the same time. I would reccomend their services without a moment's hesitation. Thank you Plantation Dive Shop for a memorial event!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesertLady466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Property: Plantation on Crystal River
Address: 9301 W Fort Island Trl, Crystal River, FL 34429-5376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing