We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed the Plantation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Plantation on Crystal River
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the Plantation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

The only reason I think most people come to Crystal River is to snorkel with manatees. Other than that, there is not much to see or do in this town, so be prepared.

Since there aren’t a lot of hotel options for Crystal River, we had easily narrowed down our choices to the Plantation and the Holiday Inn. We decided to try something different and stay at the Plantation. I think, in all, it was a good choice.

I will start by saying that the outside of the hotel is gorgeous and the river snaking around the back of the grounds is lovely. The restaurant looked nice but we didn’t eat there due to price and lack of vegetarian options. We really enjoyed the pool, although the bar and fountain nearby where run-down. The bar was not open while we were there (Wednesday afternoon/Thursday morning).

I've come to the conclusion that hotels banish those that book through Hotwire or Priceline to the least inviting rooms on the property. Since we booked through Hotwire, that is exactly where we were put. We walked around the hotel after we checked in and noticed that everyone else was in the Rose Wing (which according to reviewers below, is the updated wing of the hotel). We were in the Azalea Wing on the complete opposite side of the hotel. We did not have a mini-fridge like other reviewers said they had, and I’m guessing it’s due to the fact we were in the older side of the hotel. At one point, house keeping had the room across from us open and we saw that it was being used as a storage unit. Obviously, no one has stayed in that room for quite sometime. It was odd to me that they would use a river view room as storage instead of letting guests enjoy it.

Our room was fine enough, the furniture and TV dated but not uncomfortable. The bathroom had an odd sliding door instead of just a regular run-of-the-mill door. We had a view of the parking lot. Since we were in the outdated Azalea Wing, we were nearly by ourselves. It felt a little odd to be staying so far away from the lobby and all the other guests, but at the same time it was very quiet and we had no problems with noise.

There were some issues with the bathroom for us. The sink and tub had hairs covering them. Not some little hair that one can easily ignore, but long black hairs that housekeeping should have noticed while cleaning. Also, when my husband went to use the shower, it sputtered and spit at him to the point where it was almost useless to take a shower. It seems like those pipes hadn’t been used in years. After about 10 minutes, the shower finally pulled itself together and the water came out as it should.

In all it wasn’t a bad stay or a great stay, but at least it was a unique hotel that we will always remember. I would recommend this place for families since it is a large hotel with a kid-friendly pool and a lot of grounds for children to run around. There are a lot of lizards they would probably enjoy seeing as well.

If you are planning on snorkeling with manatees, I highly highly recommend the American Pro Dive shop which is on the main drag through town. They were very professional and we had a great time.

Please note that there is not a lot to do in Crystal River. There is an older mall and movie theater, but that was about it that we saw. Also, vegetarians try to plan ahead. We didn’t and had a hard time finding somewhere to eat for dinner. We finally broke down and got Pizza Hut after looking at a couple restaurants that either had no veg options or where very overpriced.

Pros: unique hotel, front of hotel beautiful from the outside, nice pool

Cons: rooms outdated, bathroom not clean, shower needed repaired, grounds in the back run-down

Tips: Ask for Rose Wing since that is apparently where the newer rooms are. Have activities and restaurants planned out before you get to town so you aren’t driving around starving and bored. Snorkel with manatees at American Pro Dive Shop.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikkijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    552
    202
    79
    54
See reviews for
479
598
37
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

The boat tour was great - going to Three Sisters Spring, Lovely swimming pool. Would like to go back in the winter when all the manatees are there. We did a few - one very well at the Spring. Family went tubing in a local river and had fun.

Room Tip: Nice to have a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duke95000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

I took my extended family back after the great visit I had in February and all 25 of them loved it. It's a great family place. We saw manatees even though it wasn't the best season for them and even swam with one! The newly remodeled pool and hot tub are large and beautiful - right on the point overlooking the water. We had rooms with patios which was perfect for our small children to run and play. We used a meeting room as our living room - ate there, played games there, used computers, etc. After years of going to the beach, my family thought it was a great change and a different, unique part of Florida. Try it - you'll love it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carson14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at the Plantation Golf Resort and Spa this month and I'm afraid to say I thought it looked a bit shabby and past its best.....they do have a board in the lobby area showing the improvement work that is to take place..so hopefully it will soon be back to top form.
An overpowering smell of Lysol greeted us as we entered the lobby, prompting the youngest member of our group to ask if we were staying at a retirement home...and it did have that sort of feel ( I have nothing against retirement homes...I just don't want to stay in one quite yet ! ). The check in staff were friendly and efficient...but the present layout of the hotel meant that to reach one of our rooms we had to trek (with our luggage) to another wing...then go up one floor in the alarmingly ricketty lift and then trek all the way back on the 1st floor. All three ice machines were not working during our stay, so there were long trips to the bar...down the corridors that were very remeniscent of "The Shining"...However, it has a great location on the river, and the pool and bar are great for people (and boat) watching...we were there during scalloping season so plenty of guests could moor up outside their rooms, so if you can wait until the work is finnished I'm sure this will be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PelicanSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

Well, it started off going great! Beautiful weather and scenery. When we arrived on July 23rd at 11:15 am we were told at the front desk our rooms would not be ready until 3:30 or 4 that evening, “really not a big deal". When we came back around 4:30 we were informed by staff that one of the rooms we reserved was no longer available due to air conditioning problems and no other rooms were vacant.
Ok still really not a problem because the staff advised they placed us in another hotel approximately five miles away and they would pay the full expense. So, after we informed the other half of out party they would be staying in another hotel my family and I unloaded our vehicle and attempted check in our room at the plantation inn. Well, we were informed again the other hotel was no longer available and now all eight of us (my family and the other party of four) would be staying in an upstairs/downstairs loft with a kitchen across the road on the other property the resort owns. The staff assured it would be better and much nicer than the room we were originally were getting. Well… room 402 did sleep eight, two beds up stairs and two pull out couches down stairs. The beds were fine, but the fold out couches that were equated with a mattress the same thickness as a piece of cardboard were very uncomfortable and felt as if we were sleeping on steel. The air conditioning would not get any colder than 80 degrees and the water stained ceiling and mold was not what I imagined as a good time at a well named resort.
upon checking out, we did in a polite way advise the front deck personnel, but she really seemed as if she didn’t care because we would be gone in a matter of hours........I WILL NEVER STAY AT THIS RESORT AGAIN OR ADVISED ANY WELL RESPECTED PERSON TO STAY AT THIS RUN DOWN ---- HOLE!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bo6175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

So glad we picked the Plantation Golf Resort. We had a large double room with a patio that was on the the river. The room was large and clean,with nice beds and sheets. The pool area was beautiful, right on the river, it was a really nice spot to relax at the end of the day. The tennis courts were great and the grounds were pretty and well kept. Our only compliant was the room had a slightly musty smell but not enough to bother us. We stayed here for 4 nights and throughly enjoyed Crystal River. The Plantation Golf Resort is definitely the nicest hotel in town

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank letmepack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2011

Rooms were comfortable, great pool area. Would definitely return. Only issue I had was the the dive shop was very overpriced as well as the restaurant. For those divers/ snorkelers there is another dive shop down the road "Pro Dive" they are very well priced and the staff is great.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee-Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation on Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation on Crystal River

Property: Plantation on Crystal River
Address: 9301 West Fort Island Trail, Crystal River, FL 34429
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation on Crystal River 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Plantation on Crystal River A hidden gem located on the Nature's Coast of Florida and the Gulf of Mexico, our beautiful 50-year-old eco-friendly and green luxury resort hotel's surrounded by the natural springs of Kings Bay. This bay, in Crystal River, is one of the largest spring systems in the state and home to more than 500 West Indian Manatees that migrate each year to the warmth of the springs. We sit on 232 acres of lush preserve land with emerald greens and grand oaks, and house hundreds of birds and wildlife that include: Osprey, Sandhill Cranes, Blue Heron, Red-Bellied Warbler, Yellow-Bellied Warbler, Neotropic Cormorant, Great Egret, Eagles and Grey-Horned Owls to mention a few. OUR HOTEL IS THE PLACE TO STAY & PLAY IN CRYSTAL RIVER, FL Centrally located from Tampa and Orlando, we are a great location for your next • Florida vacation • Corporate Meeting or Retreat • Florida golf vacation • Incentive Group • Florida Wedding • Family Reunion • Fraternal Groups Should you have frequent business in the Citrus County, we have corporate rates available. We have over 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible indoor meeting space and beautiful outdoor locations with water views a great backdrop for your special occasion, team building event, or to simply relax and take in the Florida Sunshine and perfect weather. Remember to visit Spa Bleu at Plantation while staying at the Resort to experience a moment of wellness at our first class Aveda Spa. Offering facials, massage therapy,body treatments, Vichy shower, pedicures, manicures, and a full hair-care Salon. And don't forget we are a world class fishing destination as well. Our Adventure center offers guided fishing charters as well and many other water based activities. Including our Trip Adviser top rated "Swim with the Manatee tours". We are the place to play and stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation on Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation On Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Hotel Crystal River
Plantation Resort Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing