We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Motel Style Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Crystal River Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
1,033 reviews
399 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,152 helpful votes
“Good Motel Style Hotel”
Reviewed March 13, 2010

I was worried about staying here given the reviews but decided to give it a go as it was so convenient for the manatee snorkel trips.

The hotel is old, but service is good and the rooms well maintained, clean, have free WIFI (they also have a free terminal you can use in their lounge), free breakfast (can´t comment on this as I was on a snorkel tour both mornings when they opened at 6:30 AM.) My king bed was super comfortable and I slept well. (If you don´t want to be next to cars, ask to be in the upstairs bedrooms (they are Kings) rather than in the twins downstairs.)

There are two decent restaurants a few steps away.

If you want to snorkel with manatees, I recommend Bird´s Underwater. They are on the water a very short walk from the hotel. Crystal Divers leaves in front of the hotel, but Bird´s is the first boat out as they they get you to their shop at 6:15AM. Other dive shops were getting their folks to the site when we had already finished our snorkel. They also really care for the manatees and will tell people off for crowding them and even called the Wildlife Dept. when they noticed one manatee was not doing well. It was great having the springs to ourselves until American Pro Dive showed up with tons of kids who harrased the manatees.

Birds recommended a visit to the Homossassa Springs Wildlife Park which was great. It´s only 20 minutes drive from the hotel.

I´ve decided to come back to snorkel with the manatees with my nephew and niece and will definitely stay at the Best Western.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    204
    116
    38
    25
See reviews for
179
221
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I was actually surprised when we got to the hotel because of the setup - it's separated into many different buildings. I was hoping it would be fun, but was quickly disappointed. The architecture is terrible and you can hear EVERYTHING. We got to listen to our next door neighbor's tv for a few hours and the upstairs neighbor stomping around. But by far, the thing that pissed us off the most was that we were woken up at 6:30am by approximately 50 people outside our hotel room yelling, talking, being EXTREMELY loud!! We were mad! If we didn't plan on getting up relatively early anyway, we would've gone out and said something. I mean, it was bad! I don't know if these people were with a tour group or what, but they had absolutely no regard for anyone else staying in the hotel. Kids yelling and screaming, parents doing the same. And it was literally right in front of our hotel room door. The hotel was convenient for our travel plans, but I absolutely would not stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdidio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHague
Level Contributor
159 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2010

This is more of a condominium complex or 70's motel, the rooms are laid out on two floors in true motel style, overlooking car parks next to the Crystal River itself (a manatee area, as the signs will tell you). The place had something of a party atmosphere, imagine a lot of pick-up trucks parked up with Nickelback blaring from the stereos and rednecks drinking Bud on the porch, thats your typical crowd. It mostly seemed to be boaters - there's an access ramp at the hotel. Fortunately everybody quietened down at night, when the action moved to the great open air bar outside the Cracker Barrel next door, again with nice water views (no chance of a sea view from the motel).

Reception staff were ever so welcoming and friendly. Laundry facilities on site. Free wireless internet. Soft drink vending machines. The pool is absolutely tiny and very busy.

The rooms were standard motel fare, but in a good condition and clean.

We had booked this originally to allow for an early morning start on the swim with manatee tour which leaves from next door, but the tour was full up when I phoned 2 weeks in advance. The place still makes a nice place to stay en route between Atlanta and Tampa.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casualist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

This hotel needs about 10 pounds of TNT to level it.......then it might be a nice place to stay. The lobby is very nice but the rest of the place is a dump. The carpet is filthy, room decor is from the 1970's and there was no soap or shampoo in the bathroom.

Save your money and sleep in your car!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmaiden66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Don't expect a highly polished, high drama resort, and you should be happy. Rooms are spread across a few buildings with two floors, and most have exterior access. The property is typical of this part of very-small-town Florida with palms, Spanish moss, casual outdoor dining nearby, and a serene view over Kings Bay close to the Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge.

You come here for the fishing, bird watching and the manatees which are attracted to the copious amounts of fresh water gushing from springs into the salty bay. There is no beach as the Springs Coast is characterized by marshes, estuaries, and spring-fed tidal creeks, some of which have crystal clear water -- perfect for diving or snorkeling.

The hotel has a small pool by the water, a hot tub, and there is a dive shop, dock and boats on premises. On a previous trip, we ate at their restaurant, but it was closed this time. Other restaurants are immediately next door. The hotel welcomes pets.

Our room was large, clean and had a safe and easily-controlled heat and air. The decor is old fashioned, and the beds were a bit swaybacked (although still comfortable and had a pile of pillows), but our room was well maintained. Rooms have wired internet.

It's a comfortable family-run establishment, more like a motel with added amenities, and we stay there each time we return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2009

Booked here for one night prior to manatee tour with Captian Mike. Inexpensive--so don't expect too much. Good location for getting to the tour, as the boat leaves directly behind hotel. Rooms are a little worn out looking, but clean. Outside noise not a problem, but the in wall air conditioner was a bit noisey cycling off/on during night. Check-in was smooth and check out at 12noon allowed us to clean up a little after out tour. There is no breakfast offered, which is a little disappointing as most Best Westerns offer some type of breakfast. Would only recommend if taking tour, not a place I would recommend more than one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I would say in Crystal River, this hotel has the BEST overall location. The lobby, gift shop and presentation is simply exceptional. It's on the water, has a small dive shop and marina as well as several restaurants in walking distance. I wish I would have brought my bike as the walk to a few of the quaint downtown spots was just a little too much for us in the heat but I have NO complaints about this property. It's a high recommend for manatee watchers, divers, business travelers, families, and couples. Oh and the POOL is steps from the water which I thought was pretty cool.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal River
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
14.1 mi away
Comfort Suites near Rainbow Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Crystal River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Crystal River Resort

Property: Best Western Crystal River Resort
Address: 614 Northwest Highway 19, Crystal River, FL 34428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Crystal River Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooks the Crystal River, and has a dive shop on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Best Western, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Crystal River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Crystal River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing