We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, no drama on Florida's Nature Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good hotel, no drama on Florida's Nature Coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2009

Don't expect a highly polished, high drama resort, and you should be happy. Rooms are spread across a few buildings with two floors, and most have exterior access. The property is typical of this part of very-small-town Florida with palms, Spanish moss, casual outdoor dining nearby, and a serene view over Kings Bay close to the Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge.

You come here for the fishing, bird watching and the manatees which are attracted to the copious amounts of fresh water gushing from springs into the salty bay. There is no beach as the Springs Coast is characterized by marshes, estuaries, and spring-fed tidal creeks, some of which have crystal clear water -- perfect for diving or snorkeling.

The hotel has a small pool by the water, a hot tub, and there is a dive shop, dock and boats on premises. On a previous trip, we ate at their restaurant, but it was closed this time. Other restaurants are immediately next door. The hotel welcomes pets.

Our room was large, clean and had a safe and easily-controlled heat and air. The decor is old fashioned, and the beds were a bit swaybacked (although still comfortable and had a pile of pillows), but our room was well maintained. Rooms have wired internet.

It's a comfortable family-run establishment, more like a motel with added amenities, and we stay there each time we return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    203
    115
    38
    25
See reviews for
177
219
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Booked here for one night prior to manatee tour with Captian Mike. Inexpensive--so don't expect too much. Good location for getting to the tour, as the boat leaves directly behind hotel. Rooms are a little worn out looking, but clean. Outside noise not a problem, but the in wall air conditioner was a bit noisey cycling off/on during night. Check-in was smooth and check out at 12noon allowed us to clean up a little after out tour. There is no breakfast offered, which is a little disappointing as most Best Westerns offer some type of breakfast. Would only recommend if taking tour, not a place I would recommend more than one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

I would say in Crystal River, this hotel has the BEST overall location. The lobby, gift shop and presentation is simply exceptional. It's on the water, has a small dive shop and marina as well as several restaurants in walking distance. I wish I would have brought my bike as the walk to a few of the quaint downtown spots was just a little too much for us in the heat but I have NO complaints about this property. It's a high recommend for manatee watchers, divers, business travelers, families, and couples. Oh and the POOL is steps from the water which I thought was pretty cool.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

I was happily surprised to see a big chain hotel like Best Western so clean and fresh smelling. This particular Best Western didn't have that conventional, block-style hotel feel. It looks almost as if it were once an apartment complex or condos. The lobby is the best-smelling most nicely decorated I've seen in any Best Western, or other chain hotel for that matter, and the rooms are in mint condition. The beds are comfortable. The sheets are clean. The bathrooms are devoid of rust and mold. And everything is neat and tidy. It felt like home and I would recommend that you stay at this hotel if you're visiting the Crystal River/Homosassa area and are a hotel snob. Everything else around that town is old and run down. Though you'll pay a little more to stay here, it's well worth it. We loved the on site boat ramp and water-side pool also.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferLutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

This is the way a place is supposed to be. Clean, quiet and comfortable. Stay here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

Our experience does not match up with the negativity some other writers express. The rooms are big and clean. As long as you get a room away from the road, it's quiet. They are pet friendly.

The people we have dealt with have always been very pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggreider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2009

this is a horrible hotel....the restarant down by the water is bad, and at night I was out walking around and saw rats running around in side the kitchen!!! The manager if that what you can call her is extremly rudd. As far as I can say she looks like shes been working at that hotel since it opened. If I was one of the owners I would get rid of her....if you stay here look out for her "Frances" is her name. This little hotel in the middle of a small red neck town is really over priced for what you get......

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playhouseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal River
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
14.1 mi away
Comfort Suites near Rainbow Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
Address: 614 Northwest Highway 19, Crystal River, FL 34428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooks the Crystal River, and has a dive shop on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Crystal River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing