We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met our needs...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Crystal River Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Met our needs...”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I visited this hotel with our SCUBA group. The location seems to be the best Crystal River has to offer. In all honesty, we are accustomed to staying at more comfortable hotels so this was a bit of a culture shock. We had a double room and the beds are hard. Our safe was broken and made a humming noise 24/7. This hotel provides the basics, but don't expect anymore. If you are specifically traveling to snorkel, SCUBA or see the manatees then this hotel will definitely meet your needs. They provide a basic continental breakfast with your stay and there are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. If we visit Crystal River in the future, we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dannelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at Best Western Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback. We hope you will stay with us again if you're in the area.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    215
    123
    40
    29
See reviews for
196
231
21
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 602 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed because of its proximity to an early departing Manatee swim tour and were not expecting much from the very ordinary reviews however we were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the one we had appears to have been recently redecorated. There is one restaurant adjoining (Crackers) and another just a short walk away (Charlie's Fish House). We did get some unwelcome noise from children staying in the room above but if you wanted to avert that prospect then ask for an upper floor. The hotel is on the waterfront with its own boat ramp and dive shop and breakfast is served early enough to make in time for the 6:15AM Manatee Swim tour with Birds Underwater which is only a short walk away. Having subsequently looked around the town this appears to be the at least as good as anything else on offer around Crystal River and it's certainly in the prime location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tedstravelblogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at Best Western Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us. We're glad you had an enjoyable experience and hope you will return again.
Frances roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I wanted to stay at the Best Western because they had a hot tub available. I asked to see the room before booking. Upon entering the room, it appeared to be clean but needed updating for sure. The stove, couch, and carpet looked like it could be original furnishing from when the hotel was built.

The room had a musty smell. We left and went to a newer hotel down the road and I gave up on the idea of using a hot tub.

The lobby is very nice and the front desk lady was very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at Best Western Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review from your recent stay with us. The feedback is important to us. I hope you will come again.
Sincerely,
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked the Best Western Crystal River because it was on the river and that appealed to us. It is an old hotel and rooms are dark and not very nice. We also can say that this is the only Best Western that we have been at that did not have very friendly staff at the front desk. (Hopefully they were just having a bad day.) We were given a second floor room...just a warning there was no elevator so you have to lug your suitcases up an outside flight of stairs. There is a nice pool and we did enjoy sitting down by the river. The restaurant next door Crackers had outside seating along the river and had good food. We saw there was a place down at river's edge to take a cruise of the river and wanted to take one at noon the next day. The guy told us we could just come back in the morning and sign up....there wouldn't be a problem getting on the noon cruise. When we went to sign up the next morning, we were told someone had come in previous to us and they wanted to wait until 1 pm so we would need to do the same. Since we were leaving that day, we didn't want to wait an additional hour so were disappointed that we didn't get to take the cruise of the river. We feel that the $124.99 rate was high for the quality of the rooms and the breakfast buffet also left alot to be desired. This Best Western was not up to par with the the other Best Western hotels we stayed at during our trip. Location is the only plus we saw with this hotel...if there were not manatees here to draw tourists, I believe this Best Western would be out of business. Sorry to say we were not impressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at Best Western Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the input.
Sincerely,
Frances roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to swim with manatees. It was a clean motel but was older. Don't expect anything awesome but it is clean and comfortable. It is right beside Crackers which is a great restaurant that is on the water with two big bars, one being on the big deck you can dine on. The motel is 3 min grime RiverVenture manatee tours. It has a pool and hot tub. The motel is several different buildings so if u need anything from the lobby its a little hike. They have breakfast but we weren't able to enjoy it. Bed was somewhat comfortable. Bedding was nice. It had a white duvet which was clean I felt like. I hate comforters as I feel like thAt some hotels don't clean them between guest.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at Best Western Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write. We hope you will stay with us again.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here on a dive certification trip with my son and the rooms were clean and basic. Also serves a pretty basic breakfast. Nice location on the water and right next to the dive shop (which is an awesome place to get trained and open water certified all in two days)
I did ask for an hour extension on check out and they would not accommodate me, even though they said my room would be available that night if I needed it. Wanted a half day rate for the extra hour. Also, housekeeping did not show up to clean room until 6pm the previous day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkga62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at Best Western Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback. We hope you will stay again if you're in the area.
Frances Roberts, Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was not prepared for 70 parents and children after months of reservations. Room only had rags for towels, breakfast was not ready for the crowd. Poor flow of breakfast foods for large crowds. Not enough towels for number of people in each room. Motel is very worn and torn. It took too long to get keys. Hotel needs upgrading since groups reserve rooms all of the time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcelders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at Best Western Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry we did not live up to your expectations.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal River
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
802 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
343 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
640 reviews
14.1 mi away
Comfort Suites near Rainbow Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Crystal River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Crystal River Resort

Property: Best Western Crystal River Resort
Address: 614 Northwest Highway 19, Crystal River, FL 34428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Crystal River Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooks the Crystal River, and has a dive shop on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Best Western, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Crystal River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Crystal River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing