We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location is ok” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location is ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked the Best Western Crystal River because it was on the river and that appealed to us. It is an old hotel and rooms are dark and not very nice. We also can say that this is the only Best Western that we have been at that did not have very friendly staff at the front desk. (Hopefully they were just having a bad day.) We were given a second floor room...just a warning there was no elevator so you have to lug your suitcases up an outside flight of stairs. There is a nice pool and we did enjoy sitting down by the river. The restaurant next door Crackers had outside seating along the river and had good food. We saw there was a place down at river's edge to take a cruise of the river and wanted to take one at noon the next day. The guy told us we could just come back in the morning and sign up....there wouldn't be a problem getting on the noon cruise. When we went to sign up the next morning, we were told someone had come in previous to us and they wanted to wait until 1 pm so we would need to do the same. Since we were leaving that day, we didn't want to wait an additional hour so were disappointed that we didn't get to take the cruise of the river. We feel that the $124.99 rate was high for the quality of the rooms and the breakfast buffet also left alot to be desired. This Best Western was not up to par with the the other Best Western hotels we stayed at during our trip. Location is the only plus we saw with this hotel...if there were not manatees here to draw tourists, I believe this Best Western would be out of business. Sorry to say we were not impressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We appreciate the input.
Sincerely,
Frances roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    200
    113
    38
    25
See reviews for
176
215
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to swim with manatees. It was a clean motel but was older. Don't expect anything awesome but it is clean and comfortable. It is right beside Crackers which is a great restaurant that is on the water with two big bars, one being on the big deck you can dine on. The motel is 3 min grime RiverVenture manatee tours. It has a pool and hot tub. The motel is several different buildings so if u need anything from the lobby its a little hike. They have breakfast but we weren't able to enjoy it. Bed was somewhat comfortable. Bedding was nice. It had a white duvet which was clean I felt like. I hate comforters as I feel like thAt some hotels don't clean them between guest.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to write. We hope you will stay with us again.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here on a dive certification trip with my son and the rooms were clean and basic. Also serves a pretty basic breakfast. Nice location on the water and right next to the dive shop (which is an awesome place to get trained and open water certified all in two days)
I did ask for an hour extension on check out and they would not accommodate me, even though they said my room would be available that night if I needed it. Wanted a half day rate for the extra hour. Also, housekeeping did not show up to clean room until 6pm the previous day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkga62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback. We hope you will stay again if you're in the area.
Frances Roberts, Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was not prepared for 70 parents and children after months of reservations. Room only had rags for towels, breakfast was not ready for the crowd. Poor flow of breakfast foods for large crowds. Not enough towels for number of people in each room. Motel is very worn and torn. It took too long to get keys. Hotel needs upgrading since groups reserve rooms all of the time.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcelders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry we did not live up to your expectations.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently and found the rooms to be basic in an older Best Western. Being a Best Western, we expected more. The room was clean but needed to be upgraded. The room was also noisy at times, especially when people in other rooms were taking showers. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The lobby area was nice and the continental breakfast was the usual

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CincyBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate the feedback. We hope you will stay again if you're in the area.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We had hoped to stay in Crystal River 2 nights but had to leave after one night due to health issues. The front desk was so helpful when we checked in. She gave us directions for restaurants and where to see a nice sunset. We needed to go to the emergency room at 1:30 am and the night desk person was very helpful with directions to the hospital. The location of this hotel is great since it is on the water. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, we did not get to take a manatee tour so we will be back and will stay here again. One tip for travelers: this is a place for field trips, so if having lots of kids on the premises bothers you, maybe ask about that first. There was a bus load of kids the night we stayed, so it was noisy at times, but fortunately the adults in charge were great about quieting them down at a decent hour.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jurody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. I'm sorry you had to cut it short. I hope you will be able to come again.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
153 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was our second stay here. We come once a year to see the manatees and visit. It worked out fine last year, so we returned. It seemed the room had been freshly painted, which was nice. For the price, it is fine. We use the manatee tour group right on site, which is very convenient. We also have tried the restaurants recommended by trip advisor and have not been disappointed. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Try to get close to the water for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PoliceChief3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate the comments and hope you'll come again.
Frances Roberts,GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal River
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
14.0 mi away
Comfort Suites near Rainbow Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
Address: 614 Northwest Highway 19, Crystal River, FL 34428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooks the Crystal River, and has a dive shop on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Crystal River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing