We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Scallop Season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for Scallop Season”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had an awesome stay at this Best Western in Crystal River. The resort is not new but is well maintained and clean. We went on a chartered boat to snorkle for scallops which was so much fun! The resort had a nice area to clean our scallops. We enjoyed the patio and grill area as well. They have a dive shop right on the resort which is on the water. Crackers next door offered good food and entertainment in the evenings. The swimming pool was refreshing and well maintained. We will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsetsinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return again.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    203
    115
    38
    25
See reviews for
177
219
21
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

over $$$ nite for beat-up room...we asked for another but there wasn t comparable. (king w kitchen-thing non smoke 0. they did switch out a chair for one not quite so stained.
we travel a lot and this is a big NO

Room Tip: newly re-done rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colly111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your accommodations. We strive to have clean, comfortable rooms for our guests. I apologize for not achieving this and hope that you will try us again.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

There's a great restaurant next door, Cracker's. Kids loved the pool right on the water. While at the pool, expect to smell exhaust occasionally from the boats coming and going. Not enough to make me want to leave though. Friendly staff. Beds/pillows were comfortable. I would say medium firmness with pad. Dive shop right by pool (Crystal Lodge) offers boat rentals and manatee tours.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heftfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. I'm glad you had a good time and hope you will return again.
FrancesRoberts,, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
221 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,062 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel (or Motel) didn't meet our expectation at all, while staying only 1 night in July.
Hotel was packed, parking lot was full of pickup truck so not easy to drive.
1st room given was on ground floor, parking view and with bad smell. 2nd room given wasn't nice too, but more quiet at the back (#6106). A/C was very loud. Mosquitoes at night so bring your repellent.

I'm BW Reward member and we travel a lot in the USA and we'll never go back at this BW and will choose another hotel if coming back to swim with the Manatees in Crystal River.
Breakfast was not good and way too busy.
Avoid this place if possible.
Only good thing is the location by the River. But no shower at the pool !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay. I'm sorry you had problems during your stay. We strive to make it an enjoyable experience for all our guests.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

I spent a few days with my son at this hotel recently, we were visiting the area to see the manatees and dive in some of the nearby springs.

The rooms were clean, and the service was prompt and friendly. The breakfast was adequate.

Overall, a good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LikestoTravel277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed the stay and hope you'll come again.
Frances Roberts, Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Really nice location on the bay. Places to lounge at the marina behind the motel or by the pool. A small boardwalk attaches Cracker's bar and grill. (Yum) Wish the great location made up for the horrible smell of our room. We stayed in the 6000's building, bottom floor, end unit/efficiency. The smell was so bad it would even wake you up at night. (musty,wet dog, cigarette combo.) half a bottle of febreeze still didn't fix the problem. Room would have been fine other than that. Small bathrooms but it's an older hotel. Breakfast is all carbs. small choice. I'd love to stay on these grounds again but don't know if I could stand to sleep in one of these rooms again. Such a shame.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank westcoastfloridagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm sorry you had issues with the room. We strive to have our rooms clean and fresh for our guests. I apologize for the problems you had, I can assure you this was an isolated issue.
We hope you will come again.
Frances Roberts, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

Crystal river is an amazing place, my dad would bring us to this hotel for family vacations every year & there are so many awesome memories that we bring our daughter here every chance we get. It has everything you could possibly think of to make a family trip amazing. The pool,hot tub, right on the water, boat rentals, springs to explore ( we always rent a pontoon boat for a day) dive shop,restaurant literally steps away. The rooms are average,but we've never had a problem here. If you come around Christmas time, Homassassa has a music/timed light display that is absolutely AMAZING. We have decided to make it our new yearly ritual. If you are a family wanting to have a good time & get your kids outdoors & away from their xboxes & iphones, bring them here! Best part is, it won't break the bank either!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCudaQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manatee99, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. i hope you will return again.
Frances Roberts, Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal River
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
3.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
14.1 mi away
Comfort Suites near Rainbow Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort

Property: BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
Address: 614 Northwest Highway 19, Crystal River, FL 34428
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooks the Crystal River, and has a dive shop on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Crystal River Hotel Crystal River
Crystal River Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing