We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whoa, what an experience.”

Sunshine River Tours - Crystal River Manatee Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We conduct manatee swim encounters in the three sisters,kings and and several other springs in the Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge. We also rent pontoon boats and kayaks. We are located on the main spring on the water with plenty of free parking and the best view of Kings Bay.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Whoa, what an experience.”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Captain Glen lead the best tour. We got to see so many manatees with his great eye for finding them. He shared his love for these great creatures with us, along with many other tales. We were able to see more manatees because he taught us how to move in the water without disturbing the animals or the silt on the bottom of the river. To float along and see 4 manatees cruising below me was awesome. We also encountered a mother and her calf. These are truly gentle giants. Would go back over and over.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyHiker20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    65
    18
    12
    60
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Day”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been waiting to swim with the manatees ever since my little brother adopted one for me through WWF. I saved up with a friend and we purchased the VIP tour. Sue, the store owner/manager, was extremely friendly and greeted us at 715 am with a smile and cup of hot coffee. She sized us for wet suits and then introduced us to the AMAZING Captain Ed! We were told that it is more difficult to see a manatee in the summer than in the winter, but within the first 5 minutes on the water, Captain Ed spotted one and we were in the water swimming with and petting the sea cow. We then went over to the springs and there were two more in absolutely crystal clear water. Captain Ed patiently navigated us from the boat using clock directions until we had our second and third interaction. Overall, we saw and interacted with 8 manatees including a mother and calf. We also saw a dolphin that was feeding and several fish and birds. I cannot wait until I can come back and do this again!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

hello,
what an experience, that we had to do it two times..we miss the kings bay allready..especially baby wrinkles playing with the ladder ( 16th june 2013 )...big thanks to sue and the captain Hogan...looking forward coming back to pete's pier! lee (GB) and meike (Germany)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lee r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memories of a lifetime at a great price.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Staff was awesome when booking. Capt Sean was AMAZING! He knew the manattes well.. Knew where to find them, how to get close and interact with them. Showed us the springs, caves and underwater monument. Very helpful with my 8yr old

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tmcd823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“waste of a whole day”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Drove 7 hours round trip to experience a manatee up close, it didn't happen. Did "see" a manatee snout for a millasecond before it vanished back into the water. Couldn't see more than two feet in the water, completely murky. One day and a few more hundred dollars of vacation completely wasted. Not the tours fault but I won't be doing that again unless I get some guarantees.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cayennev8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunshine River Tours - Crystal River Manatee Tours also viewed

 

Been to Sunshine River Tours - Crystal River Manatee Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing