We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent - Local Yocal - Good, Cheap Eats”

Grannie's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 100 Restaurants in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Clearwater, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent - Local Yocal - Good, Cheap Eats”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place is a tiny local yocal diner serving Country deliciousness. They are only open for breakfast and lunch (til 3pm). This place was packed and the crowds kept coming. My husband and I sat at the counter rather than wait in line. The waitresses are friendly and have a little southern twang. They have a decent size menu plus a TON of specials!

The food came out super fast and there is a lot of it!
My husband had the Cheesesteak and potato salad. I had a special: BBQ Pulled Pork over Rice w/ 2 sides. I chose carrots and baked beans. Then I also got a piece of cornbread. Oh my goodness, SO MUCH FOOD. The baked beans were delicious, the carrots were not overly sweet, the pork was flavored nicely. My husband enjoyed his as well. We then ordered Apple Cobbler ala mode. This was heaven on a plate.

This meal was very inexpensive as well. I would definitely recommend going to Grannies!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melsy1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    179
    67
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wow!! Great home style food”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Big portions, fresh made breads, great value, and fantastic service. All around a great place to eat. Most orders are enough food for two people. What a nice surprise to find this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SMODAKMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
366 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Counter Seats Bring New Friends and Crystal River Pearls”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Breakfast lived up to the high expectations TripAdvisor reviews led us to expect. Biscuits and gravy were as good as the best, but be warned -- a HALF portion brings 3 large homemade biscuit halves topped with generous ladles of pork gravy. Enough to last a lumberjack until supper. Bacon and sausage patties were tasty and grease-free. Pancakes were excellent.

Grannie's real treasures are the customers seated at the counter, most of them locals the day we chatted. Good reasons to move to Crystal River after retiring in New Jersey? Best fishing guide on the Gulf? Best manatee tour? Tax holiday for hurricane supplies? Get the answer to these questions and more from new friends at Grannie's Country Cookin' counter.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“good home cooked breakfast”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Grannies's has an excellent selection of breakfast and lunch entree's to choose from and very reasonably priced, you might have to wait for a table in the morning as it does get crowded but you won't be disappointed as the food is cooked to order and hot and delicious when it is served.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantana
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good food and service but...”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This a great place for breakfast all day. Service is as good as it can be with the place always busy.. Worth waiting for !!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orangecrash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grannie's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Grannie's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing