We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Florida at its Best”
Review of King's Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King's Bay Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Old Florida at its Best”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We are retired now, so we have time to take it slow. We enjoy unique places to stay and King's Bay Lodge has nice apartment-style units in a tranquil location. We loved watching the birds and sunsets over the water. We launched our kayak right there and saw tons of manatees, many baby manatees too. So much fun! Three Sisters Spring is gorgeous and very close.

The spring-fed "Old Florida" pool is really one-of-a-kind; crystal clear water with natural vegetation and little fish. No chlorine, it's naturally clean.

Nothing fancy on the outside but the inside was spacious and clean. The tiled bathroom looked like it had been recently been remodeled. The rooms have a full-size coffee maker (for me) and a full-size frig and flat screen TV for my husband. We even had his and hers Lazy-Boy chairs.

We cooked many meals "at home" and we liked the local neighborhood. Easy to walk to casual and fine restaurants, an Irish bar, a wine store and antique stores. Hope to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank canoecatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, Manager at King's Bay Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Thank you Canoecatz for your great review. We are happy you enjoyed the sunsets at Kings Bay Lodge and had fun paddling from our dock to Three Sisters Spring to see the manatees. We have many guests who bring their own kayaks to our lodge because Three Sisters is so beautiful. There are also many other great places to paddle in the area. For guests who don't bring their own boats, there are several kayak rental places nearby. We hope to see you and your friends next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    62
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
83
73
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

No fancy hotel, just nice apartment-style rooms with efficiency kitchens and plenty of room. My two boys enjoyed the pool and we had a good two night stay. The pull out bed's mattress wasn't too great but overall, everything met our expectations. If you have a boat, they have a dock to use too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, Manager at King's Bay Lodge, responded to this review, October 9, 2014
Dear Randy, Thank you for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed our "Old Florida" relaxation and your boys had fun. We offer free docking for our guests and hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Great place for couples, family with small kids or teens. Right on the river, outdoor covered picnic areas with BBQ grills available. Pool is fed by river water, so you swim with small little fish above a lush seagrass bottom. Close to Manatee tour operators and restaurants. Staff is friendly, place is simple, but clean. they have a dock and fish cleaning station.

Room Tip: ask to be close to the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BineQuilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, Manager at King's Bay Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you Sabine for your great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our Old Florida pool is a favorite of our guests and our fish cleaning station was recently upgraded. I also appreciate your kind words for our staff.

Wow! Thanks for submitting such a great sunset picture. I hope it brings back happy memories.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We (2 adults and 2 young teens) stayed here 2 nights in April 2014 based on the reviews from others on tripadvisor. We will definitely stay here again should we come back to CR (and we plan too).
The room (an efficiency apartment) was spacious and clean. The bathroom had recently been remodeled and was very nice. The little kitchenette with full-sized fridge was great to have. Each unit is different and some may be much nicer than others, but after speaking with the manager, I understand that she has been pushing for the owners to update everything, so they all might be similar soon (if they are not already).
The location is great: right on the water at the north end of the bay. There is a boat dock with free slips for guests, and a covered dock for a little extra (I think it was $5 a day - super cheap). You can walk to plenty of good places to eat and/or take snorkeling manatee trips or whatever you are interested in.
The old Florida pool is very cool. It is spring fed and flows into the bay strong enough that water only goes one way even though the pool level is dependent on the tide. The water is crystal clear. At very high tide it looked to be about 4 or 5 feet to the tops of the hydrilla? plants on the bottom. It was more like 9+... almost unbelievable how clear it is. I think you could drink it right out of the pool.
My wife is a corporate traveler and stays at very nice places. As such I was concerned about staying at a mom-and-pop local style old motel. She loved it too. I give it 4 stars only because I reserve the 5th for only the very best POSH stuff. The rate is very reasonable and well worth it.

Room Tip: Room 16 (on the end of the south building) was a great room with a very clean and new bathroom. Plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tb420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, Manager at King's Bay Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you TB for your awesome review. We are very glad you took the time to describe our lovely efficiency apartments.

We think our waterfront location is special too. Guests enjoy walking around our historic neighborhood to bars, restaurants, parks and shopping.

Our Old Florida pool is one of the last remaining spring fed pools in the state. We are glad you and other guests appreciate its unique nature.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The furniture etc. are not the newest but who goes to stay in the room? The spring fed pool is great when the water is up; sometimes it's low. The atmosphere is definitely laid back. It's a great place to bring the boat and go fishing; and bar hop by boat at night. After a long day in the sun fishing that cool water in the pool is just the ticket. I'll go back for the convenience of it all.

Room Tip: We stayed in a middle room and it was just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanda1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, Manager at King's Bay Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you Wanda for your lovely review. Our guests appreciate our laid back atmosphere and vintage vibe. We are so glad you enjoyed relaxing in the pool and the local establishments in our neighborhood. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Absolutely perfect! Tracy is so welcoming. We had rooms 4 & 5 - more than adequate for our family of 4 + 2 kids. We fell in love with this place and the locals, so we just had to have an extra night. The eco pool is unique, and Cpt White's Tour & Swimming with Manatees is AWESOME!
the only down side is having to leave!!!!! If you are visiting Orlando and want a mid holiday break away from the madding crowds then this is it. Two hour drive from Magic Kingdom to bliss.......
********** W E W I L L R E T U R N **********

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumonyooreds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, Manager at King's Bay Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Wow! Thank you for your kind words. We are glad your stay was perfect.

We are happy you enjoyed the Nature Coast. Guests come from all over the world to interact with the manatees in Crystal River and Captain White provides an awesome experience for his guests.

We are glad your stay at Kings Bay Lodge was so special. We hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Crystal River is the type of place where you want to stay in local places, eat homemade food and enjoy the small town life!

When I looked for hotels in the area, Kings Bay Lodge looked just what I wanted. And it was exactly what I was looking for.

The tiny motel is right on the water and totally reminded me of the type of places my parents used to take my brother and me when we traveled in my youth, so it was kind of a memory lane trip as well.

The rooms are not your standard 2 beds cramped in a small area with a tv on one side, but really spacious. Our room had 3 beds, a dining room, full kitchen, large living and sitting area, a walk in closet and great bathroom.

And the price super affordable.

Plus, outside there was a natural spring pool right on the bay. We were there during a cold front, but otherwise my kids were desperate to get in.

And the location was extremely central - 5 minutes from Heritage Village and close to the Manatee tours.

Check out photos and video of our stay at Kings Bay Lodge on my blog:
http://travelexperta.com/2014/02/fun-searching-crystal-river-florida-hotels.html

Definitely one of the best options for places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travel_Experta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy W, Manager at King's Bay Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. Kings Bay Lodge operates 18 efficiency apartments and guests appreciate the extra room and the quiet, laid back atmosphere. Our walking neighborhood is very popular with our guests and our waterfront location is ideal for manatee tours. We often arrange tours for our guests, even private tours. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
1.1 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
343 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
801 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
263 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Bay Lodge

Property: King's Bay Lodge
Address: 506 NW 1st Ave, Crystal River, FL 34428-4002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — King's Bay Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WATERFRONT EFFICIENCY SUITES on the pristine waterfront of the Crystal River. SPECIAL RATES FOR GROUPS AND LONGER STAYS. We offer 18 fully-equipped, individually owned, efficiency suites which sleep up to four people. Our convenient kitchenettes are equipped with a microwave, full-size refrigerator, coffeemaker and range. All units are located on the ground level and provide parking directly outside the door. Guests enjoy free Wi-Fi, cable-television, air-conditioning, ceiling fans and boat docking. A fish-cleaning station is available for all lucky fishermen. Our sunsets are awesome. Enjoy the natural beauty of the Nature Coast on our quiet street, with giant live oaks draped in Spanish moss .... Swim with the manatees or in our unique Old Florida natural spring-fed swimming pool. Enjoy kayaking, fresh or saltwater fishing, scalloping or sailing. The area is perfect for wildlife enthusiasts and in close proximity to Three Sisters Spring. Our lodge is within walking distance to restaurants, bars, antique stores and shopping. Boat and kayak rentals, manatee tours, scuba diving facilities, bike/walking paths, parks, historical and archaeological attractions, horseback riding, gulf coast beaches and golf are located nearby. All rooms are non-smoking. Sorry, no pets are allowed. Special rates are available for groups and for extended stays. Please contact us for pricing and availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your King's Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Bay Hotel Crystal River
Kings Bay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing