We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We go here at least twice a year!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Port Hotel and Marina
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We go here at least twice a year!!”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our friends from England come here every year with us. Wouldn't stay any where else in Crystal River!! The view is awesome! We saw dozens and dozens of Manatee and some Dolphin right at our feet, without having to get in a boat! The STAFF is the best!! Very helpful and pleasant! The grassy area in front of our room is great for playing corn hole and building a contained fire! I love that, for a fee, we can bring our dog, he is a part of our family.
However, the rooms would turn a lot of people away! Our bedspread had multiple stains on it. Time to throw it away! Our room was clean, but needs work. The hotel needs some work too. On the good side, the day we were leaving, they were pressure washing and preparing to paint. Our room did have new carpet, but they need some rugs outside the doors to wipe your feet. The fish at the restaurant was good. My husband said the Ribeye steak was not very good and a little pricy.
With that being said, we will definitely be back in November!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!

Room Tip: Get in the "A" building!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplerfarm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Greetings Triplerfarm4, thank you for staying with us every year. It's our pleasure having you as our guest at the Port Hotel and we look forward to serving you the next visit to Crystal River. We appreciate your kind comments about our property and staff. Again thank you, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    92
    83
    48
    69
See reviews for
87
130
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

If what you care about is a beautiful Old Florida location and a clean, comfortable room with good service, then this place is great for you. If you want a room that doesn't have an occasional paint chip, an old (but perfectly clean) bathtub, a tiny bit of discolored grout and you have to have a $200 shower head, then get a room somewhere else.

The staff is friendly and there's coffee and Little Debbies (though I didn't eat them) in the office every morning. Nothing fancy, but just wonderful. We'll be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
MannyG, Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to see you enjoyed our hotel. We appreciate your comments , and if your travel plans bring you back to Crystal River, we hope you will stay with us again. Thank you, Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Biggest bang for your buck. They have the best view and the closest experience to the manatees. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The bar was good and the room has all of your basic needs. Although the owner NEEDS to update the rooms, and it wouldn't take much, but they are way outdated and could use some repairs and maintenance. If you are just looking for a inexpensive place to sleep and spend the day enjoying the manatees, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Don't focus on the rooms but rather the location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diversmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Diversmiles, thank you very much for finding our hotel and taking the time to recommend us to others. Management has been working on improvements to the Port Hotel. We look forward on serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Wasn't as bad as I expected.
Hotel was built for short people in the stone age and they have not updated since then.
That aside, I like this place.
I have stayed here several times.
Place to sleep on the water with a bar downstairs.
CAUTION: Bar closes early!
Staff was nice, place was clean enough.
You want a Hampton Inn, go to the Hampton Inn over on the highway.
If you want old school Florida character with a dock, come here.
A good swimmer could swim to King Spring from the dock.

Room Tip: Second floor for sure.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Robert B, Thank you for giving our hotel a chance. Our management has been in the process of making repairs and hope the next time your visiting Crystal River you will come and stay with us again. We value our guest opinions and appreciate your honesty, again thank you and hope to see you again. Thanks Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place is a little funky and old but the rooms were clean and big. Had everything we needed. Ours opened up right onto the banks of the river. It's only 5 minutes to Capt. Mike's Sunshine River Tours where we did an early morning manatee swim (awesome).
Good price, friendly people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashevillejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Room is mediocre a little musty, the view was amazing we had plenty of manatees and a pod of dolphins swam through playing and having fun. The hotel restaurant had great food we all cleaned our plates.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zelvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have stayed at this place on and off for 30 years, it's time has passed. They have a great location, bar and restaurant but the hotel itself should be bulldozed. It is substandard. Our bed was terrible, the room was filthy and needed a lot of repairs and the plumbing doesn't work properly. I had hoped that the owner was going to make some honest improvements but it isn't happening.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mlk7408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
MLK7408
We are really sorry for bad experience with one of our Room during your stay at The Port Hotel and Marina. Management is been working on improvements. We have recently changed carpet and mattresses at Port Hotel. We are working on necessary improvements as well. We apologize for inconvenience you had. Please give us a chance in future.

Thank You
JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crystal River hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crystal River hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
609 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
754 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Plantation on Crystal River
Plantation on Crystal River
#3 of 9 in Crystal River
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel and Marina

Property: The Port Hotel and Marina
Address: 1610 S.E. Paradise Circle, Crystal River, FL 34429
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Port Hotel and Marina 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Hotel & Marina is a bustling Waterside Resort Located On Florida's Outstanding Waterways.This resort located on 7-acres has provided a scenic hideaway for the last 50 years.Tourists come to the waterside resort to dive in the fresh springs and experience some of the most exciting manatee diving in the world.• Dive Center• Manatee Tours• Boat Rental• Boat Ramp• Swimming Pool• Ale House Restaurant• Tiki Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Port Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing