We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We go here at least twice a year!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Port Hotel and Marina
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Our friends from England come here every year with us. Wouldn't stay any where else in Crystal River!! The view is awesome! We saw dozens and dozens of Manatee and some Dolphin right at our feet, without having to get in a boat! The STAFF is the best!! Very helpful and pleasant! The grassy area in front of our room is great for playing corn hole and building a contained fire! I love that, for a fee, we can bring our dog, he is a part of our family.
However, the rooms would turn a lot of people away! Our bedspread had multiple stains on it. Time to throw it away! Our room was clean, but needs work. The hotel needs some work too. On the good side, the day we were leaving, they were pressure washing and preparing to paint. Our room did have new carpet, but they need some rugs outside the doors to wipe your feet. The fish at the restaurant was good. My husband said the Ribeye steak was not very good and a little pricy.
With that being said, we will definitely be back in November!!!!!!!!!!!!! LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!

Room Tip: Get in the "A" building!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triplerfarm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Greetings Triplerfarm4, thank you for staying with us every year. It's our pleasure having you as our guest at the Port Hotel and we look forward to serving you the next visit to Crystal River. We appreciate your kind comments about our property and staff. Again thank you, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 354 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

If what you care about is a beautiful Old Florida location and a clean, comfortable room with good service, then this place is great for you. If you want a room that doesn't have an occasional paint chip, an old (but perfectly clean) bathtub, a tiny bit of discolored grout and you have to have a $200 shower head, then get a room somewhere else.

The staff is friendly and there's coffee and Little Debbies (though I didn't eat them) in the office every morning. Nothing fancy, but just wonderful. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

MannyG, Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to see you enjoyed our hotel. We appreciate your comments , and if your travel plans bring you back to Crystal River, we hope you will stay with us again. Thank you, Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Biggest bang for your buck. They have the best view and the closest experience to the manatees. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The bar was good and the room has all of your basic needs. Although the owner NEEDS to update the rooms, and it wouldn't take much, but they are way outdated and could use some repairs and maintenance. If you are just looking for a inexpensive place to sleep and spend the day enjoying the manatees, then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Don't focus on the rooms but rather the location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diversmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Diversmiles, thank you very much for finding our hotel and taking the time to recommend us to others. Management has been working on improvements to the Port Hotel. We look forward on serving you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Wasn't as bad as I expected.
Hotel was built for short people in the stone age and they have not updated since then.
That aside, I like this place.
I have stayed here several times.
Place to sleep on the water with a bar downstairs.
CAUTION: Bar closes early!
Staff was nice, place was clean enough.
You want a Hampton Inn, go to the Hampton Inn over on the highway.
If you want old school Florida character with a dock, come here.
A good swimmer could swim to King Spring from the dock.

Room Tip: Second floor for sure.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Robert B, Thank you for giving our hotel a chance. Our management has been in the process of making repairs and hope the next time your visiting Crystal River you will come and stay with us again. We value our guest opinions and appreciate your honesty, again thank you and hope to see you again. Thanks Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This place is a little funky and old but the rooms were clean and big. Had everything we needed. Ours opened up right onto the banks of the river. It's only 5 minutes to Capt. Mike's Sunshine River Tours where we did an early morning manatee swim (awesome).
Good price, friendly people.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashevillejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Room is mediocre a little musty, the view was amazing we had plenty of manatees and a pod of dolphins swam through playing and having fun. The hotel restaurant had great food we all cleaned our plates.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zelvia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have stayed at this place on and off for 30 years, it's time has passed. They have a great location, bar and restaurant but the hotel itself should be bulldozed. It is substandard. Our bed was terrible, the room was filthy and needed a lot of repairs and the plumbing doesn't work properly. I had hoped that the owner was going to make some honest improvements but it isn't happening.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mlk7408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

MLK7408
We are really sorry for bad experience with one of our Room during your stay at The Port Hotel and Marina. Management is been working on improvements. We have recently changed carpet and mattresses at Port Hotel. We are working on necessary improvements as well. We apologize for inconvenience you had. Please give us a chance in future.

Thank You
JP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal River
1.2 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
272 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
841 reviews
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
657 reviews
13.8 mi away
Dinner Bell Motel
Dinner Bell Motel
#2 of 3 in Dunnellon
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel and Marina

Address: 1610 SE Paradise Cir, Crystal River, FL 34429-4621
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range: $82 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Port Hotel and Marina 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Hotel & Marina is a bustling Waterside Resort Located On Florida's Outstanding Waterways.This resort located on 7-acres has provided a scenic hideaway for the last 50 years.Tourists come to the waterside resort to dive in the fresh springs and experience some of the most exciting manatee diving in the world.• Dive Center• Manatee Tours• Boat Rental• Boat Ramp• Swimming Pool• Ale House Restaurant• Tiki Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Port Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing