We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Florida and Nature Coast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Port Hotel and Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Port Hotel and Marina
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Old Florida and Nature Coast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

If you are a fan of the way Florida was many years ago you will love your visit here. Crystal River is uniquely situated 8 miles from the coast and surrounded by tropical woodlands and bayou. If you are looking to spend time here it is likely because of the Manatees. The Manatees are plentiful, the springs are clear and the hotel staff are exceptionally accommodating and friendly. The hotel boasts larger waterfront rooms, a dive shop, a waterfront restaurant, a marina, and reasonable pricing on rooms, snorkel tours and food. It is simple to get to from Orlando and a great place to decompress. Exceptional value for the price! I will stay here again!

Room Tip: All rooms have a nice view of the river but the "a" wing has an unobstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    90
    81
    47
    69
See reviews for
86
127
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

Headed back to the Port Hotel this December / 2012 - after Christmas to snorkel with the manatees. This will be my 4th stay in the last 5 years. Great location on the water; I rent my pontoon from the dive shop and head out to King Springs and Three Sisters. From what you will read in the other reviews - this is not a new place, but very clean, comfortable, reasonably priced and YES - Elvis did stay here - even though that section no longer exist.

I have taken my sons here and now taking my grandkids here. Excellent location to everything.

If you are looking for a room with a great view of the sunset, this is the place. To counter some other comment about not being per friendly, I did not find that to be the case. My nephew, his wife and son joined me here two years ago. They brought their dog and there was never an issue. The front office was very friendly and welcomed the dog in a warm manner.

Just understand this is not a 5 Star hotel or intended to be. What was 5 Star was their service and attitude. Good Southern hospitality. You should expect nothing less. Enjoy - I did and will for the years to come.

Diver0529

Oh - make sure you eat at Dan's Clam Shack - best shrimp in the area and you have to have breakfast at Granny's - but go hungry!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diver0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place had very simple rooms. They were dated, but clean and comfy. The resturant was great. Staff was very helpful. The continental breakfast could use,a,few more options other than bananas, apples and Little Debbie snacks. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank iowatraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Yes this is an older place and I read a few bad review on it but we took the chance. Our rooms were just fine, as I said older, but good bang for your money. We stayed three nights and had no problems. The view out our window of the marina and bay were great (although Friday night bar got a little loud), we stayed Wed.-Fri. Friday morning we got up early (made arrangements the day before at the dive shop) and took kayaks out to see wildlife and saw lots of Manatees, fish and birds.
The staff was very helpful with the kayak and local information.
We plan on returning next year! Thanks

Room Tip: We stayed in building D overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeb_Cedar_Swamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had 2 nights here in a room overlooking Crystal River - the view was incredible - beautiful quiet location with great access to the river - hired a boat for the afternoon and saw some great sights including manatees, dolphins and alligators :-)

The hotel was clean and comfortable regardless of the fact it all looked a bit 'tired'

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank You very much for your review and sharing your wonderful experience with Port Hotel and Marina. We appreciate your business. We are working our best to make positive changes and improving place. Will be looking forward to see you back soon...Thank You..JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

The historic hotel is in need of some renovation, but our room, on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool, was acceptable and the beds were VERY comfortable (and new we were told). The restaurant had great food and live music most nights. The rates per night were inexpensive. My husband and I were the only 2 on this stay, and we enjoyed every minute of it! My recommendation: Go to Three Sisters. The water is the clearest I have ever seen in my life. We went in August and although the temps were in the 90s, the water at Three Sisters was quite chilly. One important thing if you go to Three Sisters: you can not step foot on the surrounding preservation land or anchor a boat to it in any way. This sounds like a small detail, but after we rented a canoe at the Port Marina, including an anchor, and paddled to Three Sisters, we realized how creative you must be to get out of a canoe with no beach. Ah, but wait...then you have to get back into the canoe! We managed to find a small area of land where we got back into our canoe safely after viewing the gorgeous natural springs below. Words can not describe the beauty of the 3 springs below the water. Next time we go, and we will, we have a plan: Trailer a larger boat or carry an inflatable one in the car, and paddle to the same Three Sisters. However, we will anchor our boat just outside the entrance to the area and float in on rafts. That is your best bet if you want to enjoy the beauty of this special place. Oh, and although this is the only place in the US where you can swim with manatees, we did not see any at that time, but we only stayed for 3 days. And we're from Fort Myers and have seen manatees before. That was not our reason for going. There are many more areas to explore and we only scratched the surface. The staff was very nice and if you can overlook a few areas in need of updating then this is the place for you. No suits and ball gowns allowed. We loved it and will be back as soon as we buy a boat!

Room Tip: The 2nd floor has a lot of steps, so if you'll be coming and going a lot with heavy items, defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We, at The Port Hotel and Marina are working on improving the place from where we are right now. Hop to see you very soon...JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This establishment should just be bulldozed and start over...upon arriving the room was dark, dank, no air was turned on for my reservation. There were dead bed bugs in the blanket...none that I could see were alive..the carpets were nasty, the tub dirty, maybe they ran out of bleach that day...the microwave was greasy and smelled like old pizza rolls....the restaurant the first night was awesome, and then was downhill don't get the roast beef...or the chicken wings...both were tough which is hard to do....they should just make this a fishing camp...period....oh and on Saturday night at 12 am had to call the front desk as drunkards with a loose pit bull reigned terror in the empty restaurant outdoor seating area....

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank northjersey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
porthotel, Manager at The Port Hotel and Marina, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are really very sorry for you having such experience with Port Hotel and Marina. We are working our best to make changes and improving place. We recently changed mattresses, furniture and still working on things which are needs to be taken care of. We apologies for such an experience. .....JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Crystal River hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal River
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Crystal River Resort
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
10.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Port Hotel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Port Hotel and Marina

Property: The Port Hotel and Marina
Address: 1610 S.E. Paradise Circle, Crystal River, FL 34429
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Port Hotel and Marina 1.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Port Hotel & Marina is a bustling Waterside Resort Located On Florida's Outstanding Waterways.This resort located on 7-acres has provided a scenic hideaway for the last 50 years.Tourists come to the waterside resort to dive in the fresh springs and experience some of the most exciting manatee diving in the world.• Dive Center• Manatee Tours• Boat Rental• Boat Ramp• Swimming Pool• Ale House Restaurant• Tiki Bar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Port Hotel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port Hotel Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing