We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crackers Bar & Grill is for locals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crackers Bar & Grill

Crackers Bar & Grill
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Crackers Bar & Grill is for locals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is a reasonably priced restaurant with a lot of seafood. They have special drinks and entrees every night. This is not fine dining. It is very popular and usually busy for lunch and dinner. Best time to go is between lunch and dinner if you want to avoid the crowd. In the summer they have add a Tiki Bar and band so it's a place to meet and greet. Has a nice view of the Crystal River harbor.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    539
    317
    107
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
210 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great seafood at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I went here with friends after swimming with manatees, and it was wonderful. We sat outside by the water, and the view was beautiful. The Grouper Reuben was fantastic, and the beer was ice cold (and at a great price!). Service was fast and friendly. I will definitely go back and I highly recommend it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“We used to go once a week....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Crackers used to be our favorite casual restaurant in Crystal River. We'd usually go every Saturday evening. We haven't been back in awhile because of the simple fact that we just can't get in, especially during the "snowbird season". The food is good, but I think the fact that it is one of the few places right on the water, with a fantastic view, that everyone and anyone now goes to Crackers. If you do go, you can eat at the bar, FYI....which we have had to do the last few visits.
Or go early or late during the week. Weekends are jam packed from lunch through dinner, as they usually have a band outside.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDecorator99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Crackers, great place to dine and meet friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Very nice place, lots of great food and drinks and lots of people, lots of people.
Great place in Crystal River

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Are these people all drunk?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile


The place was packed on a Saturday afternoon at 4 o'clock, so it must be good, right? Wrong....

I ordered sautéed bay scallops and a baked potato, my friend got grilled shrimp. The scallops were a pile of under/over cooked,boiled with yellow juice surrounding the spread; nary a caramelized speck on any. Potato wouldn't melt the room temperature margarine. The shrimp were rubber on the outside and the inner butterfly was sushi. We sent all the food back separately and refused to risk anything further. We were surprised that even after the second plate went back no manager showed up to right the situation. Luckily, though, we were presented with a bill of $5.50 for our iced teas.

Honestly, all those patrons have to be drunk to think this a good place to eat.

Helpful?
Thank gymlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crackers Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Crackers Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing