We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place!”

Charlie's Fish House
Ranked #8 of 100 Restaurants in Crystal River
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The food was good and the service was excellent! Our waitress, Donna, found out it was my birthday, so when she brought over our desserts to go she had a little cup of whipped cream with a candle and had the staff sing Happy Birthday to me. It was extremely nice and thoughtful and very much appreciated!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtraveler_109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    292
    188
    70
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Place To Chow Down”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

LARGE restaurant. Food was good, prices ok. Waitress seemed distracted but gave us good service overall. Could maybe sharpen her interpersonal skills a bit.

TVs everywhere were a blessing to some, kind of a distraction if ya want to schmooze a pretty wife.

All-in-all, a pretty good dinner at an ok price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Good food, especially for the price. Beware though, they don't give you real butter.... Even when you order crab legs! They serve crab legs with melted margarine! Seafood definitely deserves real butter; it took a great experience to just good. Also, not the best service. Our waitress got our order wrong, didn't check in until late in the meal and seemed to be run down.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Allie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not so great”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The food was less than average and the drinks were horrible. The service was okay, nothing special. The restaurant was clean and we were seated immediately even though we had a fairly large group. My husband and another family member were drinking water and after their glasses were refilled they found that they were drinking soapy water. The waitress apologized and brought new glasses but it was unsettling to say the least.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohsnapanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great fish quality, but spoilt by everything else”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very busy restaurant, so is clearly popular. We were given a table inside, although there are some tables on the terrace nicely overlooking the water. The food was served promptly and service was quite attentive, albeit brusque.

We were a party of five and had starters and entrees. Some of the dishes we rated as very good: e.g., coconut shrimp, crab cakes, fried shrimp. The fish served was clearly of an very good quality, but was in our opinion spoilt by flavouring and the sides, which were unexceptional, stodgy and in some cases, e.g. the fries, had added flavours which none of us liked at all. Salmon special was meaty, but not that tasty.

Our overall opinion was that we could get better meals elsewhere at the price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie's Fish House also viewed

 

Been to Charlie's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing