We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Unforgettable visit with the gentle giants on their own terms

I did an early morning snorkel trip with the manatees at the beginning of Nov. I had an excellent... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
A L
,
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Wonderful Experience!

We did the swim with the Manatees and had a great time. With both a great driver and guide I don't... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 5 days ago
LindaofKC
Read all 1,370 reviews
  
Reviews (1,370)
Filter reviews
1,211 results
Traveler rating
1,138
48
12
6
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,138
48
12
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captain steve donuts manatee tour hot drinks a great experience three sisters early morning dive shop early tour flash drive manatee swim these guys making sure wet suits bucket list snorkel gear these gentle giants
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,211 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

I did an early morning snorkel trip with the manatees at the beginning of Nov. I had an excellent time. Guide Brody and captain Cody were professionally, friendly and knowledgeable trip leaders. After checking in, getting wet suits and watching a video on manatee etiquette, we cruised out in the dark to find the gentle giants. We made our way back into Crystal Bay and we found 2 manatees - a mother and pup(?). The water was clear and we were able to swim with and observe them up close. The pup was very playful and curious. A real treat was seeing the mother nurse the pup. Brodie and Cody provided lots of background information on the manatees, the habitat and other wildlife. Brodie captured many good photos and videos. We spent about 1.5 hours or more in the water. I highly recommend the early morning trip for the small group size and how much time we had alone with the manatees before the other boats arrived. All in all, my experience with Bird's Underwater was great. Looking forward to the next time!

1  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana. O, Owner at Bird's Underwater, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I'm very sure this description will be helpful to others and it is kind of you to take the time to inform them and compliment us with your 5 star rating. We will always strive to do our best for our customers and of course our resident manatees, hope you can come again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We did the swim with the Manatees and had a great time. With both a great driver and guide I don't think the swim could have been any better. We went on the early swim and the water was clear and we saw 3 Manatees and we're really close to them. If we ever get to go again I definitely will use this company.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank LindaofKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana. O, Owner at Bird's Underwater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Don't say IF, most people return with their children, trust me, even if you don't have any kids yet, you will be back. Bring your grandma, life is too short and busy not to swim with manatees.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Its an early and still dark start to get on the 6 am tour but so worth it to be pretty much first out on the river meeting the manatees!
Great, friendly and knowledgeable staff made our experience fun and as non-intrusive as possible for the manatees. Everything was very professional and respectful of their space and behaviour.
Highly recommend.

1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana. O, Owner at Bird's Underwater, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We always seek to achieve the balance between your ability to see the manatees, and giving space to the animals. It's their home, they call the shots. You were right to come on the 6:00 am, which means a lot more in the height of the season. As the morning goes on, not only does it become more crowded, but the manatees focus more on moving out and eating if weather allows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a great time, enjoyed the tour very much. The staff was knowledgeable and very friendly, they did there upmost best to make this experience super special for everybody on the tour.

Thank Jeannettev217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Captain Glenn and Guide Bree were professional and knowledgeable. They made certain My husband and I had a wonderful time celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary by experiencing something from my lifetime bucket list, swimming with wild manatees. I thought the courtesy captain Glenn showed the other captains was admirable. A very well run organization. Bree took extra efforts to point out nursing calves
and mothers, and her photos were awesome. Thanks to all.

1  Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana. O, Owner at Bird's Underwater, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks to you as well. Did your husband get you the Bucket List T-shirt for your anniversary, ha ha,
Indeed, swimming with manatees is a good way to spend the day, hopefully you ended it with that candle light dinner!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I used another company and had a great experience and decided to try this company too since they take such pride in "being the first" to give manatee tours. Big mistake! Make sure you wear your swimsuit under your clothing (which I did) because you change into your wetsuit in the middle of the gift shop in front of everyone. The mandatory educational video on "manatee manners" is great...too bad the boat captain was encouraging all the swimmers to TOUCH the manatees if they even happen to be close to you...this in NOT having a manatee initiate contact with you...therefore you are not supposed to touch them. Can't believe this guy/captain was actually yelling out GERMANY - touch the manatee - ENGLAND - touch the manatee....give me a break...there is a clear difference between a manatee initiating contact & merely being around you because they have to adapt to all these people around them while they are just trying to survive and live their life. You change out of your wetsuit on the boat before you return to dock (awkward). The guide took a few pics and no video - I paid a higher price than the "other company" and got a WAY fewer pics (like a handful) and no video. The boats look worn out. I would NOT recommend this company and was pretty disgusted by the captain's incorrect and harming interpretation of interacting with the manatees.

Thank hrhdenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great experience and got great advice from the folks at Bird’s. We went out early but we had the manatees all to ourselves in crystal clear water. Top notch outfit!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Nomad35927911037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana. O, Owner at Bird's Underwater, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are very grateful, but must remind the readers that the early tour is at 6:00 am, that is your best chance of having some quiet time with the manatee, the price you pay sometimes, and the manatees are not always in clear water. From December to March, it is very busy on the river, sanctuaries go up November 15th, but the good news is the cold temperatures are moving manatees into the bay for their winter shelter, and under normal cool conditions we will have hundreds of manatees in the springs. Yea, I love winter!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was fantastic trip with unforgettable experience. Many thanks to our Captain Glenn Wilsey and our Guide Bree!!!! It was real pleasure to spend this time with such freindly and experienced people.. and of course with manatees:))). They made our day!

2  Thank Pioneer64856373139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana. O, Owner at Bird's Underwater, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to let others know, we appreciate our guides and love our manatees and customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was very knowledgeable and funny. They ensured that everyone had the best experience by guiding us towards the manatees. Afterwards they offered hot chocolate and donuts. Swimming with the manatees was so cool as they hung on your legs and were just so friendly. I love this place and will definitely return in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mmundt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana. O, Owner at Bird's Underwater, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sounds like you had a classic winter tour, we are starting to get some of those colder night temperatures. Heads up the readers, you do NOT always have a manatee clinging to your let. When they are playful they can be quite funny and tactile, but this is not always the case, sometimes we just watch them feed or rest in their natural environment, it's a WILD, wild animal encounter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

What an awesome excursion. We went on the first boat out. We saw two mothers and two baby manatees. Going first the water was crystal clear. The boat was great, Paul, the captain, and Robbie our guide was awesome Robbie did an excellent job finding the manatees, pampered us with doughnuts, snacks, hot chocolate and coffee. They were both so nice and knowledgeable. Our entire party said it was something they will never forget. Will do it again. Looking forward to going snorkeling with them in the summer for scallops!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Marsha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana. O, Owner at Bird's Underwater, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

You deserve to be pampered, send your friends, we will order more donuts, we love our customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews