We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots to interest in terms of wildlife - but don't forget the insect repellent!”

Crystal River Perserve State Park Eco-Walk
Solihull
Level Contributor
242 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Lots to interest in terms of wildlife - but don't forget the insect repellent!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

A really enjoyable 2 mile walk, although it seemed longer, partly because we kept stopping and looking at wildlife, which is to be advised. This is not a trail to rush.

A particular highlight were the armadillos. We saw two first of all, at a distance, then one crossed right in front of us, a few feet away, and was far more interested in rustling in the leaves than to worry about us.

A variety of small birds were to be seen, but as always, you need to stop and let them appear, and make the minimum of noise.

We were there about two hours at least and did not wish to hurry, until the insects started on us in the late afternoon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    10
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lady Lake
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“More walk than eco”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The 2 mile walk seemed longer as the "eco" areas were far between and could have had better/more descriptions. Didn't see any wildlife but being a hiker enjoyed the walk anyway. Not a lot of shade along the way and many long spans without interesting information.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ladylake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A nice place to venture to”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

It's a great place to take a walk and experience nature. Make sure you wear a hat and bring suntan lotion and bug spray.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, Ny
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice Easy Trail”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I was visiting my mother and in the area and did not want to walk around the neighborhood any more so I chose this trail instead. Very nice easy walk, plenty of birds - did not see any other wildlife except a tourtise, which was cool. The trail is well marked and very quiet - I was the only person there at the time I went. If you don't have time for anything longer and you want to get out into nature, than this 2.1 mile loop is perfect. The gentleman in the visitors center was a great help too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sOccermOm94_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alligator Point, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“fun walk”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

meet a fellow traveler who told us about his many adventures around the world while he was walking his BIG dog(pet friendly), very informative trail and not much of a challenge.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank floridamama69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal River Perserve State Park Eco-Walk also viewed

 

Been to Crystal River Perserve State Park Eco-Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing