We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience”

Plantation Inn Dive Shop
Ranked #6 of 50 Tours in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Adventure Center at Plantation on Crystal River, where the manatees would need room keys if they where any closer. Endulge yourself with a manatee echo tour or simply rent a boat to visit the Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge, home of the largest concentration of manatee in the world. Crystal River is one of the only locations in the world where man and manatee play. We are a true adventure center offering Manatee Tours, Dive Tours, Padi Scuba Lessons, Boat and Kayak Rentals as well as Fishing and Scallop Charters.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Gillsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Went on a manatee swim with Captain John on April 25. I cannot even begin to share what a great experience it was to be able to swim/see these wonderful creatures. The staff is so friendly, humorous, and helpful. Capt. John's knowledge of the manatees and area was very thorough. The price was very reasonable for the what you receive. The Plantation Inn Dive Shop and manatee swim should not be missed if you are in the area. I rented a pontoon boat from them for the afternoon. The rental was also reasonably priced. We were given a map of the river which was easy to read; the water was fun to explore. This property was the highlight of the veteran's event which I was attending. Keep up the great work.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gillsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    35
    9
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very professional”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Exceeded expectations. Equipment rented was very good quality. Staff was extremely helpful and nice. Prices were reasonable. Would go back again!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orlandoflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience to Snorkel with Manatee”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This was the pinnacle of our vacation that almost didn't happen. Looking for a legitimate company to connect with and that has available space we found to be quite a challenge but we were lucky enough to have been referred to Plantation on Crystal River! Staying in Orlando, the drive took a little longer than we thought, not to mention we got lost along the way and we thought for sure that the tour was going to leave without us since we were almost 30-minutes late in arriving. THANKFULLY though, Captain Ross waited for us and it was so very much appreciated! We know we caused delay for the others on the tour and we were very sorry for that, but Captain Ross and his crew were understanding and held the group until we were able to arrive and suit up for the experience.

This team really has an incredible respect for the Manatee and does everything not only to provide all people with a great experience and a chance to see a manatee up close and personal, but they take the time to educate you on the rights and wrongs and about the importance of respecting this great mammal in their environment.

The fee for the adventure included all equipment necessary to appreciate the experience (snorkel, mask, flippers and even a wetsuit). Hot Chocolate, tea and coffee were also provided to take off the chill. In April most of the Manatee have moved on, but Captain Ross and his crew were able to locate a few of these wonderful creatures and allow everyone on the adventure to see one and experience their gentle nature.

A good under water camera is a solid investment and something that I was glad I had in order to capture a photo of my niece swimming with a manatee. Something she'll have forever along with her memory.

My niece and her best friend had the experience of a lifetime and it almost didn't happen because of our challenging drive. But thankfully Plantation Inn Dive Shop, Captain Ross, Captain Spann and the rest of the team held our reservation and the group for us so that we could have this incredible experience. We will most definitely do this again when we go back to Florida and we'll be sure to leave EXTRA EARLY to ensure we arrive early and respect not only the captain and his crew's time, but also all other adventurers on the experience.

Thank you for the most amazing experience Captain Ross! Plantation In Dive Shop is a Top Notch company with incredible individuals at the helm!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank gnrlmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great trip with Captain Ross”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Lovely experience with the manatees. Professional organization. You can see Captain Ross loves his job.
The best hot chocolate according to my 7-year old son.

Helpful?
Thank Vicky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Up close and personal with Manatees”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Plantation on Crystal River ran a very professional trip. Equipment was in good shape and the staff were helpful. John Spann, our Captain, was very informative and very interested in the preservation of the species and our responsibility as visitors. My wife and I and our 14-year-old daughter went and we call really enjoyed every aspect of the outing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plantation Inn Dive Shop also viewed

 

Been to Plantation Inn Dive Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing