We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Manatee Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Inn Dive Shop

Plantation Inn Dive Shop
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Adventure Center at Plantation on Crystal River, where the manatees would need room keys if they where any closer. Endulge yourself with a manatee echo tour or simply rent a boat to visit the Crystal River National Wildlife Refuge, home of the largest concentration of manatee in the world. Crystal River is one of the only locations in the world where man and manatee play. We are a true adventure center offering Manatee Tours, Dive Tours, Padi Scuba Lessons, Boat and Kayak Rentals as well as Fishing and Scallop Charters.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Lockers / storage, Activities for older children
Greer, South Carolina
1 review
“Awesome Manatee Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Awesome!!! One can not begin to explain how awesome these creatures are until you have the experience to share their environment with them. Our tour with the Plantation Dive Shop began with them providing all the necessary equipment to be with the manatees. The equipment was in excellent condition and worked very well. Our captain Greg Harris was excellent in pointing out and educating us on differnt aspects of the aninmals. He joined us in the water on the dive and was very helpful in locating the manatees. If anyone has the oportunity to have this experience they should not pass it up. Thanks Plantation Dive Shop and Greg Harris. I'll be back!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gene w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Plantation Inn Dive Shop, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for sharing your expereience. We try to keep our equipment in the best shape possible. The new 5mm BARE wetsuit sure are nice on the colder mornings. I will make sure Captain Greg gets a chance to read your review.
Thanks again for sharing!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    567
    28
    7
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
1 review
“Absolutly Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Plantation Dive Shop and Captain Greg Harris provide an outstanding manatee adventure. The captain also acts as your in water guide so you don't miss anything or get lost. There can be a lot of people in the water and how he keeps track of everyone is unbelievable. Three Sister Spring is a popular site and if you can be there at high tide, the springs are full of manatee to interact with. TWO THUMBS UP !!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandyG47320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Plantation Inn Dive Shop, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to pass this on to Captain Greg. Greg has been with us for over 10 years and we are happy to have him. He is one of our leaders on the team. We feel getting in the water with the customers enhance the overall experiecne.
Thanks Again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must do Manatee Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Capt. John Spann was the best! He was very knowledgeable about manatees, the area of Crystal River and shared his passion with us. He also got in the water with us and didn't stay on the boat like some of the other tour companies there. He did a very professional job. The manatees swim right up to you and you can gently pet them. Capt. John let us take our time with them, not feeling rushed. The wetsuits kept you warm and buoyant. We visited 2 areas and on the way back to the dock, we had fresh towels, a choice of hot chocolate, coffee or hot tea. Overall, the experience was like nothing ever done before. Everyone must do a manatee tour and Capt. John will definitely make your experience an unforgettable one.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Plantation Inn Dive Shop, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I will mkae sure Captain John has a chance to view your kind words. He is a great team member and we are glad to have him on our staff. We do feel we can better serve our groups by getting in the water being by your side.

Thanks Again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My daughters and I went to visit the manatees this weekend with Plantation Inn Dive Shop ~ it was an excellent adventure!

Many thanks to Capt. Ross for taking such great care of my daughters and I and allowing my little one to cling to him.

The weather was frigid but the hot chocolate and dry towels on the boat was a major plus!

The crew at this dive shop are knowledgeable, cognizant and respectful of these beautiful creatures.

Can't wait to return!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mingercat8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Plantation Inn Dive Shop, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I will make sure Ross has a chance to read your review. We are lucky to have him on our team. It truley reflects how much Ross loves his job. Hope you can come again some day!!

Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Once in a lifetime interaction with nature!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Cross this one off my bucket list....well not really because I plan to comeback again! Caption John was awesome! It was a rather chilly day but the water was pleasantly warm. Our interaction with manatees was incredible! So glad to see the plantation dive shop respects the rules of manatee interactions unlike some other excersions we witnessed! Will def come back!

Helpful?
Thank Diane1Allentown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul C, Manager at Plantation Inn Dive Shop, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. The best comment we can get is one that states we respect the manatees. We realize it is the education that produces the sustainabilty we need in our industry. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plantation Inn Dive Shop also viewed

 

Been to Plantation Inn Dive Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing