We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manatee Trip”

Manatee Fun Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$89.04*
and up
Premium Houseboat Manatee Swim in Crystal River
Ranked #5 of 51 Tours in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Manatee Fun Tours offers Private and Semi-Private Manatee Tours Only! Snorkel with manatee in Crystal River Fl. This is a privately owned company who will put your fun experiences first. We offer A Big Fun Manatee Tour on an enclosed house style boat. Snorkel and Swim with manatee, then relax in an enclosed cabin which is warmer and more comfortable than an open pontoon or a curtain sided boat. You will still get a bit chilly, but you won't freeze. We also use 3-5mm wet-suits for added comfort This is a true private manatee tour for just you and your family. We also have a premium tour option and see manatees in luxury! We make this an experience of a lifetime no matter which tour you choose. Call or email for a prompt response, We have the coolest boat on the bay!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Manatee Trip”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Captain Broderick did a great job at finding friendly manatees. Who knew? We swam with manatees who were truly curious about us and fearless as well. This had something to do with the fact that we were a party of two and that Captain Broderick took us to an area that was not teaming with other people. It was a wonderful and unforgettable experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lawol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broderick J, Owner at Manatee Fun Tours, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Unforgettable experience seems to be a common theme among everyone who visits this area. It is truely fantastic and hopefully if respected properly can conitnue to be shared with generations to come.

Please visit us again.

Captain Broderick your "Big Fun Manatee Tour Guide"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    9
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AMAZING TOUR”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Captain Broderick is a GREAT tour guide. He was very friendly and knowledgeable. Also it is best to do a private tour. A lot of other tours have 10 to 15 other people at once trying to swim with the manatees which means less manatee time for each person in your group. Captain Broderick took us to great places before the other tours got there and we got a lot of private time with the manatees. His boat is also very comfortable and cute. You should definitely book with Captain Broderick.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cathy z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broderick J, Owner at Manatee Fun Tours, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Amazing tour with Amazing people................ What more can I say. Thank you for the reccomendation. We promise all our future customers that we will do our best to entertain you with respect to the gentle giants of course! Without the beautiful wildlife in Crystal River non of this would mean a thing.. Hats off to FWS and all involved in preserving this natural habitat.

Captain Broderick your "Big Fun Manatee Tour Guide"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Private manatee tour and swim”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Capt. Broderick took us aboard his cozy little enclosed boat for a private manatee tour in Crystal River. He took us to several different spots and we got to swim with lots of manatees. It was a great experience! Capt. Broderick was very nice and knowledgeable about the area and wildlife. He took pictures of us with our camera while we were swimming. I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Crystal River!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broderick J, Owner at Manatee Fun Tours, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thanks for your recommendation it was a pleasure having you aboard. Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos, For the record I love the SLR Cameras it was my pleasure helping you capture your memories. Thanks for the kudos!

Captain Broderick your "Big Fun Manatee Tour Guide"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“5 Stars aren't enough”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

To say that Captain Broderick made our trip memorable would be quite an understatement!

The swim: We took a short boat ride, maybe 10 minutes to a small spring. There were only a couple of other boats there, all with small parties, and very few kayaks came by, so it was a very quiet and solemn experience. There were about 10 manatees in all; some were sleeping, and some were very playful! It's almost as if they would take shifts resting and playing around with us!! We spent about an hour in the water before we got a bit too cold (it is January), so we decided to come out. We sat on the boat for quite a while just observing the creatures in their natural habitat, also interacting with the few other swimmers. It truly was enchanting.

The guide: Captain Broderick made it very clear that he was not only concerned with the safety and well being of the animals, but wanted nothing more than for us to have the experience of a lifetime! He was a very courteous host, provided a nice, clean vessel, and even cited a bit of his own poetry!! When we were getting ready to leave, he even took the time to re-position his boat so that he could take our picture with the spring in the background! He really did go out of his way to make sure we had a wonderful trip!

We will make Crystal River and a manatee swim a regular part of our vacation schedule. I can't speak highly enough of Captain Broderick, and will book with him again in the future. His guided tour is private, personal, and filled with nothing but smiles, manatees, and memories!! If you forget to bring along your laughter don't worry, there is an abundance aboard the boat!!

Don't book with a large party guide who is only interested in money, and will drop you out in the middle of a ton of people with little concern for the animals. Go with someone who cares, like Captain Broderick!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broderick J, Owner at Manatee Fun Tours, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
When dealing with "6" star people it's easy to deliver a five star job. Thank you for being such great guest and allowing me to spend time with you and your family. I am delighted that you will make this an annual tradition and I highly anticipate your return.

Captain Broderick your "Big Fun Manatee Tour Guide"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
“Great Manatee Trip!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great experience swimming with the manatees. The weather was cold and windy when we went so it was nice that Captain Broderick had an enclosed boat to keep us out of the weather. People on other boats around us were freezing while we were toasty warm. Would definitely do it again! Great Trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cruisebrevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broderick J, Owner at Manatee Fun Tours, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
I am pleased that you enjoyed our warm toasty boat, We continue to try to provide services that all guest will enjoy. Look forward to seeing you again.

Captain Broderick your "Big Fun Manatee Tour Guide"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manatee Fun Tours also viewed

 

Been to Manatee Fun Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing