We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go Captain Mike & Captain Stacy!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manatees In Paradise

Manatees In Paradise
Ranked #2 of 50 Tours in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: No Walk-ins Accepted - Small boat tours - We no longer offer tours: June-July-August-September due to the water quality and manatee numbers. Tour Reservation Confirmation Required -We are a private tour company owned and operated ONLY by the owners/captains.We give each tour the "personal and educational" attention you want and allow the manatees to feel comfortable while we explore their world. While on tour if you ask, we'll even explain how manatee rescues are performed and what we do in our spare time as manatee volunteers to help PROTECT and PRESERVE, this incredible species for future generations.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Go Captain Mike & Captain Stacy!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

You guys are simply the best!! We had 3 wonderful hours with Captain Mike and the Manatees. Knowing that it was the end of the season we understood that the Manatee count could be low, but Captain Mike spotted a small group of Manatees, including two babies, and we were lucky to be able to swim with them for about 2 hours. It was amazing. Captain Mike is very knowledgeable about the Manatees and the National Preserve rules/restrictions and was very good about sharing that information with us. He really does put the safety of the Manatees and his clients first. So if you love Manatees than you should book with Captain Mike & Stacy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chevere32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    5
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
“Capt Stacy was wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Lots of information and directions provided. Free parking.

We got underway and learned a lot about both the manatees and the social history of the area that affected their life around Crystal River.

The river was gorgeous. We had a great snorkeling stop off around the springs.

Swimming with the manatees was a once in a lifetime experience. I felt fully prepared and coached by Cpt Stacey. We learned how to safely play with the manatees until we got tired (the manatees didn't).

Can't wait to come back for a winter tour!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RSC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“wonderful manatee experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked the semi-private tour via email. Everything worked out perfect. Capt. Stacy is the best!!! It was such a wonderful experience for all of us. The kids were still telling everybody about it even after we visited the parks in Orlando!
We were very much enjoying the boating trip and the dive to the manatees. Capt. Stacy has been so lovely with the kids and we all had a very good time and learned a lot about the manatees. The tour is really worth it. Don`t miss it!
We really appreciate everything Captains Mike and Stacy did and still do for the manatees as part of the manatee rescue team. It is people like you who make the difference.
Don´t go with the big tour operators. They crowd the springs and some do not take good care of their divers to not harass the animals.
We will definitely love to come back when we visit Florida again.

Sandra and Christoph (Frankfurt / Germany)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra_und_Christoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“THANKS FOR ONE HECK OF A MEMORY STACY!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stacy was so knowledgeable and informative about the manatees and this whole area, it was just an added bonus to this spectacular experience. Her love and devotion to these creatures is quite evident. One thing I would advise though, this is not for children under 5. My child was a quite a distraction from the whole experience. I will return when she is older and can appreciate this as much as I did. Sorry you had to put up with her Stacy - another lesson learned for me!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 83MELANIEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacowgirl, Owner at Manatees In Paradise, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
It was my pleasure, hurry back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just Magical!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Doing your research and choosing the right tour company can make the difference between just an experience and a magical one. Manatees in Paradise are the best at what they do. Capt. Stacy was just spectacular and made the trip a day to remember forever. She knew exactly where the manatees would be this time of year and took her time to explain and teach us all about these wonderful animals. My husband, teenage daughter and myself, learned so much about the manatees on this trip that I was able to spot a monofilament line coming out of a baby manatee's mouth during my swim with it. Capt. Stacy was quick to enter the water and together we were able to take some great pics that she sent to the Crystal River Nat'l Wildlife Refuge who quickly sent someone to assess the manatee's condition. To be part of this rescue was just a wonderful feeling. Cap.t Stacy really cares about the manatees. So many other tour boats are filled with alot of people and are just in it for the money, but Capt. Stacy keeps her tours to only 6 people and really educates you about the manatees so you can pass that along and maintain a healthy and respectful relationship with these magical creatures of the sea. She took us to see wild dolphins and let us swim in the springs as long as we want. There was never a rush. And the great thing is that she has kept me in the loop on the progress of the little manatee. He is doing fine and they will keep monitoring him in the wild since he is still nursing. Not many people will do that. This tour is absolutely special and the cost is very reasonable for what you get. The wetsuits are top notch and I didn't even feel the coldness of the water. Plus, as a bonus, she takes tons and tons of pictures of your trip and emails them by the next day to your email for free. I can't say enough great things about this tour company. Manatees in Paradise are #1 in my book. With them, you will really learn about manatees and get a one on one personal attention from an expert. I can't wait to go back and will be booking with Manatees in Paradise again in the future! Thank you Capt. Stacy for a magical day! We haven't stopped talking about it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank foodiequeen407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manatees In Paradise also viewed

 
Crystal River, FL
 

Been to Manatees In Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing