We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with Capt. Hank”
Review of Manatee Connection

Manatee Connection
Orange, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great time with Capt. Hank”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We planned a trip to Florida to swim the the manatees and go on an airboat.
The manatee connection hooked us up with Capt. Hank. I had called ahead for reservations and he co-ordinated with the swim for our airboat ride the same day...we drove out about 40 minutes and met him at the dock...we had about 1 1/2 hour ride thru the swamp...lots of alligators, big and small...we had a wonderful day and would highly reccomend the manatee swim and airboat ride with Capt Hank...wonderful adventure..Joyce B..California

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jcbene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We had a fabulous experience with Capt. Hank! He is thoughtful, professional, and takes great care to make sure you have an opportunity to interact with the Manatees. He was able to customize our tour to meet our needs. We cannot wait to go again next year. If you are near Crystal River call Capt. Hank, make time to go. This is an experience not to miss!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a great outing”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Went swimming with Manatees with Captain Hank yesterday and had a wonderful time. Excellent organisation, good man and great company. He knew his subject and was sympathetic with the surroundings and visitors. Small boat, well equipped and we got to see, and even stroke Manatees. Thoroughly recommend him and the visit to anyone who wants a peaceful half day in beautiful country with these fascinating and beautiful creatures

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Ahendersonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston. MA
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Full day touring with Captain Hank”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We looked in the last minute  for swimming / snorkeling tour with the  Manatees and an airboat ride   We were connected with Captain Hank in Crystal River through the Manateeconnection.com.   We met Captain Hank early morning at the Manatee Connection dock  and started a great and unforgettable tour while encountering  many manatees. Captain Hank provided the full equipment including introduction video and behaviour guidance, snorkling mask, wet suit and the right locations to meet up with the manatees "in person". We did not realize how large a manatee is before bing next to one,,,

Thereafter we followed captain Hank truck to Inverness where we went on an airboat ride while seeing alligators, turtles and many birds.   It was a memorable ride.  We rode for 45 min  to the stompknocker's restaurant on the river.   we had a great ate lunch there (see my separate review of this fun restaurant).  

If you are in the area and looking for a full or half day tours, ask for Captain Hank by name -  highly recommended. 

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank EarlDGrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Captain Hank was awesome”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

We had several options on manatee tours, however, my brother in law, has been with Captain Hank tour 3 times previously. I would not settle and go with any other tour guide. Captain Hank is not only is safe but he ensures that you have an amazing experience. Will definately take our visitors to this tour! oh btw! if you are unfamiliar with tour experiences be sure to tip :)

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawn911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manatee Connection also viewed

 

Been to Manatee Connection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing