We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seacows manatees”

River Ventures Manatee Tour Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.84*
and up
Crystal River Manatee Swim
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Small Group VIP Manatee Pontoon Tour
More Info
$51.94*
and up
Gulf of Mexico Airboat Ride and Dolphin Quest from Homosassa
Ranked #1 of 53 Tours in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: River Ventures is a full service Tour center located in beautiful Crystal River, Florida. We offer many tour options to share all that the Nature Coast has to show you and we emphasize education about these Eco-systems!We have a passion for what we do, and it shows! Our Endangered Encounter manatee tours are our specialty, but we have so much more to offer! Air boat tours,VIP customized packages,Stand Up Paddle Boards, Scallop charters, sunset cruises, private charters, guided paddle tours on multiple rivers....we have much more to offer than you would expect!Spend the day or spend the week and River Ventures will introduce you to 'More than Manatee'!! Tours to snorkel with the manatees in their natural habitat are conducted daily, year round (reservations in advance are highly suggested). Our highly experienced in-water guides will escort you into the refuge to find the endangered manatee for viewing and up close encounters. River Ventures offers daily group trips of up to 12, and also offers private trips for both large and small groups including VIP and houseboat tours.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
“Seacows manatees”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We went on the early morning tour and had a great time!
Saw and got close to several manatees in the water.
Wetsuits and masks were in good condition and so was the boat!
Free parking and hot chocolate!
Fun morning!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,343
    143
    36
    22
    9
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
“Awesome Experience”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had our tour with River Ventures on the 18th of April, 2014. Although we were warned that sightings were getting harder to find as most of the Manatee's had moved out into the Gulf, we decided to go anyway. We booked a private tour for our group of 4 so we had our own boat and Captain. Captain Ron did an excellent job for us and managed to find a Manatee in crystal clear water which we got to spend about 30 to 40 mins with all by ourselves. We also got to swim Three Sisters Springs which was a highlight of trip to Florida. Overall i would highly recommend this tour company, they are hard working and strive to give you the best experience possible.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
“BREATHTAKING!!!”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

What a wonderful experience with Captain Sean at the River Ventures! Even though it was summer months, we were still able to see three or four manatees and a calf :) Our captain made sure everyone was able to see the manatees, and we all were in the water with them at least three times. Highly recommend Captain Sean and the River Ventures Tours!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steph0131nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Totally amazing!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Like others have stated, we were concerned that we would not see any Manatees, and after a slow start, we were fortunate enough to get into the water on two occasions to swim with these amazing animals! The first stop saw us swim with two adults and a young that was still suckling from its Mum. The older two kept their distance but the youngster was curious enough to come over so we could have a pat. On the second occasion we swam with a mother and her calf and both came over to us and swam underneath us close enough to egg some great photos and video.
Captain Rick was an excellent guide and really seems to love not only his job but the Manatees as well. He was very patient with the children (14,12 & 10 years old) even staying on board with our youngest who became a little overwhelmed allowing my husband and I to get into the water to swim for the second time.
The Manatees are VERY large animals and our youngest did get a little frightened. Nothing can prepare you for seeing these animals appearing from the gloom below and rising to the surface! Just amazing!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DULUTH
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Better Than Disney!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We are an outdoorsy family who enjoys camping. We were visiting from Minnesota and were staying at Disney for a week. I wanted to add a side trip midweek to escape Disney for the day. Glad I did! It was everyone in the family's favorite part. We had Captain Steve and we went with our 4, 7 and 8 year old. The 8 year old is a great swimmer but the 4 and 7 year old used noodles to float in the water so they were able to adapt for all swimming levels. Everyone saw and interacted with the manatees. It was a great learning experience and the highlight of the trip. Thanks Steve!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank salsal1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Ventures Manatee Tour Center also viewed

 

Been to River Ventures Manatee Tour Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing