We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First trip”

EL Ranchito Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #40 of 100 Restaurants in Crystal River
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Bowdoinham, Maine, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First trip”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Having never tried real Mexican food decided to try some. We were very surprised. The food wasn't very hot tasting. But it was very very good. On the list for our next trip to crystal river. Food looked good and was plentiful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    28
    15
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crystal River
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican Food Around”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The best Mexican food in the area without question. Any and all dishes available and all delicious. Love their salsa that they serve with chips when you are seated.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JB-the-RVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised.”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I took my wife to El Ranchito's for dinner and had the fajitas combo while she has the burrito combo plate. Both were very generous in the portion size and was cooked to perfection. Bot meals were excellent! The chip sand salsa as free appetizer;s was great as well. Atmosphere is nice and friendly.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joeinfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average, not much to write home about.”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We have eaten here about 4 times and I have never been impressed. The service is slow and we have never had a "great" experience here. The food is average. The ground beef is very bland and even the lunch specials are a bit higher priced for a mexican restaurant. Unfortunately this is the only close place to go as far as mexican cuisine.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amother23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, fair price”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

It is a standard Mexican cuisine place to eat.

The food was prepared as advertised. Even though they were busy, it didn't take too long to get our meal. Of the three persons we interacted with, 2 were very friendly, one guy seemed like he was having a bad day. He wasn't rude, and obliged the couple of requests we had for him, but didn't much more than speak other than to ask what we wanted to drink. We all have bad days, so that's okay. The decor of the restaurant is what makes this place different from every other Mexican joint we've eaten at......it is very atypical, at least in my experience. I found myself staring at the misplaced pictures (such as a Mona Lisa portrait) quite often.

Overall, the food was good, service was acceptable, the place seemed clean, and it was very reasonably priced. We will eat here on future visits to Crystal River.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed EL Ranchito Mexican Restaurant also viewed

Crystal River, FL
Crystal River, FL
 
 

Been to EL Ranchito Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing