We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great kayake place”

A Crystal River Kayak Company
Ranked #12 of 51 Tours in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are the friendliest kayak store around. Crystal River is the place to kayak, canoe, swim, and snorkel with the Manatees. We have kayak rentals, canoe rentals, Kayak Tours. We carry all the paddling gear you'll need to fill your boat. If it's a new kayak you're looking for then paddle on in now and get out on the water today. Our own kayak launch site will take you directly to 3 Sister's Springs in 10 minutes. We are American Canoe Association Certified Kayaking instructors.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great kayake place”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Perfect spot to launch from. The area was quiet with little traffic. The route to King's bay takes you right past the three sister's springs. This was late afternoon so there was only one manatee in the springs.
As we paddled out to the bay we saw several manatees surface.
A great way to relax and enjoy the rich wildlife FL has to offer.
The guides that launched us were young and didn't ask our experience with kayaks or offer any advice. Fortunately my boyfriend and I have done this several times before so we knew what we were doing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    36
    4
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff; clean kayaks; absolutely beautiful and easy paddle. We seen several manatee including a momma and baby. It was a little difficult to find though.

Helpful?
Thank LaurieLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Crystal river kayaking, we loved it!”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We chose to rent a kayak from this company instead of joining one of the swimming with manatees tours. Luckily the weather was good, although a bit too warm for the manatees. There were none at the sisters springs. We saw a mother and calf just before the entrance. But even without manatees, the springs were amazing, really beautiful, paradise. We went kayaking the whole day and saw dolphins hunting fish, which was wonderful, They were all jumping put of the water, fish and dolphins and they came really close, the dolphins swam underneath and along our kajaks. Kids loved it! Furthermore we saw many birds, fish and two small turtles. We did not like all the motor boats from the manatee tours, because they make a lot of noise, which is really disturbing this peaceful wildlife area. We think everybody should rent a kayak instead!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Natalie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
240 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Out of the many options, this is the one to choose”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We originally went to another kayak rental. But they were sold out and they suggested A Crystal River. It is not real easy to find them as they are set back off the freeway but it is totally worth your effort. Nice people got us all set up after watching a short video on the manatees.
The best thing about this rental place is that you get into the kayak right there and you are immediately in the river and headed to the manatees. No bus or van to transport you back and a forth. The manatees are about a 20 minute paddle down a lovely river. If you want to go further you can paddle out into the bay.
The manatees were plentiful and amazing. What a wonderful opportunity to see these beautiful animals
Go early in the day - before noon, apt he earlier the better. The manatees leave the springs around noon to go into the bay to feed. There are still some in the roped off areas, but it is not the same as kayaking right in the springs with them all around.
There were lots of swimmers there when we were so you have to watch out for snorkelers and kids.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Terrific Location!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This Kayak outfitters is kind of hard to find, sandwiched between a marina and some other businesses, but it is right on the main drag of Rt. 19/98 just south of Crystal River. Plug the address in your GPS and you'll get there. Anyway, what makes it's location terrific is it's close proximity (a 10 min paddle) to the Three Sisters Springs. Stunningly clear water, white sand bottom. A real paradise to snorkel and swim in. The manatees only congregate there when the Kings Bay water is cold, but we encountered a family of the big fellas on our way into it. I recommend taking your snorkel gear along, asking for an anchor, and then swim into the spring from the entrance. It is all shallow, mostly knee to hip deep, so it is easy to get in/out of the kayak, even if you're older (like us). The office gal was very friendly, knew how to answer questions, and made it easy for inexperienced kayakers (like us). It was a wonderful experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Crystal River Kayak Company also viewed

 

Been to A Crystal River Kayak Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing