We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights during manatee high season and even though the hotel was fully booked we were taken care of as if we were the only guests. Front desk staff, guest service manager, etc. - everyone was very nice and helpful. Check-in/-out were quick and easy, the room clean, spaceous, comfortable beds, fridge, coffee maker, complimentary WLAN. Didn't find an in room safe, though. Also complimentary was the breakfast, which included everything from pancakes to eggs to yoghurt to cereals to cinnamon rolls and more. Our only suggestion would be to add some fresh fruit - the few bananas on the menu just didn't do the job. However, good start in the day.
Bottom line: We would for sure stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanMel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    201
    22
    2
    2
See reviews for
321
321
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medford, NJ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is a nice, clean hotel with friendly staff, comfortable beds, delicious continental breakfast (suitable options for vegans), and a great location if you are in town for a manatee swim.

There was one minor issue that prevented me rating it a full 5 stars: When we turned on the heater it produced an unpleasant, stale odor that quickly filled the room.

But overall we were pleased and will not hesitate to return when we are in the area.

Room Tip: We chose a room on the top floor to avoid hearing noise from guests above.
See more room tips
Green Features: For breakfast service, eco-friendly utensils and dishware should replace the plastic and styrofoam.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthlingsdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed December 28, 2013

stayed there two wks ago room was clean nice beds. Breakfast needs help the lady Mary serves was very rude. did not like the fact her snapping at my 5yr old when he wouldn't sit in his chair he was not bothering any one considing there was 3 peole in there. I mention this to management at front desk I believe his name was {alex} he said he apolize for her and said she is set in her ways. Really!!!!! shes needs to go its call retire. wont be back

Room Tip: if u have kids go out for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Crystal River, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear kathy s,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the unsatisfactory service and experience you had during breakfast. Please be assured that this issue will be conveyed by the management as soon as possible. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent one night here when we were in Crystal River to swim with manatee. Our room was clean and well kept. The free breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Although the hotel was going to be full the next night, they allowed us to check out late so we could shower and get cleaned up after our morning manatee swim.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msalga2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Nice new property. Rooms were large and quiet and breakfast was good. Staff were particularly welcoming when we checked in and throughout our stay. The fitness room is VERY small; there's barely room to do sit-ups (and no mats), but I was grateful for access to a couple of treadmills and a recumbent bike. The beds were on the hard side. Otherwise, no complaints!

Room Tip: Top (4th floor) away from the elevator for max quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaleoBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in November, when unfortunately the weather was awful - windy and freezing cold. All members of staff we met at this hotel were so friendly, and the room was big and comfortable. Good breakfast too. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I went there in early Dec. 2013 with my travelling partner who has reduced mobility. It wasn't a problem for us since they have rooms adapted for physical disabilities. We stayed only one night, but our activity (manatee swim) was ending around 1300 and the hotel kindly accepted for us to check out around 1500 so we had time to shower before leaving.

Just like my first experience at this hotel, the customer service was excellent and although the hotel is on a busy street, it is very quiet at night. The breakfast offers many options and there is enough room for everyone to sit around. There is even a big television screen for those who wants the news or the weather. The parking is located just in front of the entrance : very convenient for luggages and physical disability. The hotel is also located 10-15 minutes of several manatee tours and the hotel will provide information upon request.

The room was large and clean, no odd smell or stains anywhere. There was a large window offering lots of natural light during the day, but there was also enough lights at night.

The beds are really comfortable but there is one thing that I would have appreciated :to add a warm blanket for those who tends to be more cold at night (with the AC in the building). Now, I didn't call the room service to get one. I could have, probably should have, but in the middle of the night, when I get cold, the last thing I want is to get out of bed and have a conversation on the phone. It would be easier to leave a warm blanket on the bed, and people can remove it if they don't want it, then to actually have to ask for one. This is the only minus of all our stay.

Other than that, this hotel has now twice been part of our wonderful experience with manatee tours and I will definitely book again. However, I will make sure to ask for a blanket before going to bed!

Green Features: We do enjoy the little tips and reminders placed here and there about their environmentally friendly practices and how we can contribute with minimal efforts. Those signs are not overwhelming and does not make one feel uncomfortable not respecting it.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arxxra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal River
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
772 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
630 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
342 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Crystal River

Property: Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Address: 1203 NE 5th St, Crystal River, FL 34429-4523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Crystal River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal River s Newest Hotel for Business, Leisure and Eco-Travelers Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Crystal River! Our modern, green friendly and smoke free hotel is located in the charming city of Crystal River, FL. Near the intersection of Hwy 19 and Hwy 44, the hotel is located East of Inverness, FL, North of Tampa, FL and West of Orlando, FL.Situated in Citrus County, Crystal River is a nature lover's dream and best known for having the world's highest concentration of manatees visiting the area's spring fed waters. The hotel is close to the Nature Coast s beautiful Eco-attractions that offer canoeing, kayaking, fishing, hiking or trail riding all available at Crystal River Preserve State Park. Visitors can take advantage of swimming, snorkeling or diving with manatees in Kings Springs or relaxing on Ft. Island Gulf Beach. The hotel is minutes from Progress Energy Nuclear Power Plant, Seven Rivers Regional Medical Center, Citrus Memorial Hospital and Simon Crystal River Mall. Enjoy premium amenities during your stay with us. Families will enjoy our spacious double king guest rooms with their choice of color theme. Business travelers can utilize our Crystal Meeting Room equipped with audio/visual equipment, accommodating up to 66 people. Be sure to check Crystal River, FL off of your list of the 1000 Places To See Before You Die. Our staff will make you feel so special, you won t want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River Hotel Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing