We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel of our vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked a River Adventure Swim with the Manatees tours and received a discount to stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Crystal River, Florida.

We reserved a handicap room. On the way there we decided to see if we could add a night to our stay. The reservation was updated with no problem.

Once we got there the staff noticed we were charged a different rate for the additional night and that we were going to be moved to a different room. Instead of doing that the staff person simply lowered the rate for the additional night to match the other nights and kept us in the same room.

There were no trolley's available to help us unload the car so 2 bell hops came out and immediately took all our bags to our rooms. The desk clerk staff handed us a welcome bag with bottled water and freshly baked cookies and told us we could get more any time we wanted.

Our room was a wonderful surprise. For the first time in 2 weeks we got a fully handicap accessible room. It held 2 king beds and a pull out sofa bed. The bath room was plenty large with safety rails that were easy to reach and a tub bench that worked.

The room was kept at a comfortable temperature. The swimming pool water was kept at a constant 81 degrees.

The staff were all friendly and polite and willing to provide anything we needed. They also gave us excellent suggestions for inexpensive to moderately priced places to eat.

This hotel gets 5 stars in my opinion.

Room Tip: Great place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marburg759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

609 - 615 of 876 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently stayed here over the weekend and it was very comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and convenient. The staff was friendly and helpful. It is just a short drive to any restaurants, dive centers or bars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbgator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were coming to Crystal River to see the manatees and needed a good place to sleep. We booked this hotel on Priceline. WOW! What a clean, pretty hotel. I typically call myself a hotel snob and say at nicer hotels, but this hotel was cleaner, newer and nicer than some of the four star hotels that I've stayed at!! The lobby was stunning, the including breakfast was adorable and had plenty to choose from and the rooms were extremely spacious and comfortable. Trust me when I say that this was the only nice hotel I saw around!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msuhoops04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

As most reviews of this property are from N.America I thought a U.K.perspective might help anyone from there thinking of a visit. Well don't expect U.K. standard Holiday Inn Express. This is an excellent hotel both in terms of facilities and staff. Typical big rooms, well equipped, small pool, tiny gym ( 3 machines)
Complimentary breakfast is a bonus and good for early starts. Staff very friendly with the usual 'can do' attiude. Price? we paid about £75 per night for a King room. If you decide on a road trip to see some of old Florida up the Nature Coast I can assure you this place will not disappoint

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank veggie-dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My friend and I had a pleasant stay here. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were thrilled that the breakfast bar was open early so we could grab a bite to eat before our River Ventures manatee swim. They were very accommodating in letting us have late check out so we could return to our room to shower and change out of our bathing suits. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tianna8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a dozen or more times since it opened a few years ago, and we'll keep going back whenever we're in Crystal River . The place is kept in "like new" condition by an excellent staff. Desk, maintenance, cleaning, and breakfast crews are all efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: Away from elevator is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfishGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as a family of four. Our room was large and clean, breakfast was great with plenty of choice.
The staff was very nice and helpful; the outside pool was nice and clean.
Overall a very good experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crystal River
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Crystal River
Hampton Inn Crystal River
#1 of 9 in Crystal River
852 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Crystal River Resort
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Crystal River
Quality Inn Crystal River
#8 of 9 in Crystal River
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Crystal River
Days Inn Crystal River
#6 of 9 in Crystal River
663 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Port Hotel and Marina
The Port Hotel and Marina
#7 of 9 in Crystal River
358 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Crystal River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Crystal River

Address: 1203 NE 5th St, Crystal River, FL 34429-4523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Crystal River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Crystal River
Price Range: $113 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Crystal River 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crystal River s Newest Hotel for Business, Leisure and Eco-Travelers Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Crystal River! Our modern, green friendly and smoke free hotel is located in the charming city of Crystal River, FL. Near the intersection of Hwy 19 and Hwy 44, the hotel is located East of Inverness, FL, North of Tampa, FL and West of Orlando, FL.Situated in Citrus County, Crystal River is a nature lover's dream and best known for having the world's highest concentration of manatees visiting the area's spring fed waters. The hotel is close to the Nature Coast s beautiful Eco-attractions that offer canoeing, kayaking, fishing, hiking or trail riding all available at Crystal River Preserve State Park. Visitors can take advantage of swimming, snorkeling or diving with manatees in Kings Springs or relaxing on Ft. Island Gulf Beach. The hotel is minutes from Progress Energy Nuclear Power Plant, Seven Rivers Regional Medical Center, Citrus Memorial Hospital and Simon Crystal River Mall. Enjoy premium amenities during your stay with us. Families will enjoy our spacious double king guest rooms with their choice of color theme. Business travelers can utilize our Crystal Meeting Room equipped with audio/visual equipment, accommodating up to 66 people. Be sure to check Crystal River, FL off of your list of the 1000 Places To See Before You Die. Our staff will make you feel so special, you won t want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Crystal River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Crystal River Hotel Crystal River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing