We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, Great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Song's Cafe - CLOSED

Song's Cafe
Cuisines: Asian, Korean
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Florida Panhandle
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

So it doesn't have old toys and crap hanging from the ceiling, no ferns and the glare of brass rails, but what Song's Cafe does have is awesome, homemade-to-order food, friendly personable service and a varied menu of both Korean and other Asian cuisine. Made to order, not devised by a corporate chef in New York or Dallas, not frozen and shipped to be thawed in town. Homemade. Right there. When you order it. OK, so sometimes that means you wait a few extra minutes. Each minute is worth it, and besides, if you want fast food, there's KFC right across the street. Song's is an opportunity to relax and savor a meal, cooked just for you by the lady whose name is on the sign. She's also your hostess and waitress, so if she's busy, you relax. Did you expect fast food from Mom? Of course not. Eating at Song's is like eating at her home, from the wonderful aromas that greet you at the door to the wonderful kim chee and food spread before you. Keep your gleaming brass, ferns and doo-dads hanging from the ceiling. If that's what you like, go to Pier One. If it's great, homemade Korean food you crave, go to Song's. (Did I mention Miss Song prepares everything fresh while you wait?)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Takes me back to Song Tan, South Korea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I meant to try this restaurant many many times, but not a lot of my 'local' friends have been to Korea and arent willing to try 'exotic' food. We had a great lunch. Daily lunch specials are about $6.95 and plenty of food. We had the Beef Bulgoki lunch special and the Jop Che Bop...or Chop Chae as we call it. Both were served with Radish Kimchi, Cucumber Kimchi, and a few other Korean relishes or sides, and sticky rice. The food was great and I will be back again. She asked how spicy we wanted it and tailored to each person. They also have your regular list of asian dishes to make everyone happy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navarre, Fl
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Korean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Grew up loving Korean food. In an area that isn't very versatile in local businesses/restaurants, was glad when a coworker turned me on to this place. The lady who runs it is extremely nice! The boxed lunch is AMAZING - bulgoki and yakimandu are to die for!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Korean food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Ms. Song makes the best Korean food in Northwest FL! She does everything from take your order, cook your meal and run the cash register. On a busy night you can expect a wait, but it is definitely worth it! Very authentic and tasty food!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodie_278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food...slooooooow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

I enjoyed the restaurant. I'm not an expert on Korean food, but my meal was excellent. But, it took two hours for two of us to have dinner and my friend finally went into the kitchen to find the waitress so we could get our bills.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank feldos52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Song's Cafe also viewed

Crestview, Florida Panhandle
 
Crestview, Florida Panhandle
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing