We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast on the beach”
Review of South Beach Grill

South Beach Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Casual oceanfront family restaurant featuring fresh local seafood.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stopped here for breakfast on our way out of St. Augustine for home. The place is deliteful. I would love to do a supper there. Breakfast was simple, good, priced nicely and quick. they have a play area with toys by the outside seating for kids. Only thing is that I wanted a shirt but even the XL would fit Barbie not a regular size person.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TAMMY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

681 - 685 of 925 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

heard this is a good place so my wife and I decided to try it well it is terrible we ordered the seafood boil and the broiled mahi mahi and both were awful the boil consisted of crab legs that were dry and overcooked and they didn't even bother to precrack the shells.half of the clam shells were empty and the shrimp were small and tasted days old and the mahi seemed fresh but they ruined it with the sauce which did sound good(garlic citrus butter and capers)terrible I guess the cooks don't even bother to taste there own food and don't care what they put out I would never go back I spent over a 100 dollars with the tip for 2 and 23 at the bar waiting I would have had a better meal at mcdonalds with a fish fillet sandwhich for 3 bucks what a waste of money I will not recommend or ever go back there ate on 9/21 Saturday night
p.s.
greeted by an unfriendly hostess that was wearing shorts that were so tight her cheeks were showing this place was an absolute disaster what low class how can the owner or manager not see this

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank george315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgr-southbeach, Owner at South Beach Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your meal, but your rant really doesn't give us much to go on.
I am sorry to disagree on the clams, they are counted individually and would be discarded if no meat was in the shell. We have never cut the crab legs open because they would dry out in the steamer and the shrimp are locally sourced, as is the fish. After 16 years we pride ourselves with a desire for 100% guest satisfaction and recently won "Best Seafood Restaurant" in our area. Perhaps next time, if the food is not to your liking, please see a manager and they will do whatever it takes to insure you have an excellent experience. That is our policy. Always has been, always will be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is our fifth year of coming to St Augustine and this is our favorite restaurant. The food is always good, service is pleasant, and pricing is reasonable. We've never been disappointed and always have dinner here at least once, and often more, during vacation. The mussels, minorcan chowder, and corn bread are always favorites!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iNDYIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our family had dinner here and really liked it. We sat on the patio and loved the casual atmosphere. Loved! Will go back.

Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

South Beach Grill is so much more than a beach restaurant - - it's a locals hang out with the best food on the beach. Their dinner specials are especially good but you can't go wrong with the seafood jambalaya or pasta. Great service and an outdoor deck in the dune line wit a view of the Atlantic tops it off.

Thank BeachBob50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Beach Grill also viewed

Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 
Saint Augustine Beach, St. Augustine
 

Been to South Beach Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing