We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff and Management”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crawfordville
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff and Management”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

We stayed at the Inn over a 5 day/4 night period. Rooms were very comfortable. The location was great for getting around the "forgotten coast". Local restaurants were very good (Hammanockers BBQ and Spring Creek Restaurant Seafood are highly recommended). Hotel has swimming pool, tennis courts, outdoor 'mini amphitheater' area for group activities or a wedding ceremony. We didn't get to eat at the onsite restaurant or play golf but both looked inviting and reasonably priced. The staff and management treated us right for such a lengthy stay. We highly recommend this hotel for the area and will very likely return to visit the local state parks and eco-tourism opportunities.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redd&Bleu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    85
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
114
82
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2009

This was my third stay at the Inn and I simply love it. From the moment I stepped in to the bright and relaxing lobby it was a great experience. The staff is very friendly, very responsive and very helpful! And, the rooms are amazing! I wasn't expecting it to be so large. I like that they are eco-friendly and strive to reduce their footprint, and mine, on the environment. The trip in July was the first time I had been able to enjoy the pool since the two previous trips were in the winter months. The pool was clean and I stayed in until I thought the wrinkles weren't going to come out. The continental breakfast has good variety and you won't go away hungry. The grounds are lovely and the restaurant next door has good food as well. There are several beaches in the area not to mention the river. I recommend the Inn to all my friends traveling in that area and now I'm recommending it to you!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T0va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2008

The premises was fabulous, and the food at the bistro were great, but the service from the front counter was absolutely horrible. The desk attendant was rude and snobby. I like the setting but will not go back due to the lack of good customer service.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank justlookinaround1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

We had occasion to stay at the Inn at Wildwood...and absolutley loved it. The rooms are clean, well appointed, and modern. I LOVED the shower....I am a fan of a strong shower and boy this place had it.
No dining available at the Inn except for a morning Continental (be sure to sample the "Manatee Coffee" I found it better then CostaRican), but on Friday evenings at the "Bistro" located right across the parking lot at the Golf Course, has New York steaks as the special... I rarely, if ever, write reviews, but this steak was one of the best I had ever ordered.
Staff, grounds, location.....and QUIET....were wonderful. If ever in the area again and in need of accomodations....There is no question where we will stay.
cb

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Quiet
  • Disliked — Kinda in the middle of nowhere....We were on a Harley.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shastany2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2008

Other than good coffee, this hotel had very few amenities. The room was stark, the mattress was hard as a rock, and the towels were scratchy. The place was also very noisy. They must have very thin walls and floors. I heard racous voices, slamming doors, heavy footsteps, blaring T.V.'s, and loud thumps all night and into the early morning. I did not sleep a wink. I had planned to stay two nights, but left after only one night.

  • Liked — coffee
  • Disliked — cleaning staff went through belongings and stole brand new $15 hair product
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank FloridaDaisygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

The staff was friendly and the room was large. There is space for golf clubs, etc. Nice decor, stone look floor in bath, with granite style countertops, bronze style sconces. No smoking rooms. Smoking only outside. Nice back patio with adirondack chairs. Beautiful small wood bridge from hotel to pool area. Rabbits in the grass! Bistro is a regular club house restaurant. Fireplace in lobby. Did not play golf but grounds looked nice. Rural roads, few roads signs, know your map and way back after dark.

  • Liked — convenient to Wakulla Springs, more modern than their lodge
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFbeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2007

We chose to stay at he Inn at Wildwood because it is near several state parks (Wakulla Springs, Bald Point, etc.) and because it advertises itself as a nature-based lodge.

In reality, the Inn at Wildwood is a Hampton Inn -style hotel near a golf course. And as TripAdvisor clearly states, it is #1 of 1 hotel in Crawfordville. There is no other lodging in Crawfordville although it is a growing small city. There is a Best Western under construction just down the road.

I think Inn at Wildwood is TRYING to be a "nature-based lodge." There is leather furniture and a gas-log fireplace in the lobby. The first floor is decorated with stunning original nature photographs. When you check-in, you have to sign a form that says that you won't smoke in the room, under $200 penalty. Little notes in the room encourage you to turn-off the lights, and re-use your towels if you want to (sorry, I didn't).

I'm just not sure the hotel guests are all really buying-into the "nature-based lodge" concept. Every time I went out the front door, there was somebody sitting on a bench smoking a cigarette - clearly forbidden by the paper we all signed and clearly in view of the front-desk personnel.

We stayed two nights. On the first night I had to call the front desk to complain about a blaring TV in the room next to us (quickly resolved.) On the second night I was kept awake by running (yes, running) in the hallway by a group of junior high-aged children who were staying just down the hall. I guess they needed snacks, soda and ice on a continuous basis until midnight.

The free breakfast buffet was horrible, but with no Waffle House or diner in the area, it is what we settled for. We had high hopes when we entered the country club restaurant for breakfast, but were soon disappointed by the food in both quality and quantity. Although we never saw more than 10 people at a time there, the kitchen just couldn't keep food on the buffet. The food variety was poor, and the preparation was crummy. A single employee served to stock the buffet and bring beverages. You have to pay extra for beverages - orange juice is $2 and coffee is $1.50. So - our total bill for this "free" breakfast was $10 each day (beverages + tax + tip). This comes VERY close to "rip-off" status.

Inn at Wildwood has the right idea. But, when somebody puts their credit card on the counter, business (and probably the law) dictates that you rent them a room - regardless of their environmental attitudes. Just be aware that "a Nature Based Lodge" is just part of the name, and you're really getting a mid-line motel and all that goes with it.

  • Liked — New, clean lodging
  • Disliked — Noisy nights. Smoking at front door. Poor-quality breakfast.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ExpectingQuality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordville
1.7 mi away
Best Western Wakulla Inn & Suites
8.0 mi away
Wakulla Springs Lodge
Wakulla Springs Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wakulla Springs
383 reviews
24.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Tallahassee Northwest
21.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central
21.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn

Property: Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn
Address: 3896 Coastal Hwy, Crawfordville, FL 32327-4279 (Formerly Inn at Wildwood)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Crawfordville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crawfordville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn is a 71 room hotel. We are located in Crawfordville, Florida, just 25 miles south of Tallahassee. We offer a free continental breakfast, swimming pool, fitness room, and Internet Access - Complimentary in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Wildwood Hotel Crawfordville
Hotel At Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing