We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property, staff issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crawfordville
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice property, staff issues”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

While the property is quite ok - a bit noisy at times, the staff is not up to par. When I arrived I was quoted a price, when I checked out, I was given a different price.

I heard 30 different versions of stories on why I was wrong, and not a single apology for having to constantly call them back when no one returned my calls. I overheard a few phone calls from other previous customers that seemed to have the same problem. Get your rates in writing.

While I don't think the issue is intentional, I do believe there are serious communication issues among the staff.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 250nightsayear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason M, Front Office Manager at Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Again, we would like to extend our deepest apologies for any miscommunication that had occured. Again, we were unable to contact you due to an invalid phone number and would like you to be assured the credit we agreed upon has been issued to you. After further investigation on this website issue, we are in the process of making any and all changes, to make it easier to understand. All of our guests are important to us, and customer satisfaction is our number one goal, we invite you to stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    85
    26
    13
    12
See reviews for
114
82
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunnellon, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Loved the comfortable atmosphere and homey feeling of the place. We stayed in a handicap accessible room and it was quite spacious. The lobby with the gas fireplace and leather couch was inviting. The continental breakfast had a nice selection. We travel with our small dog and chose this inn because they accept pets. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. We chose to eat lunch at Hamaknockers Bar-B-que based on another reviewers comments. Kudos! The BBQ was delicious and the wait staff friendly... even brought a bowl of water out for our dog. There was an Arts and Crafts show in a nearby Crawfordville and enjoyed the friendliness of the people. We would stay at the Inn again if we make it up the panhandle again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The pictures on their website makes this place look a lot better than ix actually is. Old rooms that really need to be renovated, very weak "breakfast" and paper thin walls. We could hear the people next door talking, not shouting, just talking (as if we were in the room with them).

Rooms were old and the rug was very stained and dirty (I never took off my shoes until I was in bed).

Will not be staying here again or recommending this place.

Room Tip: Ask for a clean one :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cujonole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to St. Marks Wildlife Refuge. We arrived at 5:20pm and there was a large sign on the front desk stating "ABSOLUTELY NO LATE CHECK OUTS!". We were then told that we could not check in yet because a football team had stayed there the night before and did not check out until 3pm and they were still cleaning the rooms. It would have been nice to be offered some water or something to snack on until the room was finally ready. We stayed two nights and they did not clean our room during our stay (we did not have the Do Not Disturb sign up, so that was puzzling). They told us when we checked in that we could have dinner at "The Bistro" next door, which turns out to only serve food until 3pm and is more like a place to hang out after playing golf than a restaurant. Also, there was no hot water in the shower.

On the plus side, it is one of the few places to stay near the section of St. Mark's that we wanted to see, and so the location was great for us. It is nicely decorated and had a free continental breakfast. They also gave us a fabulous recommendation for dinner once we realized "The Bistro" was a bust. Spring Creek Restaurant is a can't-miss if you like fresh seafood.

Overall, it met our needs but we don't plan to stay there again, given that there are other options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoxTurtle_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The exterior of the hotel and well as the landscaping are beautiful. The rooms are big. The people that work there are very friendly. The breakfast was average. Now the down side. The walls between the rooms are very thin. We could hear everything going on in the room next door. The lighting in the room is poor. The furniture in the lobby needs replacing. With the number of guests they have, the hotel needs to invest in a second computer for their "nook" they call a business center. This hotel is about 30 minutes away from anything resembling a beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times and each time has been an excellent experience. You can not beat the price. The cleanest Inn ever. I love the Green....Quiet and customer service is fantastic. You even have 4 pillows to each bed. I love the dispenser in the bath for bath wash and shampoo. I even went home and bought one and installed it by my shower. You are served a continental breakfast that is great and have access to the computer. It is so nice sitting outside and enjoying the country. It is close to town and to Shell Point which is a small beach on the Gulf. Everyone that is visiting this area should stay here at least one night....Everyone Thanks so much for your service at Inn at Wildwood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at the inn over Labor Day weekend, and was not disappointed! Honestly, I chose this place for the price - there was a "3 nights for the price of 2" deal on their website, which made it the best deal in town!
Despite the cheap price, our room was clean, spacious, and comfortable - and the whole hotel was very new.
Only a few minor hiccups - there was no coffee maker in our room, we ran out of tp and had to request more from the lobby, and also experienced confusion regarding the pool hours (no big deal, though.)
The restaurant is next door, in the same building as the golf shop - it really is more of a hangout for golfers after a round than a regular restaurant. However, the food was cheap and tasty - standard sandwiches, burgers, and fries.
I would stay and eat there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahthexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crawfordville
1.7 mi away
Best Western Wakulla Inn & Suites
8.0 mi away
Wakulla Springs Lodge
Wakulla Springs Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wakulla Springs
383 reviews
24.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Tallahassee North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Tallahassee Northwest
21.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tallahassee Central
21.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tallahassee Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn

Property: Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn
Address: 3896 Coastal Hwy, Crawfordville, FL 32327-4279 (Formerly Inn at Wildwood)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Crawfordville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Crawfordville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn is a 71 room hotel. We are located in Crawfordville, Florida, just 25 miles south of Tallahassee. We offer a free continental breakfast, swimming pool, fitness room, and Internet Access - Complimentary in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Wildwood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Wildwood Hotel Crawfordville
Hotel At Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing