We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way”
Review of Hamaknockers BBQ

Hamaknockers BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Hamaknockers BBQ is a Family Owned Restaurant that has been spoiling customers for over 9 years with our World Famous BBQ. Known for our fall of the bone ribs, juicy chicken, famous smoked wings and of course our tender pulled pork!!
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Looking for great BBQ? Look no further than Hamaknockers. Not a traditional sit-down restaurant, Hamaknockers offers counter ordering with table service. The menu is extensive, including pulled pork, ribs, wings and even pulled pork pizza.

The Hamaburger was amazing ( a hamburger topped with pulled pork on Texas toast) and the traditonal pulled pork sandwich was solid. Wide variety of homemade sauces are available.

Exceptional BBQ!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whisox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    85
    22
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee USA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“good bbq”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

Passed through town last week and stopped by for BBQ pork sandwich.When we pulled up I could hear country music in the back and smelled meat grilling. They were cooking the pork. Great pulled pork you will like it. And waitress Jamie very helpful in explaining the menu. Can definitely recommend it.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiskangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“darn good BBQ!”
Reviewed June 4, 2011

This is the best BBQ I have had in a long time. It far beats anything in Tallahassee or close by.

Comparison: Forget Sonny's, Jim & Milt's, Piggy's, Shane's, Famous Daves, or anywhere else you might frequent. Take the trip down to Crawfordville and you'll be delighted. The closest quality BBQ I have found in town is Mo Betta's (trailer at Capital Circle SE & Apalachee Pkwy). If you can't make the drive to Crawfordville, then that'll suffice but you're still missing out on a great meal.

Location: A bit farther outside of town. Takes around 40 minutes to get down there, but it's worth the drive if you're not in a rush.

Food: All the typical BBQ sandwiches and plates. The pulled pork is decent, but the ribs are amazing. They literally fall apart in your mouth (don't even have to bother pulling them off the bone). The wings are quite tasty, too. My wife was a little hesitant about getting the combo. After she tried a wing, she looked up and said, "These are the best wings I have ever had!" I have been to a few places that devote their time to their meats and don't care much about their sides. Not Hamaknockers! I usually go with the homemade mac & cheese and the applesauce. The one complaints I'd have is that the bread rolls aren't impressive (look like the cheap rolls you'd get in a supermarket) and the prices are a little higher than what I'd like to pay. Those aren't huge critiques, though.

Drinks: Typical sodas, great sweet tea (like you'd get at Sonny's), and even a small fridge with beers.

Service: Laid back and pretty much self-serve. You order at the register and the food is brought out to you. I've gone a few times during the week with a group of friends and we hang around for a while. Somebody usually comes and checks on us to make sure we don't want anything else.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wdoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwesterner007
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good bbq--love the charming old house atmosphere”
Reviewed May 10, 2011

We heard from the locals that this was a good spot to eat and we agree. Upon arrival, it was hard to miss the wonderful aroma coming from the food smokers in the screened-in back porch of the converted house. A small quaint interior features a few booths and tables (with a table on the front porch, as well). The menu featured smoked chicken, pork and beef. We sampled the delicious pulled pork and smoked chicken wrap with a tasty mango-habanero pepper sauce. The sides (beans, slaw, potato salad) also tasted home-made. The only minor fault I would find is that some nicer bread (not just plain hamburger buns) might be used for sandwiches. However, it was much better than chain BBQ. With a charming casual atmosphere and speedy service, we quickly decided that we will be back often for lunch.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Midwesterner007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The food here is Really good. And not too expensive. A sandwich, 2sides, and a drink cost less than $10!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bourbon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamaknockers BBQ also viewed

Crawfordville, Florida Panhandle
Crawfordville, Florida Panhandle
 
Crawfordville, Florida Panhandle
Panacea, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Hamaknockers BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing