We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spring Creek Restaurant

Spring Creek Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Crawfordville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

When you enter this restaurant, you have no idea what a great meal you are in for! Super fresh and very well prepared foods!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    35
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pelham, GA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It's All Good, But Tomato Pie is the BEST!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

you won't just happen onto this place....very tucked away and you have to know where you're going to find it....but, it's worth the drive....plug the destination into your GPS and enjoy the drive down toward part of Florida's forgotten coast.....the seafood is fresh.....the grouper and shrimp were excellent, but that tomato pie was TOPS....we also enjoyed the unique way the green salad was served - sort of a family style do-it-yourself iceberg wedge.....and of course the sweet tea is just what you'd expect from a restaurant in the south.....go find this little place and enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jpelements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Ranches, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Classic Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a charming restaurant. And they know how to cook! Fish is always fresh and properly prepared. Oh - and the tomato pie is a must have! Great Food, Great Service (Carrie is terrific). comfortable casual dining.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Location - So So Meals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

I'll preface this review by saying that I may be too critical, but this place just didn't measure up to its reputation. That's not to say it doesn't have its good points. Four of us dined here on a Saturday evening, driving about an hour from Tallahassee. We arrived around 7 PM and were seated immediately. The place filled up, but was not too noisy or crowded. The location, the rooms, and the decor are very interesting, but I have to give the food an "average". Trip Advisor reviews have given the restaurant a pretty high rating, but I find a number of reviewers pointing out the same shortcomings I found. Chief among these is the portion size of the entrees and the run-of-the-mill quality. Each of the four of us ordered a different entree and comparing notes later, the general feeling was, "not bad, but not the greatest either". Other reviewers noted the tasty cheese spread and crackers and it was fine. Three of us ordered meals that came with a salad. Other reviewers have lauded the home-made ranch dressing, and it deserves praise. But the salad ingredients: iceberg lettuce, cherry tomatoes, and green onions, served family style, were skimpy. Each diner ended up with a small portion of lettuce, one cherry tomato, and one green onion. My entree was a combination dinner of fried shrimp and fried oysters. There were 6 oysters and maybe 8-9 shrimp. Both items were nicely battered and fried, but very small. We've been having trouble with our local oysters and some local restaurants don't even have them regularly, so I can't complain too much. The shrimp were very small. Other reviewers have previously pointed out the freshness of the seafood here, and while I can't vouch for the fish, I have to point out that nearly 90% of the shrimp consumed in the U.S. is imported from abroad, and most has been previously frozen. These did not appear to be Gulf shrimp. The four of us had ordered a variety of side dishes and there were no complaints, but neither were there raves.
Wine and beer were reasonably priced. Dinners ranged up through the high $20s, which is what you might expect in a larger inland city, but this is not Atlanta. Spring Creek has been in business for a long time, and I expect it will continue to attract patrons, but in my opinion, portion control and price are controlling factors here and there are other seafood restaurants in the area (certainly in Tallahassee) that are a better value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Texaholic2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Florida rustic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had to please several different people with this restaurant choice, as we had a mini-family reunion here. Top of the list was fresh seafood, and wine available with dinner. Also, we were hoping for someplace with a bit of a view, water perhaps? When making reservations for 12, we were offered a 'private dining room'. Well, having never been here before, that sounded pretty good, right? Wrong. We were ushered into what must have been a small, cinderblock bedroom at one point in the building's history. One small window, and a strong odor of mildew. Very cramped. All that aside, we had a lot of catching up to do, the wine was flowing, the kids could be rowdy without bothering anyone, and our server was a gem. The food was fine. The salad was interesting, fresh, and the homemade ranch a nice touch. I had a seafood platter and the best portion of it was the deviled crab. The fried oysters probably would have been good, but they were out of oysters. Lesson of the day; eat in the main dining room...it looked charming.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spring Creek Restaurant also viewed

Crawfordville, Florida Panhandle
Crawfordville, Florida Panhandle
 
Crawfordville, Florida Panhandle
Crawfordville, Florida Panhandle
 

Been to Spring Creek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing