We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The conch fritters are to die for”

Star Fish Company Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The conch fritters are to die for”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Went here and after the wait in line the food was worth it. Awesome food and especially the conch fritters and the peel and eat shrimp. This is the type of place you should get a few things and share with people. Great stop for lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaltwaterHick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    669
    309
    75
    21
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Douglassville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, super atmosphere”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Visited on a Wednesday night, the line was a bit long, but worth the wait. Food was fantastic. Our group had everything from crab cakes, to scallops, to the grouper sandwich to fried shrimp and everything was super. My kids loved the atmosphere, watching the boats come and go and the birds fly in and out. They also loved looking at the hermit crabs crawl about between the docks. We even saw dolphins swimming farther out in the water. The only downside is that since you do eat outside, you get eaten alive by gnats and mosquitoes. At last count, my daughter had 27 bites on her legs. That would not stop us from coming again however, we will just bring bug spray next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good meal, nice atmosphere, longer waits though”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This place can get pretty busy, we came right at opening time on a Sunday morning and it was already packed. You order at the counter, which took some time, but we weren't in a hurry. The lady was nice who waited on us, remember to bring cash! I always try to have some cash on me when on vacation. We ordered and then sat down by the boats as the upper section was already full. I love eating outside, this was perfect to watch the birds, boats and waves. Very casual and laid back. It was very hot though but we managed. Our food came rather quickly. The boxes they serve it in are great, roomy and sturdy. My hubby thinks the cole slaw was one of the best he's had. Hush puppies were good, but seemed to over done on the outside, as were the fries. Crab cakes were good, not the best but still good and could tell they were the real thing. Best thing is that the portions are good for the price. We would absolutely return again to try other items they offer and enjoy the open air!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank icemodeled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville IL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good food at a unique place.”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I had read on trip advisor and heard from locals that this was a must try. We went for lunch one day and were not disappointed. We had a large party so I was able to see many different entrees and they all looked really good. Everyone really liked the food and the portions were plentiful. Definitely a place you can just throw something on over your swimsuit and head out to, as it is super casual. The kids in our group enjoyed the fishing boats and the pier and looking at all the fish from the docks. Definitely a must see while in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bzimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Got my kid to eat seafood, so this place is magic”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

We ate here twice in one week while on vacation; it was that good. Please note, though, that all seating is outside, so if you order pick up and get there and see the long line, you can go to the bar to get your to go food (learned that the hard way). The food is great, the cheese grits are amazing and my picky kid devoured the smoked mullet, which is enough to make me think this place has a spell on it. Cash only, so hit the ATM up before you get there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Fish Company Dockside Restaurant also viewed

 
Bradenton Beach, Anna Maria Island
Holmes Beach, Anna Maria Island
 

Been to Star Fish Company Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing