We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like pizza, you'll love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Idiot Pizzeria - CLOSED

Village Idiot Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“If you like pizza, you'll love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

What a great place. It's funky, quant and charming. It's a small restaurant, maybe 6 tables and a few seats at the counter/bar. The menu is so unique and creative. We had the Cuban pizza. It was so delicious. You can watch Joey as he tosses the pizza dough and creates your pie. Don't come here if you're in a rush. There's only one oven and one cook. It's not your standard Dominos type pizza that's massed produced and ready in 15 minutes but trust me, it's worth the wait.
We had such a fun time there with it being small it made the experience more intimate as we chatted with the server, Joey and some of the other customers.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shamusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    31
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent, best pizza in Cortez, Anna Maria Island or Long Boat Key”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Ordered the Flatlander, and it was perfect.. The dough was so fresh and the crust just perfect.
Reminded me of "Regina's in the North End of Boston.
High Quality, fresh--I would suggest you eat right there if you can- we ordered to go and it was just perfect when we got to our cottage.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank runthecape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One of the best pizza we've eaten!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Excellent pizza! Thin, chewy crust with a little char from the oven. We had takeout 3 times while in Cortez. The Blanco Margherita was wonderful with actual fresh tomatoes, mozzarella and romana on a pesto base. The Chain Store Idiot was great with just pepperoni, red sauce and cheese. And my husband loved the Flatlander. Pepperoni, sausage, mushrooms, onions and cheese. Don't mess around with other pizza places in the area. This place has great food!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fulltimerver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Pizzazz!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Don't let anyone tell you there is no good pizza in Florida. The pizza here is excellent, not just for Florida but for anywhere. Nice chewy crust, char, and fresh, high quality ingredients.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hikingrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wood Fire Pizza Oven Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

For a thin crust pizza that is cooked quickly in a wood fired brick oven with many different type of topping combinations, these are very tasty. Their pizza sauce has a great flavor without being to spicy. You can eat in or out and is very cozy place to eat in. The owners are very friendly. If you are not to full from your pizza you can just step next door to Tyler's Ice Cream for dessert.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Idiot Pizzeria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing