We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful evening at Cortez Kitchen”
Review of Cortez Kitchen

Cortez Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 12 Restaurants in Cortez
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Reviewed March 12, 2020 via mobile

Following a bad experience with the hostess at Swordfish Grill after a 35-minute wait, we were not in a good mood when we walked next door to Cortez Kitchen. But we had a great time, thanks to the friendly waitress Shannon and some amazing seafood. One of the specials was grilled red shrimp, which Shannon said are from Argentina. Although we like to support locally caught seafood whenever possible, we ordered the red shrimp as an appetizer and they were so tasty I ordered them as my main course too. The main course comes with two sides ($21.99; I can’t remember appetizer price). Served with melted butter, they taste like mini-lobsters. The Steamer Pot of shrimp, scallops, clams, grouper, broccoli, and celery ($21.99) and steamed clams ($11.99) were delicious. We love the hole-in-the-wall atmosphere in a covered outdoor setting. It reminds me of what makes Anna Maria Island special. Thanks to the staff at Cortez Kitchen for rescuing our disastrous evening and making it special.

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank 624cliffordp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Write a reviewReviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 500 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2020

I should know better than to order beef at a seafood restaurant but it was the daily special, sounded good and the server suggested avoiding fried oysters—my favorite—at this time of year. Ugh! The meat slice was so thin it couldn’t possibly be medium rare so why did they ask? Full of fat. Certainly overpriced. Very disappointingl

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank jansB371BI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 11, 2020 via mobile

We ate at the Cortez Kitchen on Monday evening. They had a good band playing, who were very good.
Enjoyed the food and music.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 11, 2020

Great atmosphere. So close to fish docks the fish are practically jumping into the skillet or on the grill. Great "real Florida" seafood. I would enthusiastically recommend this restaurant "joint" to friends and family!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank FloGrownTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 27, 2020

My wife and I love going here to Cortez Kitchen for the fresh seafood. We have been going here for many years and never disappointed. I love the scallops and ask for them blackened. Really very good and we also like the fried shrimp, delicious enough that I also eat the tails on the shrimp, that good. This is our go to spot when we arrive Florida and are looking for the real fresh seafood...Hard to beat this place as everything is very tasty! Very open, on the water and very relaxing atmosphere, Florida at it's best!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jepster
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Cortez Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Cortez Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.